Opportunity beckons! - Colour

Done dat long time,color copy and paste ,wha deh pan yah fi years,nothing new.Most of color suggestion nuh practical.

Why build an artificial turf when he knows the JFF won't do it because they are broke ,the biggest expense they have done along that line is planting a shovel in the ground in port more.

He doesn't even mention the source of his material to work with I.e school youth.Makes you wonder,instead he advocates again this building national academy.Again I don't see a cultural paradigm ,so the impression is a European model ,finances,economics,money = Not Practical !

The highlight was the educational piece and here he gives a plan on how to do it ,if he could expound on why because he would be forced to admit the increase in certified coaches would be going into schools which he doesn't mention and the RSPL.

Of note he doesn't mention the standard of certified coaches he wishes to see developed.
    Last edited by Sir X; September 8, 2016, 09:44 AM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Before we unleash our anger and seek to quench our thirst for success with blames, counter blames and counter counter blames let us resolve to fix what is an all too obvious failed, failing and misaligned football infrastructure. Cost it what it will, we must endeavor to take advantage of this wonderful opportunity to right our wrongs.

The next world cup campaign is a full 4 years away, the 2022 World Cup, our next possibility is six years away. Digicel’s commitment is set to run until 2020, Romai’s through to 2019, other stellar sponsors such as Courts, WATA, Stewarts Auto et al may very well remain with the JFF even if at reduced levels of sponsorship. That being as it is the timing couldn’t be better for all of us in football to coalesce our intelligence, passions, efforts and various resources to a football vision that CAN reap endless benefits. I will concede that results cannot be guaranteed in sports but I am emboldened by the success stories of Germany, Belgium, Spain, Panama, Costa Rica and Honduras who have all committed themselves to a national football vision. By and large all of these countries have used failure at one point or another to galvanize, renew and reestablish themselves with varying degrees of success.

https://afreekanborn.wordpress.com/2...unity-beckons/
      My take-away is Colour has given up on the present football administrators - those in the schools, the clubs, the various arms of the JFF - CONFEDERATIONS, PARISHES, etc. - and the very leaders of the JFF. He is now appealing to the GOJ.

Is that realistic?
      Where within the government should a Moses be found?

At this stage could a club and a school join together to write, work at and present findings on path to follow? - *As with the advent of Kingston College's Trevor "Teeps" Parchment - Ignore he was a product of Munro Had to get that in there! - revolutionary approach to building a Track(& Field) powerhouse in the '60s that transformed our Track athletics program(s) into the world beating phenomenal powerhouse it is today...so it could be done for football!

btw - TEEP's vision bore fruit almost immediately.
      Two points or facts:
      - Others schools - boys and girls aped Teeps' model.
      - Immediately "Billy" Miller and others 'stepped to join the world's top athletes.
      It there were doubts - Great examples were Errol Stewart and Donald Quarrie as high school students running senior world-class times.
      ...and Ben Francis of Vere Technical High School quickly 'jumping' on Teeps train and forming = creating the Vere Technical High girls track dynasty from which the great Merlene Ottey emerged.

*Arguments could be made the track revolution had its origin at an earlier date...but there is no running away from the fact that "Teeps" organisation of the T&F program at KC kick started a new phase.

Amazing that out of such imitation programs whereon a young Glen Mills started hanging around the preparation at Camperdown and later young Francis doing the same at Wolmers would eventually lead to MVP then Racers and now other 'track' clubs(?)/businesses. There is no arguing with the present results...AMAZING!

Where is our football Moses?

Both of you are on the right track and echoing my thoughts. For years we've been hearing the same mumbo-jumbo about Jamaica needing good fields as a prerequisite to move our football forward and I keep looking east towards Africa and ask the question, "Why do the Africans do so well on the international stage with their extremely limited resources?" A quick and less expensive way to improve our football is to lengthen the schoolboy football season, place more qualified coaches in the schools and improve the existing fields at these schools. Schoolboy football is not the answer to Jamaica's football development but by implementing these three things, we will see an immediate improvement to the quality of footballers available for national selection.

‘We first saw Eric in 2009 in Abidjan. He was playing in this small club with barely any infrastructure. The fields were pitches only by name and conditions were really poor. It was barely a team. The coach was just a guy from the area who had a few training tops and a ball. No proper goals, just a square or a muddy ground.

