Offside question, Karl et al

I said that all three were in an offside position and attacked the ball...so you explain how that is not "interfering with play"? If you are in an offside position in the penalty area and the ball is played to you...you are automatically interfering with play...the defender is going to try and stop the ball from getting to you...ref in that situation does not beed to wait to see if the ball gets to the offside player...

how can you be in an offside position...attack the ball and not be intefering with play?
      The only argument I think the linesmen could advance was that the ball was played virtual on top of the defender's head...and the Arsenal players had no effect. The offside law is rubbish. Needs to be fixed.

The own goal resulted from that player being worried about a couple of opponents in an offside position.
        An arkward touch by the player sending the ball to his opponent would have rendered the opposing player onside, that is why it is important for the initial call to be made.
        Last edited by Rockman; November 6, 2016, 12:08 PM.

tell him again for me...if you are in an offside position and the ball is played directly to you you are automatically interfering in the play...how many times have we seen the ref blow the offside whistle on a free kick when the ball is still in the air?

The player that scored the own goal likely was concerned about those two offside opponents .We have seen calls in which goals were not given because a goalkeeper was preoccupied with manning an opponent in an offside position even though it was a different player that scored.

tell him again for me...if you are in an offside position and the ball is played directly to you you are automatically interfering in the play...how many times have we seen the ref blow the offside whistle on a free kick when the ball is still in the air?
              Brickhead, how many times have I said I agree the call should have been made...but my opinion doesn't matter - nor does yours. The ref saw it differently, and the way the law is written, that's his prerogative. Simple. Stop mek argument...what happen? You a try distract that your team lying 3rd in the table now - still having a laugh?

okay boss...no argument...league a gwaan sweet...as long as we put it together for the backend of the season...& i'm still having a laugh

Offside question answer:

<Former Premier League and international referee Webb said Sanchez had not committed an offence according to the current guidelines, so Mark Clattenburg and his assistant were right to allow the goal to stand.

"The way that the law is written means Alexis Sanchez did not commit any offside offence when Arsenal took the lead through Kevin Wimmer's own goal, even though he is in an offside position when the ball is played in by Mesut Ozil," Webb wrote in The Times.

"Sanchez doesn't make any sort of action that impacts upon Wimmer's ability to play the ball. The only person who maybe does that is Laurent Koscielny but the Arsenal defender is level -- he's not offside because Eric Dier, the Tottenham midfielder, is just behind him and is playing him onside.>

"Alexis Sanchez was clearly offside and interfering with an opponent and in my opinion it should have been disallowed," Hackett wrote. "Sanchez has made movement towards the ball sufficiently enough to unsettle Kevin Wimmer and, as a result, he's almost forced the defender to play the ball from Mesut Ozil's free kick. That movement towards the ball has put Sanchez in an offside position."
                    how selective of you

Why would I repeat nonsense ?

If Wimmer never head the ball Koscielney who jumped to meet the ball would have gotten an attempt.. how Sanchez who beyond Koscielny and who all now not even jump wid him short self come innah dis ?

<Mark Clattenburg was correct to allow Kevin Wimmer's own-goal to stand in the north-London derby, according to the organisation that oversees refereeing in the Premier League.>
                      Attached Files
                      Last edited by Muadib; November 7, 2016, 08:32 PM.

because he is running into the direct path of the ball...he is also directly between the goalkeeper & the ball...goalkeeper has to account for him too...how much more active n the play yuh want than that?

Ask the body that oversees refereeing in the Premier League.

When the ball is headed the goal keeper is on his line.. where he is supposed to be.

Your interpretation of events while comical is irrelevant.

Last edited by Muadib; November 8, 2016, 10:32 AM.

Offside?

I am a GUNNERS fanatic!
                            I must plead that I have watched a replay of the match but did not put my slow-motion into effect on that particular incident....however, if what you said is correct - OFFSIDE...no goal!

exactly...as the ball was kicked there were three offside players in the box...the ball was obviously being played to the box...clear offside...no "interpretation" needed...
                              Damn it, Bricktop!
                              I am agreeing with you! ...that in my days it would be "offside call".

The law references 'when the ball is played'! ...but now it is so confusing! You are now being taught not to raise the flag - call offside - when the ball is kicked but rather on the development of play. So I am assuming that the officials - assistant referee and referee - decided that no
                              *• interfering with play or
                              • interfering with an opponent
                              took place.

As Maudib describes it under consideration would be a GUNNERS' player
                              **• gaining an advantage by being in that position
                              ?

Fact is, my GUNNERS were by trying to get to the ball before any Spurs player were trying to gain an advantage. The damn laws, FIFA's explanation of same complicates 'things'. Here you go -
                              *** • “interfering with an opponent” means preventing an opponent from
                              playing or being able to play the ball by clearly obstructing the opponent’s
                              line of vision or challenging an opponent for the ball
                              • “gaining an advantage by being in that position” means playing a ball
                              i. that rebounds or is deflected to him off the goalpost, crossbar or an
                              opponent having been in an offside position
                              ii. that rebounds, is deflected or is played to him from a deliberate save
                              by an opponent having been in an offside position
                              ...and it is being taught to Ref's as above!

It was obvious that neither the ball or the Spurs' player was touched in any way - so what were my GUNNERS' players attempting?

Have to conclude on the situation as described by Maudib that it would be reasonable to expect the Spur's defender who put the ball in the goal to attack that ball because of the presence of my GUNNERS' attackers...and only on that count! It would also be unreasonable to expect the Spurs defender to leave that ball for my GUNNERS' attackers path to putting it in goal. Those conclusions suggest to me they interferred (influenced) with play - OFF-SIDE!

* + ** +*** FIFA's website "Laws of the Game".

yes karl...standing in an offside position while being in the direct path of the ball is automatically interfering with the play...