• Fifa man opposes England 2018 bid

By Chris Mitchell
    BBC World Service

Warner wants the 2018 World Cup to come to the Concacaf region

Fifa vice-president Jack Warner said he will battle to stop England hosting the 2018 World Cup.

His decision will be a blow to the Football Association, who were likely to plan a bid on the back of any change to the current selection procedures.
    "If the World Cup were to go to Europe, I'm quite sure, with the English luck as it is, they won't get it," Warner told BBC World Service.

"There are moves to give it to England. I must fight that."
    Warner, a member of the world football body's executive committee since 1983, added: "It will be Italy, Spain, or even France who will get the World Cup if it goes to Europe.

"Nobody in Europe likes England. England invented the sport but has never made any impact on world football."

It is believed Fifa president Sepp Blatter is set to end the World Cup rotation policy when the executive committee meet later in the year.

Instead, the association are likely to approve a format that only precludes the continents that held the previous two World Cups from bidding again, which in 2018 would be Africa and South America.

Warner, president of Concacaf, added that he would battle to bring international football's premier tournament to his region, which covers North and Central America and the Caribbean.

"I really don't believe that we should just lay down and play dead to anyone who wants to take the World Cup from Concacaf," he said.

In July another Fifa executive committee member and former World Cup winner, German legend Franz Beckenbauer, offered his support to England hosting the 2018 World Cup.
    He told BBC Five Live's Sportsweek: "There is no better country in Europe to host the World Cup in 2018. England is the favourite."

He added: "The most important thing is to end the rotation and bring the tournament back to Europe.

"The Premier League at the moment is the best league in Europe and the stadiums are outstanding.

"In my opinion, there is only one very serious candidate and it is England."

BBC World Service will air the full interview with Jack Warner on World Football with Alan Green on Saturday 11 August and Saturday 18 August.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Heard him on radio a while ago. I'm ashamed for the CONCACAF region and for the CFU.

How do we replace this senile, ignorant moron!?

Vote in Burrell!!

By Chris Mitchell
        BBC World Service

England invented the sport but has never made any impact on world football."

Jack is my boy...but, what nonsense comment is that?
        Isn't it reasonable to think that inventing and giving a game to the world means a lasting tremendous impact was made? Aren't all other innovations a mere following on...building on what was invented and offered?

Heard him on radio a while ago. I'm ashamed for the CONCACAF region and for the CFU.

Yuh tuff sah...

The EPL is the most popular in the world. That is not up for debate. As much as I don't rate England and haven't for decades, they deserve to host the World Cup again as any other country!

You are soooo bloody insular in your views.

Quote: "As much as I don't rate England and haven't for decades ................................"

Your sputum is also a clear reflection of your dislike for our cousin Trinidad and anyone Trinidadian. It is not based on clear rational thinking.
              Last edited by HL; August 9, 2007, 04:31 PM.

sputum...didn't realise I had one!

Play 1 group in Jamaica

and the rest in Florida - done talk!!!!!!!!!!!!!

By Chris Mitchell
                  BBC World Service

Fifa vice-president Jack Warner said he will battle to stop England hosting the 2018 World Cup.

His decision will be a blow to the Football Association, who were likely to plan a bid on the back of any change to the current selection procedures.
                  "If the World Cup were to go to Europe, I'm quite sure, with the English luck as it is, they won't get it," Warner told BBC World Service.

"There are moves to give it to England. I must fight that."
                  Warner, a member of the world football body's executive committee since 1983, added: "It will be Italy, Spain, or even France who will get the World Cup if it goes to Europe.

"Nobody in Europe likes England. England invented the sport but has never made any impact on world football."

It is believed Fifa president Sepp Blatter is set to end the World Cup rotation policy when the executive committee meet later in the year.

Instead, the association are likely to approve a format that only precludes the continents that held the previous two World Cups from bidding again, which in 2018 would be Africa and South America.

Warner, president of Concacaf, added that he would battle to bring international football's premier tournament to his region, which covers North and Central America and the Caribbean.

"I really don't believe that we should just lay down and play dead to anyone who wants to take the World Cup from Concacaf," he said.

In July another Fifa executive committee member and former World Cup winner, German legend Franz Beckenbauer, offered his support to England hosting the 2018 World Cup.
                  He told BBC Five Live's Sportsweek: "There is no better country in Europe to host the World Cup in 2018. England is the favourite."

He added: "The most important thing is to end the rotation and bring the tournament back to Europe.

"The Premier League at the moment is the best league in Europe and the stadiums are outstanding.

"In my opinion, there is only one very serious candidate and it is England."

BBC World Service will air the full interview with Jack Warner on World Football with Alan Green on Saturday 11 August and Saturday 18 August.

Jack will make more mooney if he can get it here

Originally posted by Time View Post
                      Jack will make more mooney if he can get it here
                      Purely as an emotional lift it would be nice to have the World Cup held in CONCACAF....but the home spectators are the base forming that "World Cup atmosphere" - the USA and Mexico can fill the stadia in their countries...but, can any other CONCACAF member?

