The Netherlands

• The Netherlands

They were seen as the nation to follow. Everybody spoke of their system, their total football and coaches.

Now the Dutch can't make Euro, can't make World Cup and their coaches are been fired from the Premier and other top leagues.

Can anyone tell me what went wrong here?

....change or die..........

exactly. The game has evolved. Teams now play not to lose rather than to entertain.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

They were seen as the nation to follow. Everybody spoke of their system, their total football and coaches.

Now the Dutch can't make Euro, can't make World Cup and their coaches are been fired from the Premier and other top leagues. Can anyone tell me what went wrong here?
        I don't know the answer, but I will speculate that:

a) other countries have gotten better - right next door to them is Belgium. The Belgians went through an overhaul in the early 2000's when they were ranked 55th and put together a comprehensive plan that was instituted nationwide to attract and nurture players from age 6 on up.

b) leadership - where is the leadership in the KNVB? They selected Blind as their national coach, a man who had very little coaching experience at the highest level; he was supposed to revive their chances but missed badly

c) development - it is hard to tell if the Dutch grassroots program is working. Their best players are all over 30. Who do they have that is an up and comer in their late teens or 20's?

I'm sure it is a lot of things, but there is no question they are in a crisis.

....and Babel, a Loserfool Duneon, is still playing for them.
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

....and Babel, a Loserfool Duneon, is still playing for them.
            You mean this fellow: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-OzFuKJb2c0

I don't know the answer, but I will speculate that:

a) other countries have gotten better - right next door to them is Belgium. The Belgians went through an overhaul in the early 2000's when they were ranked 55th and put together a comprehensive plan that was instituted nationwide to attract and nurture players from age 6 on up.

b) leadership - where is the leadership in the KNVB? They selected Blind as their national coach, a man who had very little coaching experience at the highest level; he was supposed to revive their chances but missed badly

c) development - it is hard to tell if the Dutch grassroots program is working. Their best players are all over 30. Who do they have that is an up and comer in their late teens or 20's?

I'm sure it is a lot of things, but there is no question they are in a crisis.
              Now explain Italy....

Thanks

Now explain Italy....

Thanks
                As much as I hate saying it - sh!t coach with the wrong strategy. Unlike Holland, they have the players. Travesty and malpractice.

You do know goalkeepers have scored on themselves.
                  In any event, what Jangle said remains irrefutable , Babel(thanks for the ID)played for Pool (a team plagued by falling short), and he still figures(despite well beyond his peak) for his national team.
                  A question of why Netherland(TOO)is going nowhere fast..

No....I mean this fool

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HHCJb8Qt5hg

KMT - you bring out footage from a *testimonial*???? LOL!!!! Wheel an tun!!! Babel tell me fi sen u dis: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O7VNH5EVkDc

There has also been a decline in top class player in Italy. They have a few but not good enough. The only superstar Italy has is their Goalkeeper. They have some potentially good players in the Italian league but they haven't stepped up yet.

Italy key was defense but they haven't produced the quality they use to.