Fresh Calls For Franchise Football

• Fresh Calls For Franchise Football

Ricketts told The Gleaner that the federation is seriously considering a switch to the franchising method, an idea that was pitched several years ago, but has yet to gather legs.

"Franchising is the way to go. Maybe two or three years ago, a committee was set up by the treasurer, Mr Garfield Sinclair, who was tasked to do a detailed study on franchising around the world and then see how best we can get corporate Jamaica to come on board. We will be having our board meeting on Saturday, and I am pretty sure he will give a report on the status," Ricketts said.

"This is the only way we are going to get a real spread, where each Confed gets its fair share of representation, where we have all the talents on board and not just a concentration in Kingston," added Ricketts.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/s...chise-football
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Na go work. Ghetto management run the thing. The teams want business and businessman come in but don't want to give them any management or ownership role. I can't see JFF doing it. For one KSAFA has too many teams in the league currently and will not want to give that up.

I was wondering how franchising in of it self solves the problem. I agree KNG has too many teams but what if they all applied for a franchise. How do you say yes to Cavaliers and no to Harbour View . I understand what the end state should look like but not sure if there but there or other ways to get there. Should we relegate and promote base on Region/county. For example if a team from the East confer got relegated then the promotion would come from there. As I think about this I see issues with this approach but I r think something needs to be done.

Franchise is the only way they will get good ownership. Yes how would they decide what team get franchise and who don't and who is going to own the team. The current owners know that for most part they will not be able to own a team in the franchise system. Lot of problem fi real. My friend had written up a way to go and give it to the JFF but it got nowhere.

My understanding it’s the existing clubs. You would not start from scratch. I can’t see a league withou TG, AG and Harbour V. Portmore and waterhouse Then you have a MBU and a Reno you would need a franchise from East and Central and I would add St Ann and St Bess. Maybe portmore relocate as they are kind of mercenary now. You would need this in two tiers to have relegation and promotion.

So you think capital will flow and proper management will come in under the existing ghetto clubs? Currently only Portmore, HV, Cavalier and Mobay management I trust to even keep the status quo without deep political involvement or struggling management. What is the incentive for the status quote and clubs relocating?

I can see the tankweld people taking ownership of Waterhouse I think certainly Hview and Portmore and Arnett with Mark Golding and Edie and TG, Powell with MBU. To be honest I don’t think the prerenial clubs in the top flight would have an issue. The two biggest issue is maintaining relegation promotion. If they wish to do that they would need to franchise the lower levels. The second issue is relocating and consolidating teams. Can arnett and boys town become one team? It has been suggested up this season due to the financial issues both clubs were having. i think we need a team in Portland one in Clarendon and St Elizabeth and I know they are financial support there but we need proper structure and processes that would encourage people to invest.
              Last edited by OJ; April 19, 2018, 08:42 AM.