Higgins: On a Jamaican academy

• Higgins: On a Jamaican academy

The idea of specialised training for gifted footballers in an academy-type structure must, however, be encouraged. I am not prepared to throw out the idea altogether, and what I would suggest is that we try to modify the concept a bit. I recommend to the JFF that rather than have a central, live-in academy, they should explore the possibility of parish academies. So in all 14 parishes, they would choose the best, say, 13-and-under footballers and have them come in for specialised training every weekend. They would also spend extra time there on holidays.

This programme could be associated with a school in each parish. So in St Elizabeth, STETHS could be the home base for the youngsters in that parish. Rusea's and Manchester High could also serve as home bases for others in Hanover and Manchester, respectively. The young footballers would do two training sessions every Saturday and would be exposed to the top coaches around. They would spend three seasons in this parish-type setting and the very best of them would gravitate to the national Under-17 squad.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/c...ball-academies

Well it fits our economic reality,in that the physical and academic structures of schools can be used,instead of sourcing money to build said structure,2nd it covers a larger pool in sourcing talent in parishes to identify the best (300) 3rd Top coaches around the world ? How would the JFF finance that ! Why not implement a certification program to churn out top coaches who would spread knowledge around the land ,not only every weekend as suggested by MR Higgins,but to other schools and clubs continously ?

We need to think practical in a cultural and economic sense.I like the suggestion of using the schools, I wonder where I have heard that before.The top coaches and how Mr Higgins suggest we use them,is a no no for me ,because of the 1st economic and 2nd cultural reality.Knowledge needs to be taught yes ! but also retained locally and increased.I dont see top coaches being invited in under paid circumstances doing this "wi bruk",again every weekend,

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Misunderstanding on my part ,Top coaches around ,not around the world ,this is even more of an issues,what would Hggins and the JFF classify as a top coach ?

Again a certified international standard of certification must be in that setup of top coaches,esp with youth.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Sir X,the JFF is really trying to defy gravity by building a house from the top downwards.
      I said it before,running down the coveted MNT WC,is by itself,cosmetic(even if we have 11 locals..).We have a faaar better chance distinguishing ourselves in the U17 WC,and with retention rigorously pursued,we enhance our chances of that team doing as well in the next age appropriate WC and beyond.
      The JFF annual budget should reflect the bulk of its resources being slated for the U17..

while unnuh a siddung and chat chat chat...private entrepreneurs have already started the ball rolling...specialised training every weekend? lol...let me know when you fellows serious bout the football ting

And it doesn't start at high school. A proper program starts at the very least at U8, but better at U6, where a very broad base is built of as many kids as possible to go into the system and later, funnels them into a pre-academy program and from there an academy program. Having 1 academy in a central location also makes no sense; 14 around the country does, but you'd have to have much larger local programs that provide the raw talent from the youngest age groups.

It makes no sense because there is no criteria for what is a Top coach in Jamaica, You Claffy ! could get the job !
            Last edited by Sir X; March 6, 2017, 10:06 AM.

It makes no sense because there is no criteria for what is a Top coach in Jamaica, You Claffy ! could get the job !
              And I would to a better job than any of them...and certainly better than you. Knowing you, you would tek the job then turn up to coach Trinidad true dem money "seduce" you. Klown!

As for what a "top coach" is, learned minds would assume that these are coaches that have a) proper credentials b) experience, and c) some track record of success at the levels contemplated. However, you don't need to be a "big name" coach to be excellent at teaching. There are guys I coach with now that are only E license coaches that are first rate. Barca's academy here in Ft. Lauderdale has some YOUTHS (18/19) as coaches who are simply following a curriculum and are able to demonstrate to the kids effectively. They are overseen by a higher level coach who provides guidance and more informative instruction.

You just ruled yourself out and this is the problem, assumptions ! What have been the credentials of our past top coaches in youth development been and we are talking local, not the Brazilians who were imported ?

I have no problem with coaches following a curriculum, granted it is from a certified source and not based on asspumtions !

In your defence giving the past standard, you could be better or just as bad...lol So even if we start as you suggested U 8, the certification/qualification process must have a credible standard.It could be U 14,16,20,23, to seniors if that is not in place , yuh a waste people time.

