That has been going around where The T&T coach cancelled scheduled Friendlies because of what hebelieves to be the lackof quality of Home Grown Players ??
Talk bout gone to the dogs .... if the rumour is true.
Courtney (9/5/2006)That has been going around where The T&T coach cancelled scheduled Friendlies because of what hebelieves to be the lackof quality of Home Grown Players ??
Trinidad and Tobago national football team coach Wim Rijsbergen defended his decision to cancel international friendly matches against Mexico and Colombia yesterday by explaining that the majority of locally-based players, at present, were too far from the desired standard.
Rijsbergen, a former Holland World Cup player and assistant to compatriot Leo Beenhakker at the 2006 World Cup, said last month's 2-0 loss away to Japan-his first game as head coach-convinced him that the present crop are not yet ready to play on their own, particularly in terms of fitness, speed of play and physical approach.
He will prefer to use them alongside the country's senior European-based players who were unavailable for duty in proposed fixtures yesterday and on Wednesday against Mexico and Colombia respectively.
"We played (primarily) with the local guys in Japan and there is still quite a difference in level," Rijsbergen told the Sunday Express.
"International football is on another level to what the Pro League is playing and the J-League is on a higher level than the Pro League here. That is the reality."
The Dutchman said that he watches Pro League matches every week and is in the perfect position to assess the standard of local football. He insisted that, if the players were good enough, they would be selected regardless of where they played their football.
However, three Pro League coaches felt that a valuable opportunity to expose young talent was lost.
Vibe CT 105 W Connection's Stuart Charles-Fevrier, CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh's Terry Fenwick and United Petrotrin's Brian Williams-all former Pro League Coach of the Year winners and international players-would have preferred that the Pro League players receive a chance to show their international worth on home soil.
Williams, who is an assistant coach to the national under-20 squad, said he felt T&T had nothing to lose by fielding a team against Mexico and Colombia and thought the public would understand if the "Soca Warriors" lost.
He believed, as did Fevrier, that the possible benefit of widening the national player pool outweighed the negatives.
"A coach's reputation is always at stake," said Williams, a standout with the famous 1989 "Strike Squad", "but I think we only needed to make the public aware that the game is about exposing our young talent and they would understand
Nearly half of the players who went to the (2006) World Cup won't be available for 2010 and I think this was a great chance to give (our possible future players) some exposure."
Fenwick, a former World Cup player with England, agreed. His Jabloteh squad contributed eight of the players who travelled to Japan.
"I am extremely disappointed that they didn't have a chance to perform at home, especially as there have been no games here since the World Cup," said Fenwick.
"Unless these guys get exposure, they will never be able to show whether they are up to the international standard."
Fevrier, who coached the national team from May 2003 to January 2004, said the cancellation was a blow to the morale of the Pro League and its players and felt Rijsbergen might have been too hasty.
"It was their first game at that level and to judge them on that one game is harsh," said the ex-St Lucian star.
"We still have a lot of room for improvement but I think they are capable of improvement and it is not as though Japan blew them away... We were able to create goal scoring chances and, after conceding two early goals, were able to keep scores level in the second half.
Rijsbergen, a former Holland World Cup player and assistant to compatriot Leo Beenhakker at the 2006 World Cup, said last month's 2-0 loss away to Japan-his first game as head coach-convinced him that the present crop are not yet ready to play on their own, particularly in terms of fitness, speed of play and physical approach
yes, the Dutch cancelled the games with Mexico and Columbia, stating that he is not comfortable playing these games with what he described as the inadequate standard of the players involved in the domestic league. I dont think the great Simoes would ever ever take this approach.
President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)
the man know what him a do. You see that is why him make the big bucks. Him a go make decisions that none a we nuh agree with but the man have a time table and know that the race is not for the swift.
Same thing with Jamaica, all our local experts a go jump all over the man now. The man would rather not "grab a team" and embarrass himself and Trinidad.
Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Assasin (9/5/2006)the man know what him a do. You see that is why him make the big bucks. Him a go make decisions that none a we nuh agree with but the man have a time table and know that the race is not for the swift.
