• Oral Tracey | Bigger Things Than Schoolboy Football

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/s...olboy-football

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I have no problem with this approach. Excellent suggestion Mr. Tracey. Yes, arguments could be made against this approach, but clearly this is someone who sees the need for a different approach.

Nothing new with this approach, what Bailey and you might not know or ignore , is youths who arent academically gifted are already doing this, so where is the development ? alot of youths I knew in high school failed out of school went to play corner leagues, attach themselves to clubs and still their carrear didnt go any where !

This suggests that the development system at the clubs are weak in development and strengthening school boy football is mutually exclusive, in other words both can be done and it should be done !

Development does not start at the club level but at the youth and that foundation in Jamaica is the schools, like every other culture , if you read carefully , the article states the best are poached from schools.

Home much development was imparted before the poaching ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

"The choice is clear but the options are basically non-existent. If Jamaica wants to give our most talented young footballers the best chance of having successful professional careers, we must stop them from getting emotionally attached to schoolboy football before it is too late. Get them out of the Manning Cup and daCosta Cup mentality before they get to the pivotal ages of 18 and 19."

Why is he blaming the youngsters? There is currently nothing available other than high school football.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

"The choice is clear but the options are basically non-existent. If Jamaica wants to give our most talented young footballers the best chance of having successful professional careers, we must stop them from getting emotionally attached to schoolboy football before it is too late. Get them out of the Manning Cup and daCosta Cup mentality before they get to the pivotal ages of 18 and 19."

Why is he blaming the youngsters? There is currently nothing available other than high school football.
          Blaming? No Jangle, I don't think he is blaming the youngsters.

Nothing new with this approach, what Bailey and you might not know or ignore , is youths who arent academically gifted are already doing this, so where is the development ? alot of youths I knew in high school failed out of school went to play corner leagues, attach themselves to clubs and still their carrear didnt go any where !

This suggests that the development system at the clubs are weak in development and strengthening school boy football is mutually exclusive, in other words both can be done and it should be done !

Development does not start at the club level but at the youth and that foundation in Jamaica is the schools, like every other culture , if you read carefully , the article states the best are poached from schools.

Home much development was imparted before the poaching ?
            I'm sorry, who is Bailey? I am not close minded to other approaches X. I am of the view that the parish associations should be focusing on youth development, but what Oral is proposing I have no problem with it. It is time we move in another direction.

You missed the point, neither am I what I am saying is, its nothing new in Jamaica and as Jangle has stated there is no option for youth in Jamaica, not even the clubs ,in other words the club level of development, is how can i put it mildly ,lacking.

School boy football offers more in terms of development than the clubs and that is a sad telling state.

Oral ah tell half the story ! Think about it , if that route was there schoolas would see a flight to clubs, instead we have them flying from small schools to big schools.i.e buying !

You missed the point, neither am I what I am saying is, its nothing new in Jamaica and as Jangle has stated there is no option for youth in Jamaica, not even the clubs ,in other words the club level of development, is how can i put it mildly ,lacking.

School boy football offers more in terms of development than the clubs and that is a sad telling state.

Oral ah tell half the story ! Think about it , if that route was there schoolas would see a flight to clubs, instead we have them flying from small schools to big schools.i.e buying !
                Not new? Aren't you contradicting yourself X? You claim it is not new ... yet go on to state " if that route was there schoolas would see a flight to clubs.."

I think Oral's proposal (old or new) should be given some thought by the powers that be. He even went as far as suggesting mandated playing time for the youngsters. There are some questions regarding that .... but compared to what we currently have I see no harm in trying it.

As I've said here before, I don't believe that high schools and ISSA should be tasked with the job of developing Jamaica's football. However, I believe that the JFF should partner with the high schools across the country to use their physical structures to develop football "academies". Basically, a football "academy" is a place where the young ballers can gather to practice and learn about the game. The Parish Associations be at the forefront of our football development through various age-group competitions. It's much cheaper and maybe more practical to dispatch qualified youth coaches across the parishes or even into regions to form small academies. The African countries are making do with less resources than us and are mass producing excellent footballers that are supplying European leagues.
                  Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

No contradiction , it is being done ! schoolas or youths, regularly leave schools because they are not academically inclined , the route we are looking at or speaking about is, is to develop, not leaving to a club , the club must offer development .

As i said the development system of the club, is close to nonexistent or just **** poor, the acceptance rate for youth isnt a problem .

Clearly this proposal is NONSENSE

This type of rubbish is typical for what passes as journalism or "analysis" in JA. Small-minded, specious & illogical

What JA needs is a YOUTH DEVELOPMENT SYSTEM....but this guy proposes taking the so-called best players out of school...and placing them with clubs

* The clubs have very limited technical or financial ability to develop players. What is their track record in that? It's VERY poor

* By the time players reach HS and start playing HS ball..it's already LATE in their development cycle JA needs a system in place before HS.

* Or at the very least if we're forced to start at the HS level...they need professional coaches from OUTSIDE Jamaica first to train JA coaches and assist with player development

* Since our clubs are relatively useless at the development game...JA needs a national academy to centralize resources & organize player development.

* D1 has put forward a simple, sensible and workable development plan for this HS cohort. And yes...IF youths wish a pro ball career and take it seriously...they SHOULD NOT be playing in HS

What JA needs is a SYSTEM...not some ad hoc patch job (for a handful of players/year) which supposedly works in France. In that country their clubs are able to develop players via well resourced academies. JA clubs struggle to beat the better HS teams

Rubbish Abounds!!

Agreed we need to move the best talent in the best situation the question is what is that entity. The federation or the clubs

2nd dat Don,well said!