• HAPPY NEW YEAR! ...or is it for our football, HAPPY

NEW YEAR?

Our Jamaica football has been going through a period of change from the sport was introduced to our island but there has been an awaking that came into being in 1994. There have been blips in leadership at the JFF level since 1994 but it is 'truth' that our football since 1994 up until today was or shall be defined as "Captain Horace Burrell's era".

It could be considered that in his earlier years, 1994 - 2001, Captain Burrell initiated and presided over a period of rapid progress since then there have been noteworthy achievements - e.g. our ReggaeBoyz wins over top world teams on one off games, performances at FIFA recognised tournaments including a historic visit to a Gold Cup final match after defeating the USA, age-group teams, U-17 & U-20 visiting FIFA final tournaments and more - but after an expectation of continuous rapid gains and there can be passionate discussions on whether or not those expectations were realistic or unrealistic, it is clear we are presently 'threading water'...'marking time'. There is an anticipation on what comes next..."after the Burrell era", what next?

It is now, how we...how does Jamaica's football again move to rapid advancement? Who shall lead our football to World TOP 20 Status? ...and how does not occur?

Here is wishing all fanz of our football and visitors to the site A HAPPY NEW YEAR during which we shall all enjoy great progress in all areas of our Jamaica football!!!

Happy New Year to you too Karl'y.

Tenk yuh, sar!

Happy New Year Karl!

Your questions re the way forward have been answered right here on this forum by various of the posters; Don1 among others, has been detailed in one such road map. There are several. It would seem however, that until, and unless the Captain retires or is removed by election (or coup?) Jamaica's football will be destined to wallow in despondent seas of despair!

Jamaica does not have a history of playing good football.

.......1998 was unprecedented.

The current performance of the u17 is the measure of the senior squad.

It does not require much to sit behind a laptop and spout lots of cudda & shudda......

Happy New year King Karl, Peter, Paul et al.

We ago end up with Mugabe???

Using Burrell is a excuse, something that we always use. We have a cult call "follow the leader" Leaders come and go and we have to make them listen to us or go. We have to start the building blocks from community and stop blaming.

Right now my parishes of Portland and St.Mary has rising crime and they are blaming people who come in but you know what?? Blame ourselves. We need to set the example, keep the place clean, and do more community work and it will keep out criminals from setup roots, otherwise even when Burrell is gone we will be in the same position. The infighting in the JFF, the lack of development of the youths and the game dying is on all of us, not just Burrell.

Jamaica does not have a history of playing good football.

.......1998 was unprecedented.

The current performance of the u17 is the measure of the senior squad.

It does not require much to sit behind a laptop and spout lots of cudda & shudda......

Happy New year King Karl, Peter, Paul et al.
              HL, You are right about the arm chair "quarterbacks" but, while the road to 1998 was unprecedented, the trail was blazed, more or less, and then the wheels fell off; resting on laurels, then taking ONE ASPECT of that trail and magnifying it to become THE trail... by leadership not just blinkered but blinded... anyway, let me retreat to the comfort of my armchair and indulge in a new year drink...enough yapping from me ! All the best to you and yours!