An unmanageable 450 recognised football clubs

• An unmanageable 450 recognised football clubs

Back in 2012 we were told that there was an unmanageable 450 recognised football clubs across the country. We are aware that very little, if anything, has changed in that regard since then.

Yet, as the then second vice-president of the JFF, Mr Bruce Gaynor, explained at the time, Jamaica's football will remain stagnant without radical restructuring.

“The current demographics and economics cannot support the number of clubs operating across the island in order to select eligible players for national and club purposes to ply their trade professionally,” Mr Gaynor told an annual awards ceremony in St Elizabeth in 2012.

“Financial support, overall good management,

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/edito...8?profile=1100
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Back in 2012 we were told that there was an unmanageable 450 recognised football clubs across the country. We are aware that very little, if anything, has changed in that regard since then.

Yet, as the then second vice-president of the JFF, Mr Bruce Gaynor, explained at the time, Jamaica's football will remain stagnant without radical restructuring.

“The current demographics and economics cannot support the number of clubs operating across the island in order to select eligible players for national and club purposes to ply their trade professionally,” Mr Gaynor told an annual awards ceremony in St Elizabeth in 2012.

“Financial support, overall good management,

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/edito...8?profile=1100
    Okay Mr. Gaynor ... you are now seeing part of the problem. Good first step.

Crap them a talk. The problem is they are unable to scout the teams. You need proper structure but scout the kids from early and get them in teams. They have to put system in place, nobody expect them to develop every corner league.

JFF don't understand the difference between development league and corner league.

Does the JFF & the clubs have qualified & experienced personnel to develop & manage a GOOD & PRODUCTIVE Development League???

They can if they pick the right people and the coaches work as a team.

Problem is football politics and ego comes between and some good coaches just stay to the side. We have enough former pros and coaches who can contribute from a management, mentoring point of view.

There are qualified & experienced people, in Jamaica, that know about establishing & managing a Development League???.......Are there qualified & experienced coaches & technical staff to lead the teams in a Development League???

yes there are a few. You have some young coaches, I am thinking like the Andrew Edward, the other Edwards, JC coach, Boris Johnson, Donovan Duckie etc who could be mentored by Bradley Stewart, Don Davis, Carl Brown, Rene Simoes, Freddy Butler, Lorne Donaldson, Lennie Taylor to name a few.

It is about working as a unit. Many of the states in US never had the resource Jamaica have when they started with youth development, instead some had some dedicated soldiers who gave it their all.