...unu are fixated on high school ball which I argue is the wrong end of the development spectrum...jamaica should be focused on U6-U12 as the priority. We have nothing in place to have our very young ballers competing like these kids (old article - but you get the point): http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...er-United.html
For all the talk about development...
X DESCRIBES HIMSELF - Stop masquerading as if you have the clubs interest at heart, you are a fraud, always was and always will be in any and every thing that you present...Tags: None
It's probably best that self-confessed Football Dummies refrain from commenting on matters above their ability to fathom. But it's a free internet..TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Paul Marin View Post...unu are fixated on high school ball which I argue is the wrong end of the development spectrum...jamaica should be focused on U6-U12 as the priority. We have nothing in place to have our very young ballers competing like these kids (old article - but you get the point): http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...er-United.html
The latter is especially true in the face of huge resource limitations in Jamaica. Jamaica cannot afford to sideline schools and must leverage its sunk costs in the school system to drive development...not merely football related matters either.
Driving national development by enabling far better resource use in schools is precisely what our STEM programs are about. Football (a far less important
development element) should follow suit in its sphere.
The German football development example {o so wisely posted by USAF} is quite instructive in that regard. School ball features prominently in that model.
Considering the abundance of resources in Germany...that option to include a big school football focus is extremely interestingLast edited by Don1; November 7, 2017, 05:58 PM.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
I agree that the U 6 to 12 should be of some credible focus, but our cultural reality tells us that high school football is where our corporate interest lie, thats not to say that the JFF should absolve its responsibility like upgrading the coaching knowledge at that level or asking for corporate sponsors to build interest in that level,like a national parish tournament focusing in that area.
That said, dont hold your breath !THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Originally posted by Sir X View PostI agree that the U 6 to 12 should be of some credible focus,
In our example we're starting advanced STEM Ed apps at the secondary level throughout JA. That level because that's where we have ready access via personal & biz networks...so service launch and program uptake are easier
However not until we penetrate the primary & kindergarten level will be really successful in improving skills in robotics, software coding etc..
The earlier the betterTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
AgreedTHERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Originally posted by Don1 View PostStating "some credible focus" appears to downplay the importance of that critical cohort. The earlier our youths are directed on a positive path...the faster and more meaningful the positive outcomes will be
In our example we're starting advanced STEM Ed apps at the secondary level throughout JA. That level because that's where we have ready access via personal & biz networks...so service launch and program uptake are easier
However not until we penetrate the primary & kindergarten level will be really successful in improving skills in robotics, software coding etc..
The earlier the better"H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365
Originally posted by Paul Marin View Postcreating a program for the very youngest HAS TO BE the JFF's primary focus if they are *serious* about long term player development. Is jus' dat simple. HOWEVER, you never hear these age groups mentioned whenever we talk about "development".
The big chatter re HS ball reflects push back on the silly arguments we hear regularly from the Dummy Group about it being "the problem" with Jamaican football. That position is clearly rubbish. An epic failure of basic logic
If we're to progress rubbish must be disposed of with extreme prejudice (e.g. SnowBall ) so that good sense can prevail.
Juss call wi di Sanitation DepartmentLast edited by Don1; November 8, 2017, 03:43 AM.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
This is where I will disagree with Paul,while I agree that the age group you mentioned should be the primary focus,the (has to be ) in the sentence forgot to factor in the practicality of it.
Its ironic that you mention corporate dollars and its flow,yet no mention that corporate Jamaica does not represent the JFF interest ! That leaves the JFF and ( its has to be ) focus in lala land, and left with the reality that corporate Jamaica sees a financial interest in supporting football at another age group,that is not in the interest of (proper )development.The JFF has an interest in being photographically being associated with it.A PR stunt !
It takes $$$ to focus and the JFF does not have the resources like corporate Jamaica to sponsor any league or program,what they do have is the ability to agitate corporate Jamaica,government,coaches,Fifa and fans on a path forward ,in the way that Bullead has .
The JFF have sat on the Bully pull pit post WC 98.The ideas we have formulated on this site,came about through research using google and asking other stake holders questions,while we dont have the knowledge of how to set up a national youth program,I am sure based on our interactions on the site,we know what it should look like .
The JFF could
* Bombard the airwaves with a manifesto like we have seen displayed here by many a forumite.
*Seek out sports journalist in the media to promote it
*Embarrass,beg and demand that those with the purse strings support the agenda,Government,Corporate Jamaica and yes FIFA/Concacaf.
I dont see it happening so all I am left with is this forum to agitate others, hoping that stakeholders specifically the JFF get wind of it,I have went so far as to email media personalities ,the JFF and plastered its website on facebook.The excuse cant be that they dont know.
They do know! they dont have the balls to shake the system, from what I see they are beggars.I have no hope for this adm accomplishing anything .To do what I have suggested requires a profesional technical business mind,I see none in that organization.Last edited by Sir X; November 8, 2017, 06:49 AM.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
Correction : Corporate Jamaica's interest (could) be the same as the JFF interest which is detrimental to football development in Jamaica.
I say could be because I don't know,but judging by history, that seems to be the case.
Corporate Jamaica wants to be associated with the historical cultural context of school boy football to promote its products,the JFF is satisfied using it as a PR stunt.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
I will address you and D1 in this post. We are arguing two separate things: 1) funding and 2) the starting point of the curriculum. There is however, a dependency between the two in that funding is required to deliver a curriculum, therefore sources of funds have to be shown an ROI if they are expected to fund the curriculum.
