Reggae Kids gice Bricktop another heart attack

• Reggae Kids gice Bricktop another heart attack

I believe Rene Simoes would have Kemmar Daley into the senior squad like what he did with a manning cup player named Ricardo Bibi Gardener.

Boyz shock Argentina!
    ... But Girlz mauled 11-1 by Canada at PanAm GamesKAYON RAYNOR, Observer senior staff reporter
    Thursday, July 19, 2007

RIO DE JANEIRO, Brazil - Kemmar Daley (3rd left) celebrates with teammates after scoring his team's second goal against Argentina yesterday. Jamaica won 2-0. (Photo: Bryan Cummings)
    RIO de Janeiro, Brazil - Jamaica's footballers gave mixed performances on yesterday's sixth day of the 15th Pan American Games as the Under-20 Reggae Boyz surprised Argentina's Under-17 squad 2-0, while the Girlz succumbed to an 11-1 mauling at the hands of Canada.
    Kemmar Daley (80th and 90th) notched a second-half brace - taking his tournament tally to three goals from two games - as Jamaica stunned the more fancied South Americans in their Group C clash at the Miecimo da Silva Sports Complex, taking the young Boyz to the brink of qualifying for the semi-final round.
    The Wendell Downswell-conditioned team will play their last group match against Haiti on Saturday.
    "I'm quite elated that we have done this for Jamaica and much credit must go to the youngster for the sort of tactical discipline that they displayed," Downswell told the Observer after the game, which was played in chilly and overcast conditions.
    RIO DE JANEIRO, Brazil - Argentina's Leandro Basterrechea (left) is held by Jamaica's Edward Campbell during their Pan American Games Men's football match yesterday. Jamaica won 2-0. (Photo: Bryan Cummings)
    Daley, whose two goals were spectacular, had netted Jamaica's winner against another South American side, Colombia, on Monday.
    "We identified their (Argentina's) weaknesses and made the tactical charges. I think we played splendidly in the second half and the two goals that we score were beautiful, so overall we are pleased with the performance," Downswell added.
    The former technical director said he was pleased with the mental toughest of this set of players, who absorbed quite a lot from the few video sessions they had.
    Jamaica was by far the more accurate team offensively, putting nine of their 14 shots on target, in contrast to the 2002 FIFA World Youth Champions, who only tested Jamaica custodian Duwayne Kerr on five occasions.
    "This is a crop of players that we (Jamaica) definitely have to invest in because they are ahead of their time, so just imagine another four years from now," an elated Downswell added.
    It was, however, a different story for the depleted Reggae Girlz, who trailed 7-0 at half-time before suffering an 11-1 hiding by world No 8-ranked Canada at the Zico Football Centre.
    Christine Sinclair scored a four-timer (17th, 24th, 39th, 46th); Katie Thorlakson (61st and 84th) netted a brace, while there was a goal each for Kara Lang(49th), Andrea Neil(73rd), Kristine Kiss (32nd), Any Vermeulen (42nd) and Rhian Wilkenson(41st).
    This is the Reggae Girlz's biggest defeat at the international level in recent times as prior to yesterday's clash, Canada's best result against the Jamaicans was 3-0 at last year's CONCACAF Women's Gold Cup in Los Angeles.
    So dominant (58 to 42 per cent ball possession) were the Canadians that Jamaica's second-string goalkeeper Petrina Campbell had to cope with 21 shots on her goal, much like shooting practice.
    Jamaica, who were on the defensive for the better part of the game, created four chances of which Venecia Reid converted one in the 60th minute after Canada had already scored eight times.
    "On the starting XI today (yesterday) we had two (players) with thigh injuries that were strapped up and could barely move; we had two players out there with flu, and we had one player on the bench," a visibly disappointed coach Edwards told the Observer.
    "It was a very pathetic situation for us and very difficult," added the man who replaced Vin Blane as head coach in April.
    Nicola Bell and Diana Hue missed the match due to suspensions; captain Hishamar Falconer and Jody McGreggor struggled with flu-like symptoms, while Omalyn Davis (knee), Christina Murray (knee) and No 1 goalkeeper Paula Jackson (wrist) were ruled out due to injuries.
    The result means that Canada have moved into the last four, along with Brazil - who crushed Ecuador 10-0 at the Joao Havalange Stadium yesterday.

Originally posted by Time View Post
    The Wendell Downswell-conditioned team
    I guess Wendell can't coach. He only conditions!

Originally posted by Time View Post
    "This is a crop of players that we (Jamaica) definitely have to invest in because they are ahead of their time, so just imagine another four years from now," an elated Downswell added.
    We have heard this before. When is somebody going to listen and do something about it?

The match against Haiti will be very interesting.

And who is going to be the first to diss our Boyz by noting that it was Argentina's U-17 side?

Yuh love call mi name fi look a hype ehh? Anyway yuh late like yuh period.