• Brazil's Dunga dazzled by Giggs

Brazil's Dunga dazzled by Giggs

Ryan Giggs showed his world-class pedigree against Brazil

Brazil coach Dunga has given Ryan Giggs the ultimate praise by saying the Welsh winger would grace the Brazilian shirt.

Giggs showed his class in a 45-minute cameo in Tuesday's 2-0 friendly defeat to Brazil at White Hart Lane.

And Dunga said: "Any manager in the world would like a player like Giggs in their side, and I am no different.

"But frankly I wouldn't know where to play him, we have so many good players. If he was Brazilian, it would give me far too many problems."

Giggs created Wales' best scoring opportunity on Tuesday with a sublime back-heel pass which sent Rob Earnshaw through on goal.

The young players coped well with it and there were signs there that they can go on and become very good players for Wales

Wales captain Ryan Giggs

Earnshaw failed to beat the on-rushing goalkeeper, as Wales' wastefulness in front of goal continued from Saturday's Euro 2008 defeat to the Czech Republic.

But Giggs said Wales can take heart from their performance against the Brazilians after holding out for an hour before conceding two goals.

Giggs told BBC Wales Sport: "We got a lot of positives out of the game.

"It was a chance for us to go out and enjoy ourselves and express ourselves against the best players in the world.

"We acquitted ourselves well for an hour. The pressure was off so we tired to relax and enjoy ourselves.

"The young players coped well with it and there were signs there that they can go on and become very good players for Wales.

Wales were very good - very close together and quick on the counter-attack

Brazil coach Dunga

"An experience like this can only help them and stand them in good stead."

Dunga said he was also impressed by Wales' performance, which forced him to a change their tactics in the second half.

"Wales were very good - very close together and quick on the counter-attack," said Dunga.

"We had to be patient and calm, and make sure that we could change the ball from one side to the other to make room.

"In the first half we persisted in the middle and gave them the chance to counter-attack.

He added: "We did well on Sunday (against Argentina), and after a not so good first half against Wales we improved considerably in the second period.

"We have improved all the way through these two games."

SEE ALSO

Toshack rues wasted Wales chances

05 Sep 06 |  Internationals

Brazil 2-0 Wales

05 Sep 06 |  Internationals

Brazil 3-0 Argentina

03 Sep 06 |  Internationals

------------------------------------------------------------------------

RELATED BBC LINKS:

Your say - 606

Match of the Day Wales

BBC Where I Live - Wales

Football weather

RELATED INTERNET LINKS:

Uefa

Fifa

Football Association of Wales

Czech FA

Republic of Ireland

Germany FA

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

FROM OTHER SPORT SITES

Sky Sports Toshack wary of Giggs burnout - 4 hrs ago

Daily Mail Wales floored by late Brazilian magic - 5 hrs ago

Peoples Daily Online Brazil beat Wales 2-0 in friendly - 5 hrs ago

Xinhua News Agency Brazil beat Wales 2-0 in friendly - 14 hrs ago

Guardian Unlimited Welsh cant keep pace with Brazil - 14 hrs ago

About these results

RE: Brazil's Dunga dazzled by Giggs

A suh me know Dunga nuh have NUH sense! Jawge neva tell him? How Giggs fi good when him neva guh a World Cup yet?!? Not even gwine mention nutten bout goal.

RE: Brazil's Dunga dazzled by Giggs

Touche...wicked one that Mosiah..he he he