The best way for the JFF to do this is implement a certification program with international standards or on par with one of the top 5 footballing nations in the world, then the knowledge would be spread to prep,primary, secoundary,manning, dacosta, sunday school etcx , not just every weekend,but daily.
                Last edited by Sir X; March 6, 2017, 11:09 AM.

Sass, this is not the solution. I have said here before that ISSA's obligation is not to develop Jamaica's football program or our footballers. ISSA is responsible for administering high school sports in Jamaica. Yes, they could do better in their record keeping and tracking information on student athletes, but that is not a mandate. All schools in Jamaica need to improve on their record keeping. Have you ever tried to get a transcript from your high school? The JFF is responsible for football development in Jamaica and given Jamaica's financial constraints, it would be prudent for them to partner with the schools, through ISSA to implement a plan that would advance football in Jamaica. The schools already have the infrastructure and the kids. Of course, you can't leave out the clubs, but I have spoken on this already so I am not going to go over it.
                  Restructure the current coaching structure by separating the role of the Technical Director and the Head Coach of the senior men’s team. The role of the TD should be one of creating and implementing the football programs and national philosophy into the various age group teams. The JFF should give the parish associations a clear mandate of soliciting sponsors to implement various age group competitions. These competitions should culminate into one national competition at the respective age level. [/FONT][/SIZE]
                  Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

what infrastructure do the schools have? dusty football fields?

You just ruled yourself out and this is the problem, assumptions ! What have been the credentials of our past top coaches in youth development been and we are talking local, not the Brazilians who were imported ?

I have no problem with coaches following a curriculum, granted it is from a certified source and not based on asspumtions !

In your defence giving the past standard, you could be better or just as bad...lol So even if we start as you suggested U 8, the certification/qualification process must have a credible standard.It could be U 14,16,20,23, to seniors if that is not in place , yuh a waste people time.

The best way for the JFF to do this is implement a certification program with international standards or on par with one of the top 5 footballing nations in the world, then the knowledge would be spread to prep,primary, secoundary,manning, dacosta, sunday school etcx , not just every weekend,but daily.
                      You clearly are confused. "implement a certification program with international standards...then the knowledge would be spread to prep,primary, secoundary,manning, dacosta, sunday school etcx" This is just NOT how it is done. How is the knowledge "spread"? Through a virus? Klown, the recognized standard throughout europe is pretty much the same, and IT DOES START AT U8...

4v4 - from up to u8,
                      6v6 - from up to U11 (some do 7v7)
                      8v8 - U11 & U12(some do 9v9)
                      11v11 - U13 and above.

Each of those are certification levels. They are age appropriate, and they are systems that are LEARNED - they are not "SPREAD". The US is now switching from an A through F model to a module based program like the above where the licenses are based on the modules. At age 13, it then will go to D, C, B, and A. A licenses in the US are going to be almost impossible for the part time coach to get - they will be A-Pro and A-Youth.

All Jamaica has to do is to copy these programs and form a partnership with US based coaching schools like the NSCAA to get started. There is ZERO need to create anything as it is there already.

Secondly, a smart move would be simply recognize American, European and South American licenses initially. Later on, the system can be tweaked to form something specific to Jamaica...before we SPREAD our learning to the schools.

what infrastructure do the schools have? dusty football fields?
                        Yep...dusty fi reel

Eerily similar to the goat pasture @ Phoenix

As if it stops the Africans ,more like a requirement ( a field ) they couldnt care if it was dusty,hill,gully or stones ball affi role.

Brick again you seem to offer nothing but comedic value on the topic of development.To you its just impossible or a waste.I guess you are only here to cheer for City.

I am confused....Claffy yuh ave sense ( no pun intened ) ,you just called for the implementation of a certificaion program, not based on an assumption...hehe to be learned,which would mean the imparting of knowledge,you even reinforced my point of creditation of by suggesting that the JFF recognise American,European and South American liscences ,I called for top 5 or international standards, to top it off you end it with ...... before we SPREAD our learning to the schools. Echoing every blasted thing I called for

Yuh a real Claffy fi true.

Yep...dusty fi reel

Eerily similar to the goat pasture @ Phoenix
                              me see the phoenix kids a train pon turf...