• Carl Brown New TD CI

Brown for Cayman
    Veteran coach to be confirmed as CI's new technical director
    SEAN A WILLIAMS, Assistant Sports Editor
    Thursday, August 09, 2007

BROWN... I hope it will be a long-term arrangement

VETERAN Jamaican coach Carl Brown will be responsible for spearheading the revival of football in the Cayman Islands when he is officially unveiled as technical director in the coming days.

Brown, 56, has been acting in the position for the past month or so, but declined to give specifics about his new appointment, saying "it's a little premature to comment at this time".

"... I cannot say what the specific terms of the arrangement will be, but will be able to do so in a couple of days at an upcoming press conference. But yes, I will be in charge of the programme," Brown said from the Cayman Islands yesterday.

"I hope it will be a long-term arrangement as there's no quick-fix to the problems of Cayman football," he added.
    Brown said a lack of international exposure has stymied the island's thrust towards closing the gap on the more established teams in the region.

"There is certainly talent here, but there has been a shortage of experience, and that's something I aim to work on," Brown said.

Since arriving in the British territory, the former national captain has been working with the Under-23 team which is preparing for Olympic Qualifiers due next month in Cuba.
    "I have been working with the Under-23 team in preparation for the Olympic qualifications, but of course I've been looking at other aspects of the football here," Brown noted.
    In relation to his responsibility as Cayman's technical director, Brown has already embarked on scouting missions for the various age-group teams for the country renowned for its offshore banking facilities.
    "Cable & Wireless has been staging a number of camps with youngsters, so I've been able to take a look at a (wide base) of talent," he said.
    Brown, who will succeed Marcos Tinoco, who took over Tanzania's Olympic team, told the Observer that choosing Cayman (ranked No 185 by FIFA) was an easy career decision as he has had a long-running relationship with the territory and its football authorities.

"Cayman has been like a second home to me as I have had good relationships with the coaches here and the president of the football federation," he said.

Brown, who represented Jamaica from 1970 to 1980, said his experience as coach and familiarity with Cayman football will be his main assets in his bid to develop the sport in that country.

The players, he said, have exhibited exemplary attitude so far and he is looking forward to "working with them".

Brown, who captained Boys' Town and Jamaica for a number of years, is one of Jamaica's most successful coaches, reaping success in the Caribbean Cup in 1991 as head coach and guiding the Reggae Boyz to a creditable third-place finish in the CONCACAF Gold Cup of 1993.

Brown has had five stints as Jamaica's head coach and was deputy to Brazilians Rene Simoes, Clovis de Oliveira and Sebastiao Lazaroni (twice) since 1994.

His last stint as head coach, a three-month arrangement with the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF), saw him guiding the team to four wins, one draw and one defeat. The last game was a 1-1 tie with Peru at the National Stadium last November.

Brown was also at the helm when the Reggae Boyz were eliminated last year in the first round of the Digicel Caribbean Cup after beating St Lucia 4-0, losing 1-2 to St Vincent & the Grenadines, and beating Haiti 2-0 - when they needed to win by three clear goals to advance.

A 25-year coaching veteran, who had an internship with English Premier League club Bolton Wanderers, Brown was axed following Jamaica's failed World Cup campaign in November 2004.

"The decision was quite easy (as) Brown has a tremendous wealth of knowledge in coaching... I feel honoured to have him on our coaching staff," CIFA president Jeffrey Webb said last month when it was first learnt that Brown was shifting shores.

- Additional reporting by Bev Melbourne

I thought it was just for the U-23s.

Anyway, it's not surprising that this forum is so quiet about this appointment. We can't blabber anymore about the rest of the Caribbean not hiring our coaches, CB in particular.

I thought it was just for the U-23s.

Anyway, it's not surprising that this forum is so quiet about this appointment. We can't blabber anymore about the rest of the Caribbean not hiring our coaches, CB in particular.
      Any country serious about World Cup qualification for 2010 hires appropriately.

I am all for our local coaches helping our less developed neighbours... dem can even earn some good hard currency tuh.

What Bahamans, Turks, Bermuda up tuh ?

Anyway, it's not surprising that this forum is so quiet about this appointment.
        CB did a great job in qualifying the boyz for the Digicel & Gold Cup tournaments

And the world cup. Yuh figget arready?!?

Pity some Brazilian derailed the train.

Amazing how these goal posts move so easily.

good long time mi a say CB fi take him skills somewhere else.
              So too should Downswell and build their own program. Too much politics fi any Jamaican coach in Ja.

