• Refs: Whats the difference

http://www.talkingbaws.com/2017/09/v...hallenge-mane/

To be honest the only difference I see is the city keeper attacking Mans's foot.Not a red card to me.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Mane was never a red card IMO, the goalie ran out of his area to challenge for that ball... a real travesty!

David Luiz just attempted an overhead kick for which he received only a yellow card.

I dunno...

Since the incident, I have not argued against the red card, but what was clear to me was that there must be at least 10 such incidents every single week on tv that are not so adjudged as being red card-worthy.

It would be interesting to see how that referee looks at such challenges in the future. He has set a precedent, at the very least for himself.

Oh! I am also disappointed that the MSNBC commentators were not able to draw on similar events before they roundly declared that, regardless of Mane's intent, it was reckless and deserved a red card. Perhaps it did, but a thousand similar kicks got away with only yellows.

It really will be nonscientific identifying and enforcing any rules..

I agree with you. This is the crux of the issue, the lack of consistency... we end up losing a key player for three matches (?). Because of inconsistency one man gets a yellow (or nothing), a next a red and misses three games for very similar transgressions. The offences, IMO need to be reviewed, and a consistent set of criteria used to assess whether the refs' decision was the "correct" one or not! And even if done after the match is over, maybe we (any team which is aggrieved) wouldn't lose a player for so long.

As an aside, they should do the same, i.e. review every goal that is scored to check for offside (or any other transgression that would have aided in scoring the goal) and rescind the goal if found to be so. A review judge would have five minutes to do so (while play continues) or whatever makes sense. After all, the tv replays are there...if inconclusive or showing the goal is good, then original call stands...

Or, each team could get one review (or two) per match, of a goal scored, as other sports are doing (tennis, cricket). Play in this case could continue while a decision is being made.

I don't know the answer, but technology exists (simple slo mo replay works for many incidents) that isn't being used.

show me one that happened this weekend...high foot + studs to the face...i'll wait

Oh .. wait ... this is still being discussed? Why?

slur x i can understand...but i cyaan believe curly & moe join him...

Hold your breath too, because if you think I have time for this...KMT

It will be discussed as long as this sort of inconsistency shows up.

you obviously have plenty time on your hands to be trying to argue the indefensible...

...dem cant get over the busss asss.....

With or without Mane, the buss asss result would still be the same.

Did they win their cl game at home?

buss ass...been a week so we can probably chalk it up to PTSD