...even, Canada would be a question mark? Wah yuh seh tuh dat, OJ?

Nothing 'rong with that. (Jack Warner making money that is....)

The English has the tendency of bullying their way in getting what they want. Yes, they have the required football infrastructure to get the job done. But the football world is much much bigger than England .

Jack 'the ripper' Warner is merely playing the role of 'checks and balances'. He is a strong FIFA manager and leader. That's why he is in that position . Jack is not like the weaklings in leadership positions that guys like Mosiah adore.
                        Last edited by HL; August 9, 2007, 06:26 PM.

"But the football world is much much bigger than England."

Den how di USA get to host di World Cup?!? If we were going by how big the "football world" is, the USA would never smell the World Cup in our lifetime!

Act like yuh sensible man! And stop fighting the English just because...well, they are not Scottish!

FA shocked by Warner outburst

England will get the 2018 World Cup. By that time, Warner may be in a nursing home than running world football.

FA: Responded to comments

The FA have admitted their "shock" after FIFA vice-president Jack Warner launched an attack on England's chances of hosting the 2018 World Cup.
                            Warner, president of the CONCACAF federation which represents north and central America and the Caribbean, believes the 2018

finals should be held in one of his member countries.

Warner said in an interview with BBC World Service that he will "fight to the very end" to stop FIFA changing the rotation rules and allowing Europe to host the World Cup in 11 years' time.

He also claimed England has no support in Europe, is an "irritant" to other European countries and has had "no impact in world football".
                            The FA have written to Warner regarding the comments.

FA chairman Geoff Thompson, who is also a FIFA and UEFA vice-president, said: "I have written to Jack Warner today to clarify the accuracy of the quotes and request his views and an explanation as to why he made them if they are accurate.

"Understandably, we were shocked and disappointed to read the views attributed to Mr Warner, with whom we have enjoyed a very good relationship.

"Until we have all the facts in front of us at the FA, we are both unwilling and unable to pass any comment regarding these potentially explosive remarks.

"However, regarding the FIFA World Cup 2018, the FA, with the full support of the British Government, has already indicated that should FIFA award the World Cup to Europe in 2018, we will give serious consideration to making such a bid."

Warner claimed that England are unlikely to win the race to be hosts.
                            He said: "If by chance, in 2018, the World Cup were to go to Europe, I'm quite sure, with the English luck as it is, they won't get it.

"It'll be Italy, Spain, or it might even be France. Nobody in Europe likes England. England - who invented the sport - has never had any impact on World Football. England at no time has had the love and support of Europe. For Europe, England is an irritant.

"There are moves to give it to England. I must fight that. I really don't believe that we should just lay down and play dead to anyone who wants to take the World Cup from CONCACAF.

"I know in FIFA there are those persons who believe the rules should be changed to satisfy Europe but I tell you this today we shall fight it to the very end."

Richard Caborn, Prime Minister Gordon Brown's World Cup ambassador, said Warner is clearly trying secure the 2018 finals for his federation.

Caborn said: "I think it is very unfortunate what Jack Warner is saying but I can understand that he is fighting his corner as president of CONCACAF.
                            "He is not speaking on behalf of FIFA, who will decide later this year whether the continue with rotation.

"What's pleasing is that two other executive committee members are committed to Europe.

"UEFA president Michel Platini, who is also a FIFA vice-president, has come out very clearly to say that he will be fighting for it to come to a European country.

"Franz Beckenbauer, who is also a FIFA executive member, is not just supportive of it coming to Europe but to England in 2018."

Caborn also said the Football Association could not be accused of having no impact in world football.

He added: "To attack the FA in this way is unfortunate.
                            "They are running many educational programmes around the world and for the last seven years have run three major football workshops in the West Indies."

Warner also spoke about Manchester United's recent signing of a nine-year-old Australian, who the club say had recently moved to England.
                            He added: "It's obscene and most absurd. And we have to fight that and put laws in place to prevent those things.

"That is almost a kind of football slavery... And we have to understand that slavery by any form is slavery."

Warner, from Trinidad and Tobago, believes the colour of his skin would prevent him from succeeding FIFA president Sepp Blatter.

"You have black footballers on the field of play. In administration you have whites. I have seen this for 25 years.

"But I haven't given up. I haven't thrown my hands up in the air. I am there to fight it and to show that we as black people are equally as competent as the white guys."
                            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I have always held the view that Jack the ripper was an arrogant, imbecelic, dinosaur who has been kept in FIFA singularly because he can help keep SeppTIC Blatter as president by buying off the CONCACAF votes.

Now I know better...he is Rasputin reincarnated....does he think he will live forever, or he will ALWAYS have this platform to behave as if he really has any say in world football.

As the sub head head in the BBC piece he will be nearer to joining Karl in Shady Pines with spit running down his chin than he will be running football by the time it comes to decide where the World Cup will be held in 2018.

I am interested to see how others in CONCACAF or other Cofederations react or if they will join sides with him.