Amazing how these goal posts move so easily.
                It may be a problem with the observer.. not the field.

And the world cup. Yuh figget arready?!?

Pity some Brazilian derailed the train.
                  I presume you are not interested in being taken seriously on this matter.

How does a Brazilian Football TD derail a Jamaican Football Train ?

LOL !!

The only reason we can even speak of a Train is because of a Brazilian TD.

The train was derailed when we thought we 'reach'.. that was the beginning of the derailing.

Now we back again on Track but some of us still think that wi 'reach' and threatening to derail again.

I think this is a great spot for him. Allows him to have full control and continue to improve as a coach. Also it shows a bit of a go getter attitude that he is willing to look outside of Jamaica for his opportunities. Life is short. No reason to wait. If the time is right he'll get another shot. If it is not then he should continue looking forward. Coaching Jamaica is not the end all or be all of his career. - T.K.

I would be very happy if Carl Brown's team--beat the 5 time World Cup qualification and much travelled Serbian--Bora's team.

In short: I hope the Cayman Islands beat the senior Jamaican team at football.

Impossible you say? Exhabit A. Guadaloupe!! (sp?)
                      Last edited by HL; August 9, 2007, 02:04 PM.

I presume you are not interested in being taken seriously on this matter.

How does a Brazilian Football TD derail a Jamaican Football Train ?

LOL !!

The only reason we can even speak of a Train is because of a Brazilian TD.

The train was derailed when we thought we 'reach'.. that was the beginning of the derailing.

Now we back again on Track but some of us still think that wi 'reach' and threatening to derail again.
                        What?
                        Were we not on the way...having stepped past Haiti?
                        Did not our demise coincide with the arrival of a Brazilian?

What?
                          Were we not on the way...having stepped past Haiti?
                          Did not our demise coincide with the arrival of a Brazilian?
                          You need a Brazilian fi teach yuh how to score goal at home ?

Him show yuh how to get di ball in front of di goal mouth.. yuh want him teach yuh how fi put it pass di Goalie in di Office tuh ?

I suppose Carl Brown would have provided that...

By the way.. who was the TD at the time ?

How do you reconcile the best Away Record in qualifying history ?

Get serious if you want to be taken seriously.

We don't have time for sentimentality.. is dat effing yuh up in 'other' areas..

Brown now Cayman's technical director
                            published: Thursday | August 9, 2007

Brown
                            According to an article carried in the Cayman Compass, the Cayman Islands' national newspaper, former national technical director Carl Brown has signed a contract in a similar position with that country's football association.

The article states that Brown, 56, was a Jamaican international for 10 years up to 1980, skippering them at times and then coached the national team from 1983 on and off for 23 years in five spells.

An invaluable member of the coaching side that sensationally reached the World Cup Finals in France in 1998, Brown has travelled the world and gleaned extensive knowledge from some of the world's most respected coaches.

He was assistant to Rene Simoes when the Reggae Boyz reached the World Cup Finals. Brown's loyalty and devotion to his national side was unquestionable and that kind of full commitment is one of the qualities that convinced Cayman Islands Football Association president Jeffrey Webb to sign him initially on a short-term contract.

Brown's first assignment will be with the Olympic team which comprises Under-23 players that are expected to develop into world-class players under Brown's guidance.

Brown's assistant here is Arden Rivers who said: "It's an honour to have Carl Brown as part of our coaching staff and technical director. He has a lot of experience and has already developed a new attitude in our youngsters in the few weeks he's been here.

"The biggest improvement I've noticed is the increased intensity the players have. They always worked hard before but now they're even more focused. Many of them have just come back from trials with European clubs and they're continuing their development with Coach Brown."

The article further states that Cayman may go to Honduras for a week on August 24 in preparation for the Olympic qualifiers in Cuba next month. They are in a tough group with the Cubans, Puerto Rico and Bermuda.
                            Rivers is very upbeat about Cayman's chances under Brown.
                            "Cuba will start favourites because they are the hosts and have a much bigger pool of players to draw from and they pump more resources into their sporting programmes.
                            Last edited by Karl; August 9, 2007, 03:22 PM.

Maybe Cayman can 'buy' good players from all over the Caribbean through geneology. Many of these players could come from Jamaica.

Best of luck Carl Brown!!!
                              Last edited by HL; August 9, 2007, 03:13 PM.