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/foo...#ixzz4Jg4myree
        Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I'm no KC expert and I'm not familiar with Parchment BUT...

*As with the advent of Kingston College's Trevor "Teeps" Parchment - Ignore he was a product of Munro Had to get that in there! - revolutionary approach to building a Track(& Field) powerhouse in the '60s that transformed our Track athletics program(s) into the world beating phenomenal powerhouse it is today...so it could be done for football!

btw - TEEP's vision bore fruit almost immediately.
          Two points or facts:
          - Others schools - boys and girls aped Teeps' model.
          - Immediately "Billy" Miller and others 'stepped to join the world's top athletes.
          The person most responsible.. as far as I know... for KC's track success from the 1950s thru 1960s and beyond was named Foggy Burrowes

Don't wanna burst your Munro bubble...but mebbe we need a KC man's take on this

The person most responsible.. as far as I know... for KC's track success from the 1950s thru 1960s and beyond was named Foggy Burrowes

Don't wanna burst your Munro bubble...but mebbe we need a KC man's take on this
            Foggy Burrowers was a tremendous worker. Met him for the 1st time when he visited Western Champs held at Manning's in 1961 or was it 1962. He along with Herb McKenley and Calabar came down to watch the 1st 4x4 schoolboys race with the aim of later making a determination on whether or not it should be introduced at Champs. I was the starting runner for Manning's - (Truth is the 1st 3 legs were 352 yards. The track was a 352 yards one. Only the final leg was run over 440 yards). Foggy and Errol "Chips" Townsend then published a Track & Field magazine/sports magazine named "Sportslife". Incidentally he selected me as one of the favorites at 220 yards one year. Less said about my performance over the 220 yards that year is better left alone. I had advanced to the 220 yards semi the year before. - I continued to meet Foggy and discuss track for a number of years after that Manning's meeting.

Foggy and others may or may not have started to assist at KC, perhaps as many of us did while still 'at school' - matters not the school as often teaching the sports was in a huge part the youngsters aping the older pupils and even being 'coached' by the older pupils - but it was "Teeps" who brought "circuit training" from Munro to KC and the organisation of "specialist coaches" as he created the then new leadership and management style now seen in all top achieving sports schools.

"Teeps" orchestrated and managed the first KC win of that 14 year dominance. "Teeps" started it all. He brought the MC DunLevy - http://www.gresleyfc.com/players/?id=631 - no nonsense approach that eventually led to a falling out and ouster from KC. The parting was acrimonious.

In those days no self-respecting Headmaster would allow anyone to overstep bounds and undermine or subvert the heads of department or a teacher's authority. "Teeps" was the head of the physical education department and anything to do with sports was under his total control. Some KCOBs did not wish it that way. Even today some members of the KCOBA wish to 'run di school'.

The KCOBs would love to give Foggy that high honour of starting 'the revolution' but before Foggy there was "Teeps". That is fact!

I do not know if the following will give you a measure of Trevor "Teeps" Parchment's role in the rise of the KC dynasty but I do hope it does.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/s...ngston-college

http://kctimes.org/articles.aspx?art...60&kcedtn=1021

Foggy Burrowers was a tremendous worker. Met him for the 1st time when he visited Western Champs held at Manning's in 1961 or was it 1962. He along with Herb McKenley and Calabar came down to watch the 1st 4x4 schoolboys race with the aim of later making a determination on whether or not it should be introduced at Champs. I was the starting runner for Manning's - (Truth is the 1st 3 legs were 352 yards. The track was a 352 yards one. Only the final leg was run over 440 yards). Foggy and Errol "Chips" Townsend then published a Track & Field magazine/sports magazine named "Sportslife". Incidentally he selected me as one of the favorites at 220 yards one year. Less said about my performance over the 220 yards that year is better left alone. I had advanced to the 220 yards semi the year before. - I continued to meet Foggy and discuss track for a number of years after that Manning's meeting.
              Foggy came to JC and took over the (then laughable) track program in the mid 1970s. Foggy took over from a part time bodybuilder who was infamous for destroying our athletes. The longer they were under his tutelage...the worse they performed. But no one really cared

