Burrell Married to Schafer for life

• Burrell Married to Schafer for life

Divorce settlement put youth development on hold.

In July of 2013 the Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) and a white-haired German called Winfried Schafer came together in holy matrimony. The JFF went all out to woo Schafer.

During the dating process the JFF did everything to convince Schafer that the two could co exist, and if not live happily ever after, at least they would be in blissful union for a while. Schafer himself was 'involved' at the time. He was the then Thailand coach. He had started that relationship in June 2011. That marriage started well, but within two years, he was not averse to dating other potential suitors.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/c...happy-marriage

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I was wondering why I didnt hear his usual sack em speech,STINK UP DI WHOLE PLACE !

Good fi im.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I don't understand exactly why the performance got so poor. It is easy to blame the coach and we agree the talent is there. So what happened?

Speculation:
        * Motivation
        *Concacaf adversaries got better.

I said it years ago,Jamaica needs to look at what Panama and C.rica is doing in terms of development,they don't have any artificial turf,probably has the same ratio of dust bowl and hill and gully fields that we have,so why is their standards of play beating ours? Or any 40$ to call upon.

We do a disservice to ourselves and competitors when we put it all on squad value, doesn't equal net spend or money spent.Squad value comes from mitigating factors that give you consistent results,cc: Leicester ,Panama,C.Rica and yes Haiti.

Not attaining that given a positive net spend,money spent ,means certain devaluation,HI ,BR and Burrell.

Did I miss anyone out Pauly ?

Jamaica bruk and can't afford to get the team together often enuff to play good practice matches.

Burrell Bruk wi/Mismanagement he went for the positive net spend.

* 500K a year german coach
            * Import English Prem players worth $ 4 mill pounds a piece , pay them to retain their services .
            *Bottom of the zone against teams who arent worth in total the most expensive reggae boy.

After WC 98 we have been saying we can import 40$ from better leagues with a higher market value to beat Bush league players in concacaf, history has shown we qualified for our only WC with a majority of players coming from our bush league.

WI NUH MUSS BRUK ? Wi coulda get more outta less.

I think they never recovered from the Powell recall. I would hate to make it sound like I am trying to use young Powell as a scape goat, but the JFF handled that whole situation poorly and team unity/discipline seem to go downhill after that.

Look man 1 yuh a ear mi one degge,degge ,40 player worth all a Haiti and Panama put together pan paper,We finished at the bottom of the zone.

Our positive net spend of recruiting these 40s from post WC 98 have brought us to where we are,there is a theory squad value should equal success.I tend to disagree and argue that other mitigating factors are at play,to the point where you can get more out of a lesser squad in value.

Right Pauly !

Look man 1 yuh a ear mi one degge,degge ,40 player worth all a Haiti and Panama put together pan paper,We finished at the bottom of the zone.

Our positive net spend of recruiting these 40s from post WC 98 have brought us to where we are,there is a theory squad value should equal success.I tend to disagree and argue that other mitigating factors are at play,to the point where you can get more out of a lesser squad in value.

Right Pauly !
                  Unfortunately, it is patently obvious you've never understood Paul's point of view and you continue to blatantly misrepresent what he has advanced with respect to squad value. You really should be put in the corner with one of those hats on your head; archaic I know, but I cannot believe that you STILL have NOT understood what he says.

Tap lie man.

No! you fi tap lie... if you don't understand his point, just say so... you conveniently omit (for whatever reason I don't know) the key words in what he says about squad value.

But anyhow, guh enjoy yuh team derby victory... guh paint de town blue!

You understand this ?

The NET SPEND comes into play because it affects #1 and #2 above. If the manager inherits a squad worth $100m and goes out and buys $50m worth of players, then he has a +$50m net spend and a squad value of $150m (mitigating factors such as player depreciation/appreciation aside). If he goes out and buys $50m worth of players, and sells $50m worth of players, his squad value has not changed.

Now, if his competition starts at $100m and goes out and buys $150m to give them a squad value of $250m, the FACTS show that his competition will probably finish higher up in the table AND on a year over year basis, (if that gap remains), be more likely to challenge for the top spots in the table than our manager in question who is still at $100m in squad value (or even if he's at $150m in squad value).

Squad value therefore, can only be INCREASED with a POSITIVE net spend

You understand this ?

The NET SPEND comes into play because it affects #1 and #2 above. If the manager inherits a squad worth $100m and goes out and buys $50m worth of players, then he has a +$50m net spend and a squad value of $150m (mitigating factors such as player depreciation/appreciation aside). If he goes out and buys $50m worth of players, and sells $50m worth of players, his squad value has not changed.

Now, if his competition starts at $100m and goes out and buys $150m to give them a squad value of $250m, the FACTS show that his competition will probably finish higher up in the table AND on a year over year basis, (if that gap remains), be more likely to challenge for the top spots in the table than our manager in question who is still at $100m in squad value (or even if he's at $150m in squad value).

If you're trying to make a point I'm not sure what it is, but it is clear that you only read with subjective eyes.

You understand dat whe mi highlight? Until and unless the doing "more with less" becomes the norm, it's an outlier position. Empirical evidence backs up the position; challenging on a year over year basis, i.e. consistently.

Nobody say that it cannot change, or that a team e.g. Leicester can't buck a 5000-1 odds...but until Leicester repeats, or is in top four, and is so consistently over the next few years, which would be fantastic!! they will have been a flash in the pan!

The facts still have not changed with respect to a correlation between consistently challenging and squad value... you should know, the pundits pick your team MChity, and your cross town rivals BoyU to vie for the two top spots... the highest combined squad value was on display today in your derby!

This is the issue Petey,he said it!

Consistently challenging for Prem titles based on net spend is another issue that we can debate in another thread.

Do you understand that there is a difference between "acquisition cost" and "market value"??

You don't mix and match the two!

Which one do you think "they" are referring to when they speak about "squad value"??