...No small-minded, superficial, ignorant yappin from Damani that "high school football is the problem". Instead we have intelligent & informed analysis. Noice!! Rare!!
The problem of course is the lack of a development system...which leads Jamaica's stupid football admin structure to lazily RELY on HS ball primarily for talent (plus..wussa.. journeymen English Snowballas ).
That RELIANCE & the STUPID PHILOSOPHY underlying it are the problems.
Only nincompoops would divine from that scenario...that high school football designed for recreation and an outlet allowing boys & their schools to express themselves...is intrinsically "the problem".
However, to paraphrase the esteemed Karl (how is he BTW?) ...NINCOMPOOPS ABOUND!! Come up inna dis Nincompoops
Stop Relying On High Schools - Damani Ralph
Published:Saturday | July 15, 2017 | 7:00 AMRachid Parchment
Former national footballer now turned agent, Damani Ralph, has criticised the quality of players being turned out by the national youth programme. Ralph said that the local players are no longer transitioning to the top clubs in the United States because now that there is more money being spent in Major League Soccer, clubs are able to look at better players from across the rest of the world.
"Personally, I am a bit disappointed with the level coming out and what's in the pipeline to come. Are we producing Andy Williamses? Are we producing Theodore Whitmores? Are we producing Walter Boyds? Are we producing Onandi Lowes? I don't see those calibre players, even in our youth system, in the Under-17s, the 20s. That's what the market had been used to seeing coming out of Jamaica and we haven't seen a lot of that anymore, so I do think we need to get back to the grassroots and start to improve the product because the product is what demands, whether it's a higher salary or the opportunity. The product has to be good enough for you to sell it.
Ralph went on to say that one of the biggest problems with the local system is that the programme is too reliant on the high-school system to produce talent to compete against players who are already in professional club systems across the rest of the world.
"Personally, Jamaica has the best high-school standard, probably across the world," Ralph said. "That said, we cannot expect the high schools to develop players who are going to compete against the top clubs around Europe or even here in the US, where they are getting five to 10 days per week in an academy set up in a professional environment where it's only football.
The problem of course is the lack of a development system...which leads Jamaica's stupid football admin structure to lazily RELY on HS ball primarily for talent (plus..wussa.. journeymen English Snowballas ).
That RELIANCE & the STUPID PHILOSOPHY underlying it are the problems.
Only nincompoops would divine from that scenario...that high school football designed for recreation and an outlet allowing boys & their schools to express themselves...is intrinsically "the problem".
However, to paraphrase the esteemed Karl (how is he BTW?) ...NINCOMPOOPS ABOUND!! Come up inna dis Nincompoops
Stop Relying On High Schools - Damani Ralph
Published:Saturday | July 15, 2017 | 7:00 AMRachid Parchment
Former national footballer now turned agent, Damani Ralph, has criticised the quality of players being turned out by the national youth programme. Ralph said that the local players are no longer transitioning to the top clubs in the United States because now that there is more money being spent in Major League Soccer, clubs are able to look at better players from across the rest of the world.
"Personally, I am a bit disappointed with the level coming out and what's in the pipeline to come. Are we producing Andy Williamses? Are we producing Theodore Whitmores? Are we producing Walter Boyds? Are we producing Onandi Lowes? I don't see those calibre players, even in our youth system, in the Under-17s, the 20s. That's what the market had been used to seeing coming out of Jamaica and we haven't seen a lot of that anymore, so I do think we need to get back to the grassroots and start to improve the product because the product is what demands, whether it's a higher salary or the opportunity. The product has to be good enough for you to sell it.
Ralph went on to say that one of the biggest problems with the local system is that the programme is too reliant on the high-school system to produce talent to compete against players who are already in professional club systems across the rest of the world.
"Personally, Jamaica has the best high-school standard, probably across the world," Ralph said. "That said, we cannot expect the high schools to develop players who are going to compete against the top clubs around Europe or even here in the US, where they are getting five to 10 days per week in an academy set up in a professional environment where it's only football.