Foggy started the process of introducing modern prep work for track & field....which JC never had or even cared about at the time. JC was re-educated via him about track & field

He also had a mini private club there...training mainly female Olympians incl Rosie Allwood & Helen-----? (forget the last name but she was JA's best female 400m runner at the time)

Despite the JC/KC hostility then (more from the KC side I hear )...he was very cool and totally accepted as a KC man.
              Re Laurie Foster who wrote the Gleaner article you cite below...he was a contributing journalist (along with the late great Jimmy Carnegie, Hubert Lawrence and others) circa 1992-97 on our own great Penn Relays-focused magazine "Trackstars"
              Foggy and others may or may not have started to assist at KC, perhaps as many of us did while still 'at school' - matters not the school as often teaching the sports was in a huge part the youngsters aping the older pupils and even being 'coached' by the older pupils - but it was "Teeps" who brought "circuit training" from Munro to KC and the organisation of "specialist coaches" as he created the then new leadership and management style now seen in all top achieving sports schools.
              As a 100% True Blue man I have no pony in this KC race BUT....To say "Foggy and others may or may not have started to assist at KC" absolutely diminishes what is documented as his seminal role in KC's track and other sporting success. It's a BIG diss imo. Foggy was GREAT

You need to get some input on this from the KC crowd perhaps...not so much moi
              "Teeps" orchestrated and managed the first KC win of that 14 year dominance. "Teeps" started it all. He brought the MC DunLevy - http://www.gresleyfc.com/players/?id=631 - no nonsense approach that eventually led to a falling out and ouster from KC. The parting was acrimonious.

In those days no self-respecting Headmaster would allow anyone to overstep bounds and undermine or subvert the heads of department or a teacher's authority. "Teeps" was the head of the physical education department and anything to do with sports was under his total control. Some KCOBs did not wish it that way. Even today some members of the KCOBA wish to 'run di school'.

The KCOBs would love to give Foggy that high honour of starting 'the revolution' but before Foggy there was "Teeps". That is fact!
              Well betta yuh tek up dem yah story wid di KC man dem. Is dem wudda need convincing

I do not know if the following will give you a measure of Trevor "Teeps" Parchment's role in the rise of the KC dynasty but I do hope it does.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/s...ngston-college

http://kctimes.org/articles.aspx?art...60&kcedtn=1021
              Unfortunately the articles cited don't support your overall thesis. Where this Parchment fellow is mentioned his role is nowhere as impactful as you claim. Mind you I'm not claiming what you say is NOT true...but the evidence you've presented is far from persuasive

This is the most substantial piece mentioning him from those articles:

Synergy and Men of Vision:
              Men like Messrs. Howard Aris, Foggy Burrowes, Donovan Davis, `Teddy’ McCook and `Chappy’ McCook his brother, George Thompson, `Long John’ Vernon always equipped with Star in back-pocket and toothpick in mouth, and `Mollo’ Walker and with Mr. G working the back-stage, really worked as a unit. They had a collective vision of where they wanted to take KC in track & field.

Later on Mr. Trevor Parchment did a reasonable job as well. He coached the three major sports and introduced some new ones such as gymnastics and field hockey. But, he used criteria beyond on-field performance to select his teams. This philosophy didn’t always set well with some. Nor was it well understood by many.
              Last edited by Don1; September 12, 2016, 03:20 PM.

As man of the Purple persuasion all I can say is anyone who is not aware of Mr Foggy Borrows' original and seminal role in the origination of KC track dominance is not cognizant of the 'facts' concerning the history of KC. Parchment made a greater impact on football training methods than track. In track it was Mr. Foggy Borrows (may he RIP) and the great Mr Goldsmith "Mr. G" who was in charge of weight training. I have spoken to the elders and Karl please bite your tongue and ask for forgiveness.
                Furthermore, apart from Mosiah who of note came out of Munro with any track credentials? Bright.