Same thing with Jamaica, all our local experts a go jump all over the man now. The man would rather not "grab a team" and embarrass himself and Trinidad.
<DIV></DIV><DIV>I wonder if this is how we ended up in slavery. "Kunta, he ain't go do nutten bad to Babatunde. Dose white people sail in big ship, not canoe, and they so nice. Look on all the wool blankets dey gave us. Trust dem, Kunta. Dey must be nice people! Dey going to make Babatunde king!"</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Can you imagine if any Jamaican coach took this approach? Yuh don't think CB must have thought the same thing going into the Canada match, that our players are not yet ready for international football? Is who T&T was going play suh, Brazil, Argentina?</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>They day I throw up my hands and say, "He is paid big bucks so he must know what he is doing!", is the day when I should just drop dead. There is no one under the sun who is beyond criticism. Is after everyting dun sell off people now want to question the logic and practices of great coaches like Carlos Alberto and Sven. HL asked the other day, who are the football experts in Jamaica? Well, no one is suggesting that we are bulging at the seams with football experts, but are we not smart enuff to question what these experts may do, even twice a year?!? And after all of that we big up Marcus Mosiah Garvey. Please!!!</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>And nuff a unnu need to look into unnuself. What if CB and Boxhill had done the very same thing?</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Then again, Rijsberger may be right. T&T really sucks!</DIV>
Assasin (9/5/2006)the man know what him a do. You see that is why him make the big bucks. Him a go make decisions that none a we nuh agree with but the man have a time table and know that the race is not for the swift.
<DIV></DIV><DIV>I wonder if this is how we ended up in slavery. "Kunta, he ain't go do nutten bad to Babatunde. Dose white people sail in big ship, not canoe, and they so nice. Look on all the wool blankets dey gave us. Trust dem, Kunta. Dey must be nice people! Dey going to make Babatunde king!"</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Can you imagine if any Jamaican coach took this approach? Yuh don't think CB must have thought the same thing going into the Canada match, that our players are not yet ready for international football? Is who T&T was going play suh, Brazil, Argentina?</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>They day I throw up my hands and say, "He is paid big bucks so he must know what he is doing!", is the day when I should just drop dead. There is no one under the sun who is beyond criticism. Is after everyting dun sell off people now want to question the logic and practices of great coaches like Carlos Alberto and Sven. HL asked the other day, who are the football experts in Jamaica? Well, no one is suggesting that we are bulging at the seams with football experts, but are we not smart enuff to question what these experts may do, even twice a year?!? And after all of that we big up Marcus Mosiah Garvey. Please!!!</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>And nuff a unnu need to look into unnuself. What if CB and Boxhill had done the very same thing?</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Then again, Rijsberger may be right. T&T really sucks!</DIV>
Well if I were a coach in the local top league and the national coach gave us a challenge...yup! that is a challenge to the local players and coaches to raise standards...I would take heed and move heaven and earth to step up.
CB needs to, not necessarily by putting a halt on playing internationals...send out a similar call to arms to our local coaches and players.
What did one poster say about many of the local players who represented us recently..."dem nuh ready"?As Lazie is wont to say...and, Lazielease see with me for shifting the target...- "dem if a nuh fi wi local coach and players dem, dem-a who"?
Can you explain how "white man come inna this"? Can everything for you be about Whiteman or foriegner?
Not everybody going to agree with your educated viewpoints sojust relax and stop try acting like you.
Are you implying the man don't know what he is doing?
Let me just cool yah cause somehow some a unnu think unnu blacka than everybody and only unnu go a good school.
Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
I like your point Hortikal. Our 'experts' here like to jump in feet first all the time without thinking first. I am hoping the T&T coach will take a step back and do what is required to get the players up to standard. Look at the situation in a holistic way and instead of making any quick fixes, lay a solid foundation that T&T can build on for the future.
I am not bashing Simoes but if he had taken this approach when he came here, chances are we would have been further along the road to respectability today.
Solidarity is not a matter of well wishing, but is sharing the very same fate whether in victory or in death. Che Guevara.