...some people on here keep flapping dem gum about licenses. I personally agree that they are important, and further agree they are necessary to set a certain standard. However, the same people dem dat ah beat dem ches' about how Jamaica don't have a "minimum UEFA B" standard are the same ones that keep jukin' people who advance potential solutions to our football malaise with the "we bruk" mantra. Licenses of the A and B level are NOT CHEAP to come by, but you never hear sey we bruk when they are advanced as the panacea. The cost here in the US to go from bottom to top is about $10K plus travel, lodging, and other supplemental fees. By the time you're done, you'll be out $20K. But...I don't think that's the biggest issue. The even BIGGER issue is that license awards can be *highly subjective*. If you get the wrong instructor, or are not amongst the "favored elite" you can easily fail the B or the A (or the C, D, or E for that matter).
For example, a friend of mine recently took a recognized "B" license course. He was in a class with several former professionals. One of them was partnered with him on an assignment. My friend has been coaching for 15 years. He said he was educating the younger former pro (who he is still in contact with) on many of the assignments. The pro got a waiver to take the course (waiver requirements are playing for 5 years at Division 1 level and 5 years coaching at any level).
Now...it is important to recognize that there is a specific vocabulary these instructors want you to use, a specific set of coaching points for certain exercises, and on analysis, a specific set of observations they are expecting you to make. This former pro was suffering through the course, unable to fall in line with the recognized standards. The way I understand it, he never really coached, and while he played at a high level, was simply not a good student.
So the day of the final assessment comes, my bredrin fails ("Not yet ready"), and the former pro passes. As my idrin put it - "Those f-rs are a mafia business". So, next time you hear people flapping their gums about "UEFA A" dis and "UEFA B" dat, keep in mind that the assessments are SUBJECTIVE and will not necessarily amount to much if not administered properly or fairly. And we all know that if is one thing we are good at, it is unfairness (tief and corruption - like talent - abound!). The one arguable expectation though is that licensing requirements would introduce a set of standards which can only help to benefit our football overall, but don't expect miracles as some would have you believe, especially true seh "we bruk".
Tenk u.
For example, a friend of mine recently took a recognized "B" license course. He was in a class with several former professionals. One of them was partnered with him on an assignment. My friend has been coaching for 15 years. He said he was educating the younger former pro (who he is still in contact with) on many of the assignments. The pro got a waiver to take the course (waiver requirements are playing for 5 years at Division 1 level and 5 years coaching at any level).
Now...it is important to recognize that there is a specific vocabulary these instructors want you to use, a specific set of coaching points for certain exercises, and on analysis, a specific set of observations they are expecting you to make. This former pro was suffering through the course, unable to fall in line with the recognized standards. The way I understand it, he never really coached, and while he played at a high level, was simply not a good student.
So the day of the final assessment comes, my bredrin fails ("Not yet ready"), and the former pro passes. As my idrin put it - "Those f-rs are a mafia business". So, next time you hear people flapping their gums about "UEFA A" dis and "UEFA B" dat, keep in mind that the assessments are SUBJECTIVE and will not necessarily amount to much if not administered properly or fairly. And we all know that if is one thing we are good at, it is unfairness (tief and corruption - like talent - abound!). The one arguable expectation though is that licensing requirements would introduce a set of standards which can only help to benefit our football overall, but don't expect miracles as some would have you believe, especially true seh "we bruk".
Tenk u.