Foggy came to JC and took over the (then laughable) track program in the mid 1970s. Foggy took over from a part time bodybuilder who was infamous for destroying our athletes. The longer they were under his tutelage...the worse they performed. But no one really cared

Foggy started the process of introducing modern prep work for track & field....which JC never had or even cared about at the time. JC was re-educated via him about track & field

He also had a mini private club there...training mainly female Olympians incl Rosie Allwood & Helen-----? (forget the last name but she was JA's best female 400m runner at the time)
                  There is no dispute on whether or not Foggy was a great 'Trackman'. The dispute is whether or not Foggy was the one who kick-started that KC dynasty. ...and it is that context, I made mention of when he may or may not have started to provide assistance to KC.

Despite the JC/KC hostility then (more from the KC side I hear )...he was very cool and totally accepted as a KC man.
                  Re Laurie Foster who wrote the Gleaner article you cite below...he was a contributing journalist (along with the late great Jimmy Carnegie, Hubert Lawrence and others) circa 1992-97 on our own great Penn Relays-focused magazine "Trackstars"

As a 100% True Blue man I have no pony in this KC race BUT....To say "Foggy and others may or may not have started to assist at KC" absolutely diminishes what is documented as his seminal role in KC's track and other sporting success. It's a BIG diss imo. Foggy was GREAT

You need to get some input on this from the KC crowd perhaps...not so much moi

Well betta yuh tek up dem yah story wid di KC man dem. Is dem wudda need convincing

Unfortunately the articles cited don't support your overall thesis. Where this Parchment fellow is mentioned his role is nowhere as impactful as you claim. Mind you I'm not claiming what you say is NOT true...but the evidence you've presented is far from persuasive

This is the most substantial piece mentioning him from those articles:
                  I was not presenting a thesis - I lived those years. I was 'wrapped' in sports...Track and Football for years and years...from pretender at the games to 'official', teacher and coach of the sports.

Many of the athletes mentioned - it appears all - were around in Foggy's era. Certainly I can, on a personal level, vouch for Tony Keys - (We ran the same leg of the 4 x 1 at a meet at KC. He naturally for KC. ...me, Munro!) -, Neville "Sam" Oxford and I became friends later in life, Alex McDonald - A KC Track Athletics Captain: We were on the track together (4x4) and later on the road together as Medical Representatives...besides in some of those '60s years I worked as 'official' at Champs so I was around to see and hear for myself some of the going-ons.

I would never underplay Foggy's role in our (Jamaica) Track and Field development. I know he was very, very important to KC's track and field. ...but I see him more in the role of Younger Goldsmith, George Thompson, Freddie Green (who was one of Foggy's mentors)...very, very important but not the guy who laid the ground. That laying of the ground was "Teeps". Would not argue if some claimed - rightly - that "Teeps" followed up with new type management and organisation others like Freddie Green. Hell...Freddie coached KC at Football while still at school. He was put in charge of the football team's preparation and led them to Manning Cup. He also had great input in the Sunlight team and represented KC at Track while at school - Could be termed a Champs star -...and was big on organisation of track when he returned from England and went back to KC as teacher. Damn that work at KC propelled Freddie to President of the JAAAs (I may be wrong on this - the first KC head of the JAAA. I remember he was followed by, not in succession on names - Foggy Burrowers, Ray Harvey, Teddy McCook, Howard Aris...even 'Bellum" = Carl Belnavis may have once been JAAA head.)

I do not think I have read a better tribute to Foggy than the following - http://kcobausa.org/2016/02/remember...errol-g-lecky/
                  Last edited by Karl; September 12, 2016, 04:45 PM.

Ok...cool. Glad you clarified that Foggy issue

I saw your main thesis as Parchment being the prime factor re KC's track success...you explicitly indicated this or something akin to it. This may be true...I don't know. KC sources may have something to say on it.

I know you mean well with your opinions and memories of this era....but I still haven't seen any compelling evidence of that thesis of yours

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
                      As man of the Purple persuasion all I can say is anyone who is not aware of Mr Foggy Borrows' original and seminal role in the origination of KC track dominance is not cognizant of the 'facts' concerning the history of KC. Parchment made a greater impact on football training methods than track. In track it was Mr. Foggy Borrows (may he RIP) and the great Mr Goldsmith "Mr. G" who was in charge of weight training. I have spoken to the elders and Karl please bite your tongue and ask for forgiveness.
                      Furthermore, apart from Mosiah who of note came out of Munro with any track credentials? Bright.
                      LOL!!