Both are on equal footing in terms of love ,in terms of participation football beats it by a long shot.The difference is track and field has a structured professional set up from some might argue kindergarten that shoots into adult hood.
Football is on its own from that age.If you knew the culture you wouldnt make such silly comments.Have you ever been to Jamaica when the world cup is showing,esp when the big boys play,stadium would be empty ,they dare not put on any T&F event on that day !
Are you talking about football in general or Jamaican football,if you read the response it would tell you the culture differentiates...hehe.
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
It could have been much worse, football could have taken the backseat to basketball, baseball, cash and run,and ice hockey.
We currently have the best sprinter, the fastest ever..
Our fascination helps in maintaining the status quo.
Collectively, we are still miles ahead of the USA regarding citizens' appreciation of the beautiful game.
I dont think he understnad the culture,HL seems to have left when he was a baby or before he was born.Track is a seasonal sport taken up by the few who have been steered in track from prep and primary school days.You rarely see anyone participating in track as leisurely activity around the year,football on the other hand ,mawnig ,night,gully,rock stone, road ,rain or sun hot ball a roll.
Enthusiastic support is seen every weekend when their fav clubs play in the prem or from some forgein source.Support for our own is at its zenith in school boy competition,after that ,its a struggle.
Support from T&F comes out of our school system and follows through on the national level because we excell internationally.Dare say if it wasnt for Bolt ,we would not see this frenzy
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
I dont think he understnad the culture,HL seems to have left when he was a baby or before he was born.Track is a seasonal sport taken up by the few who have been steered in track from prep and primary school days.You rarely see anyone participating in track as leisurely activity around the year,football on the other hand ,mawnig ,night,gully,rock stone, road ,rain or sun hot ball a roll.
Enthusiastic support is seen every weekend when their fav clubs play in the prem or from some forgein source.Support for our own is at its zenith in school boy competition,after that ,its a struggle.
Support from T&F comes out of our school system and follows through on the national level because we excell internationally.Dare say if it wasnt for Bolt ,we would not see this frenzy
The man said track and field can ram stadium ... going on a treasure hunt about prep and primary school etc doesn't change the point he made.
plus the local calendar is littered with all comer & development meets...track & field has way bigger participation than football...it's not even close...
Really football has alot of streets & gullies,not to mention hack and chap competitions and leagues
Suh football has never rammed the stadium,what it says, is if both products are marketed properly both can full the stadium,its the 1st time the racers meet has filled the stadium,champs does it every year since i would say the 90s,because I remembered in the 80s it was not filled or overflowing.
Jamaica is in love with both and anyone trying to say otherwise dont know the culture!
Compared to this ,easy nuh Brick, a di 1st me and HL a see diss..lol,anyword on it being a part of the IAAF Grand Prix ?
Suh football has never rammed the stadium,what it says, is if both products are marketed properly both can full the stadium,its the 1st time the racers meet has filled the stadium,champs does it every year since i would say the 90s,because I remembered in the 80s it was not filled or overflowing.
Jamaica is in love with both and anyone trying to say otherwise dont know the culture!
Yuh searching X ... football not ramming the stadium as we see with T&F. No matter how you twist and turn ... HL has a point.
Mi ask yuh a question football nuh ram stadium when the product is properly packaged,FYI ,I doubt It rammed the stadium like when we qualified for WC 98 and I wasnt there,man a stand up pan bleachers wall!
That was almost 20 years ago,I have to disagree with you and H.L.
That is a damm shame.Given all what Bolt and the others did,that is a missed opourtunity for Jamaica.
Mi ask yuh a question football nuh ram stadium when the product is properly packaged,FYI ,I doubt It rammed the stadium like when we qualified for WC 98 and I wasnt their,man a stand up pan bleachers wall!
That was almost 20 years ago,I have to disagree with you and H.L.
Searching yuh say ..lol..you and H.L !
Bredren, I've been called a waggonist on this forum before and I just laff. During that 98 campaign we lost 6-0 to Mexico and picked up 3 in Honduras. The we had a Caribbean Cup game at the stadium against Bermuda ... and when we shouted in the stadium one could hear the echo the way the stadium was empty. Properly packaged? ok ..excuse. Still doesn't challenge what HL said.