• Brazil submits 2014 World Cup bid

Brazil submits 2014 World Cup bid

The Brazilian Football Association has (CBF) formally submitted its bid to stage the 2014 World Cup finals.
    A CBF delegation presented a 900-page dossier to Fifa on Tuesday but refused to answer media questions.
    Brazil is the sole bidder after Colombia pulled out in April and, under Fifa's rotation policy, it is South America's turn to host the finals.
    However, Fifa president Sepp Blatter said: "For the time being, Brazil has not yet been given the World Cup."
    Brazil previously staged the finals in 1950 and Fifa will inspect the bid, looking closely at the country's ageing stadiums. Despite Brazil having a clear run, Blatter again warned that a failure to meet Fifa's requirements could lead to the nation losing the finals. He added: "If something should happen to the Brazil bid, then we still have time to start again as we are a year in advance of the decision-making process for previous World Cups."

Formality. Save money and just give it to them from now.

Did you see the PAN AM GAMES pitches?

Yes. What?

Yes. What?
          Never mind

thought so. punk!

Sketchy on details, Brazil offers bid for 2014 World Cup

Brazil's soccer association, CBF, formally submitted its plans for staging the 2014 World Cup on Tuesday but kept the details close to its chest.

A Brazilian delegation, headed by the CBF president, Ricardo Teixeira, handed over a 900-page dossier at the headquarters of world soccer's governing body but declined to answer media questions on the size of the bid budget or any potential challenges it faced.

Brazil last staged the World Cup in 1950 and is the only country bidding to stage the 2014 version, having benefited from FIFA's decision to rotate the World Cup between different continents.

(continue)

When is the next time that our Continent Qualify? I would like to see Jamaica and Canada stage the World Cup!

Originally posted by Time View Post
                  When is the next time that our Continent Qualify? I would like to see Jamaica and Canada stage the World Cup!
                  Jam who? How much stadium we have?

We have 1 and 1/2 stadium. What is the big deal? Every country builds statdiums for the World Cup. In any case we don't have to host 1/2 the groups.

We only need enough stadiums to host one group of four teams, we can do that with 2 stadiums (if we have to play two matches at the same time). The other groups can play in the other host country (Canada)

Originally posted by Time View Post
                      We have 1 and 1/2 stadium. What is the big deal? Every country builds statdiums for the World Cup. In any case we don't have to host 1/2 the groups.

We only need enough stadiums to host one group of four teams, we can do that with 2 stadiums (if we have to play two matches at the same time). The other groups can play in the other host country (Canada)
                      Oh ... yuh want to see both countries hosting one tournament? Well, after the 2002 WC, didn't the FIFA president say they wouldn't be doing that again? How many miles is Jamaica from Canada? Joint hosting between those countries would be madness Time.

Well it can't be Jamaica and Cuba because the US would banned every visitor from entering the US after that...

So how about Jamaica and US (Miamai Area) close enough?