X Critical Reading for you, ...

• X Critical Reading for you, ...

In the Jamaican experience, schools seem to be leading the way in developing players at that crucial age group, seemingly picking up the slack where clubs are lacking the capacity to fulfill this mandate.

Reid, however, argued that schools, with their best intentions, are not structured for the total development the player.

“School programmes, however well intended, are fundamentally driven towards recreation. This is quite understandable given the mandate of schools, by and large; programmes geared towards all or most sports, all being seasonal.

“Two or three months of training and competition cannot develop players into professional athletes that are able to cope on the global stage, generally speaking.

“We must not get ahead of ourselves with isolated success stories. A sustainable model of player development is through the club infrastructure, and the evidence of this is well known and documented [as]young players require 10 to 11 months per season to properly and fundamentally move their growth needle physically, technically, tactically, and mentally to become world-class professionals. Of course, this requires resources and significant investment and a great deal of perseverance,” he concluded.

Agreed, now explain to me ,what is my position on youth development in Jamaican football.

An honest critical answer is appreciated, you can start out with the word , Agreed !

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I think you believe youth development ought to be done in the school.

This alone says it all. This kid is a pro ; school to him is for academic purposes
        and he won't attend college (too busy playing top level ball) not that he can't.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=89Pshb6f2wM

Let me see how the gig spin now.

I believe like Reid and to quote him "In the Jamaican experience, schools seem to be leading the way in developing players at that crucial age group, seemingly picking up the slack where clubs are lacking the capacity to fulfill this mandate. Reid, however, argued that schools, with their best intentions, are not structured for the total development the player.

That is an admission that

1) Schools are leading , ahead of the clubs , which would tells me that the club are failing !

2)Even though they are ahead of the clubs is not the ideal enviroment for development,but it is the best we have at this moment in time.

3) Until the clubs step up the schools will lead , and if that is the case , I argue that they make it, as best they can in leading !

Yuh ave an alternative, please present it ! Barking that schools should not or isnt the place , is not an alternative ! its a bark !

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

X what is the name of that lady in the white hose sarah something you can go work with her you spin everything like her....

Keep doing the same thing and await different outcome.

You are being childish and ridiculous, what has Reid said that we dont know, in fact he made an admission that the clubs are failing, is that not true ?

He then says where the development is taking place , is that not true , he list the cause and solution, clubs lack funding , is that not true ?

So the question is where is the funding for development going? of course its the school boy system is that not true ?

What Reid does not do is list a solution on how to get funding into clubs to be the beacon of development, suh yuh can tan deh and bark!

What will happen as Reid insinuates, is the schools will continue to be the main source of development, is that not true.

In other words, Reid isnt saying nothing that has not been debated and concluded on this site a 1000 times ?

I am waiting for you & Claffy alternative, Barking is not an alternative !

you are spinning like a gig... he also said you cannot develop a player in 2 months....

Who said they can,don't bore me child !

We need Josiah to ban you from this forum,

He is saying development is stunted in school and can't produce the quality players we need, isn't that what you read? He said the school system is not the perfect place for this development, unlike what you believe. It also need the support of the club.

Is that what he is saying and is that what I believe?

Read the article again.

No you believe that the high school is best place to develop these kids. You post about lengthen the school boy season for another 3 or 4 months. You surely change with the wind.

Many have us have been saying beef up the club system and development and you will have better players.

Let me take a "stab" at trying to decipher what Sir X is saying. Until the JFF and/or the local clubs get their sh!t together, then the high schools are our best avenue for youth development in our current situation. I could be wrong given it's X I'm trying to analyze, so...........
                              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015