• Claude: Golden Years Ahead

CLAUDE: GOLDEN YEARS AHEAD

Be the first reader to comment on this story
    BY STEVE NICHOLSON
    SNICHOLSON@DERBYTELEGRAPH.CO.UK

Billy Davies feels the best years are still ahead of Claude Davis and Derby County will reap the rewards.

The Jamaican defender has been granted a work permit and can now complete his £3m move from Sheffield United.

Fans are likely to see the 28-year-old in a Rams shirt for the first time in Saturday's pre-season game against Mansfield Town at Field Mill.

A deal for Davis was agreed last month but held up because he had not played in 75 per cent of Jamaica's international matches in the past two years - the criteria for securing a permit.

Davis yesterday won his appeal at a hearing in Sheffield attended by Rams boss Davies, chief executive Trevor Birch and football consultant Craig Brown.

Derby, backed by Sheffield United and the Jamaican Football Federation, provided documentation to support their case. They proved that one of the reasons Davis did not figure for Jamaica was injuries.

Davies is delighted with the decision and full of praise for the way the player has handled the situation.

The defender has been training with the squad but unable appear in friendly matches because of the work permit issue.

"Claude has got on with it and trained hard. We can now get him playing matches in his preparation for the new season," said Davies.

"He is a player of pace, power and strength. At 28, there is still much more to come from him. His best years are ahead.

"We are delighted to have him at the club. He has settled in brilliantly and looks very comfortable and happy around the squad.

"He will be an excellent addition."

Davis was relegated with Sheffield United last season.

He made 21 appearances for the Blades in the Premier League and Davies is confident the player will be better for the experience.

"Claude will have learned from last season and will be relishing going back to the Premier League," said Davies who worked with the player at Preston North End.

The Jamaican joined Preston in July 2003, initially on loan before making the move permanent in March 2004.

"Claude has grown in stature from when I first knew him and he has so much to offer," said Davies.

Gwaan Big Claude!
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran