• We Are The Champions

Argentina do it again!

Second-half goals from tournament top scorer and best player Sergio Aguero and deputised striker Mauro Zarate were enough to see off a courageous and impressive Czech fight in Canada 2007's grand Final on Sunday 22 July in Toronto. Marvellous Martin Fenin struck first for the Czechs, but it wasn't enough against a new-look Argentina, who won out 2-1 and celebrate their sixth U-20 title and second on the trot.

The contest started ominously with Lukas Kuban picking up a yellow card for a full-blooded challenge on new Argentine man Leonardo Sigali - who was playing his first minutes of the finals as deputy for suspended captain Matias Cahais.

The booking proved a hint of things to come. The referee handed out six cards (all yellow from 29 fouls) in the first 45 minutes as the underdog Czechs looked to show the five-time champions they were far from intimidated. The Europeans, who eliminated UEFA champions Spain and Austria en route to a surprise Final berth, weren't aimlessly throwing their ample weight around, either. For large chunks of the first period, they controlled possession and dictated the pattern of play with sharp, incisive counter attacks. They hit the post on nine minutes through Marek Suchy and looked in the mood throughout.

The Argentines looked dangerous in patches as the opening half wore on, with the outrageously gifted Maxi Moralez turning up virtually everywhere on the pitch in a roving, free role.

On the other side of the break, Moralez again looked the danger man for Argentina, having a great chance from close range cleared off the line in minute 51. The Czechs, unbowed, marched right up the other end just seconds later and Lubos Kalouda forced Argentina keeper Sergio Romero into a wonder save.

As if the pair of chances was a warning, shortly after a wild two-minute patch saw a two-goal surge that turned the game on its ear and sent both sets of supporters into hysterics. First, Czech striker and talisman Martin Fenin collected a ball, swivelled brilliantly at the edge of the box and fired a stunning goal inside the far post past Sergio Romero in minute 60. Then Sergio 'Kun' Aguero showed why he was voted Canada 2007's runaway best player and top scorer, ducking into space between two Czech defenders and slotting simply into the near post in the 62nd minute from an Ever Banega through ball.

The diminutive Moralez, bandaged after being bloodied in a clash of heads with Czech defender nearly twice his size, continued to look hot for Argentina. And he played a role in the match-winning goal, helping to feed Mauro Zarate - on in place of the injured Angel Di Maria - who hammered inside Radek Petr's near post from 20 yards out.

In the end the 2-1 result left the Czechs in tears and the Argentines - slightly better on the day - on cloud nine. Having gone farther than anyone expected at these finals, the Czechs go out with their heads held high and a silver medal in their pocket.

Source: FIFA.com

We??? Since when yuh tun Argentine?
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

We??? Since when yuh tun Argentine?
        Since I saw this

Always funny how "they" have to "cock out" dem behinds to simulate di real ting!

Heh heh!

Moderators, once they have on soccer gear the post is okay, right?

Always funny how "they" have to "cock out" dem behinds to simulate di real ting!

Heh heh!

Moderators, once they have on soccer gear the post is okay, right?
            If yuh move di post yuh love man