While funding sources (private, govt. etc.) can be altruistic, in the case of for profit organizations, there has to be an ROI. Therefore, it is not unsavory nor is it short sighted for the current sponsors to attach themselves to whatever vehicle they believe will be best for them. Alignment with JFF's interests would be a bonus, but not a requirement. So, as I believe X correctly implied, the onus is on the JFF to either a) find sources of funding that can be aligned with their vision or b) adapt their vision to be aligned to appeal to available sources of funding.
But while there is a dependency, there is a clear sequence of events needed. Like any properly run organization, there needs to be a plan, one based on establishing a VISION FRAMEWORK comprised of a CORE PURPOSE, CORE VALUES and MISSION. Let me explain:
CORE PURPOSE: Why does the JFF exist?
CORE VALUES: What are the immutable values of the organization?
MISSION: What is the 5 year measurable target for the organization?
According to the JFF's Facebook page, it's Mission is: to facilitate Jamaica footballing success by providing development, regulatory, affiliation and accreditation services to affiliates and entertainment to the general public.
Like many organizations, the JFF is tripped up by an alphabet soup of terms that are specious, they sound good, but meaningless because there is no "there there" in the execution.
A MISSION has a CLEARLY DEFINED OUTCOME and TIME FRAME. So I submit that the JFF's CORE PURPOSE is the "mission" it outlined above, but a CORE PURPOSE without CORE VALUES is like wearing a pair of pants with a busted seam – all kinda ting ago flop bout. It is the organization's CORE VALUES that hold everything together. With no values, you can’t have meaningful MISSION.
All of this brings me to the need for a clearly articulated curriculum. If there were a CLEAR MISSION (e.g. “By the year 2030, Jamaica will qualify for the World Cup finals”. I am not saying this SHOULD be the mission, it is only given as an example as it has a clear time-frame, and a clear outcome), we can then set about to put milestones in place that can drive a game plan that can be shopped to potential backers. This is an example of a basic development curriculum:
Development Targets:
U4-U6: early introduction of the game to boys and girls in this age group with community based games and jamborees. The goals are 1) to inspire passion and love for the game; no leagues, no standings, no stress, just fun and 2) body mastery, specifically, 2 footedness. The defining characteristic of this age group is 1 ball, 1 kid, loads of fun.
U6-U8. Basic understanding of the laws of the game, beginning ball mastery, body mastery (controlling ball with all surfaces of both feet and all parts of the body; introduction to 1v1 moves, passing and receiving techniques, shooting)
U8-U12. This is where the rubber meets the road. By now – ALL KIDS should be TWO FOOTED. Now you focus on expansion of technical skills - 1v1 moves, turns, combination play, spatial awareness, basic tactics (two touch, two touch with weak foot, expanded games focused on individual technical advancement). By the time a player gets out of this phase they should be able to use both feet, kick the ball with all surfaces, juggle with every part of their body, know the rudiments of passing and receiving (touch ball lightly, check shoulder, feet moving etc.), know various crosses, basic heading technique, throw-in technique, corners –outswinging/inswinging, and a raft of 1v1 moves and turns.
IF THIS BASIC FOUNDATION IS NOT THERE WE CAN FORGET ABOUT THE AGE GROUPS ABOVE IT!!!! But that said, each of these age categories in and of themselves are marketable. There are MILLIONS OF $$$$ associated with marketing to children between ages 4 and 12. Adidas, Nike, every clothing company on the planet, every fast food company on the planet, every kind of toy company, books and education etc. etc., not to mention every foundation in the world focuses on kids. So by breaking the curriculum down, you can now target the appropriate backers. The U4-6 set could be sponsored by a foundation, the u6-u8 set by food, clothing, or toy companies, etc. who are all blessed with marketing departments that can make the linkage.
Anyway, I could go on, and talk about the curriculum for the older age groups, but the bottom line is that WE ARE FOCUSING ON THE WRONG END OF THE HORSE. We need to focus on the little ones. What good is it that we have 14 year olds with no left foot? Or 17 year olds that can’t juggle, or don’t know how to check their shoulder receiving the ball, and just as badly - don’t know how to finish??? It is comical.
I am going to stop because I am writing this and getting vex. The problem is not easy to solve, but until we have the right kind of leadership, vision framework, curriculum and commitment to marketing the long term value of a great Jamaican football product, we may as well go back to playing cricket.Last edited by Paul Marin; November 8, 2017, 02:49 PM."H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365
Well said,although I dont believe they are inseperable in that funding and development go hand in hand ,call it the curriculum as you have.The issue is what can the JFF do to source funding i.e corporate sponsorship to a path of development ,as you have presented clearly,they havent a clue.
BIG UP, you have torn the mask off,school boy football is nothing but a photo op for the JFF,they dont fund it in any way except lip service nor do they have an option to develop the youths and refuse or havent a clue, to present any plan on a way forward.
That is the state of our football.Last edited by Sir X; November 8, 2017, 03:17 PM.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
Originally posted by Sir X View PostWell said,although I dont believe they are inseperable in that funding and development go hand in hand ,
You need both...but the vision has to come first...then the curriculum...then the major part of the funding. It is assumed that they have the funds to develop a vision and curriculum. I can do it sitting in my draws in my living room...so...they must be able to do it as well."H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365
True also,let's not give them any wiggle room by saying they don't have vision or lack it,the vision they can't source has been belched out by previous forgein coaches, told to them by stakeholders,aired on radio airwaves ,splattered across the net on various and their website's. Just recently advocated by the recently defeated candidate for the presidency!
We as stakeholders need to put the pressure up on another level,call them what they say they are not !
A patty shop lacking balls to bake the goods.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!