JFF!!!.......You have another opportunity to

True, but where did she "come from" before that?
    har modda's "private" club???

you're welcome

My point is a national academy thought process is flawed. National federation can have Centre of excellence but they will never be able to scout adopt and develop players the way a club can. A 8 year old boy living in hampden Trelawny is not going to move to some academy God knows where even if he was miraculously identified. The idea is for every senior club to be mandated with an elite pathway. You must have a u 12 U14 u16 and U18 team, along with:
        Certified coaches
        Board of directors
        Insurance
        Training to game ratio.

LOL! Yuh tink ah Canada dis??

Jamaica is tiny and di people dem fass. Any likkle yute whe can play ball cyaan hide even if im try

Depending on our backward clubs only to develop players is not sensible policy. A national development program INCLUDING an academy is definitely the way to go. It's key to building a national style and philosophy of football.

People mek dis likkle development issue look like is nuclear physics

The opportunity was...is...and will always be present!

It is amazing that it cannot be seen that even if there are preferences on where main emphasis should be placed...national academies, club academies or both club and national academies or schools or all of the foregoing of national academies + club academies + schools that inclusion of the schools would not distract or detract or divert or deter but could only add pluses to target of moving Jamaica's football to first world status = TOP OF THE WORLD!

Aside: There is no secret that I believe the schools should be the foundation on which all other plans must be built.

Let me repeat - The schools present billions of dollars in already developed infrastructure + a captive students population (of potential fans, administrators and players) + teachers grounded in 'how to teach'. Missing is football subject knowledge!

From a marketing viewpoint; Indoctrinate from an early age and the participants...fans, administrators, investors, players...form captive markets!

In my world by-passing the schools is folly!
            Last edited by Karl; September 8, 2016, 05:08 PM.

The idea,will always be an idea for a alooooooong time,clubs don't have the finances to implement an elite pathway for youth,they do what the JFF does grab the best talent from schools.

We already have U 13,16 and 18 programs in high schools.Why don't we mandate that certified coaches of a UEFA A & B standard practice in that setting,that is the source of the JFF talents,same with RSPL.

An academy makes sense in that it fits our cultural paradigm.How about the JFF scouting the top talent in that school pool and let them compete with both Dacosta cup and Manning Cup ,along with KaSafa league.Under the guidance of certified coaches of a UEFA A or B standard of course.

Upgrading coaching is the key,we get lost on the term Academy because it elicits an European model instinctively,its mental! But I think it's healthy for all of us to insert cultural when we use the word.

Our economic conditions demands it.One thing people need to get out of their head is clubs setting up youth academies.Its possible but being practical and looking at the economy,mi nuh seeit.

The most practical to me is an educational program to pump out UEFA A & B coaches.Put them in the environment where we source talent ( the schools). Get the best of that crop in a hybrid program of development.Divide the hybrid best in youth ages,U13 U 16 and 18.

Tweak it how you want.The school system is the foundation,nucleus for anything to move forward.
              Last edited by Sir X; September 8, 2016, 09:34 AM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Agreed a million % Pops.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

FYI - Roger Thomas is no longer running his own academy - he is now the DOC at Parkland. He is a football genius, but has no personality...he frequently alienates parents without realising it. Very unusual and mystic football brain with a terrific understanding of "development".

Originally posted by USAF View Post
                    COACH???.......You FIRST need properly developed players to COACH. Players who know how to play soccer at a HIGH level........My concern, right now, is NOT with who is hired to COACH the ReggaeBoyz, rather it's with getting QUALIFIED & EXPERIENCED people to develop QUALITY youth players.

Those I have listed FOCUS on DEVELOPING/TEACHING youth players how to properly play the game, and almost all ALSO help to develop/teach those who are interested in effectively teaching the game
                    On the money!

Fix the quality of teaching - Youth through club football and our national TEAMs will be, as in Track, among the best in the world - march to the TOP OF THE WORLD!

Originally posted by OJ View Post
                      What is the name of the Jaaa (track) academy that Elaine Thompson game from?
                      Primary school in the hills of Manchester...through to her secondary high school...through to Utech...through to MVP! It must be a cradle to... way!

MVP & Racers are finishing schools!
                      ...basic concepts needing technical refinement is the way to go. We have to understand that in Jamaica more potential top athletes go by the wayside than are developed. ...so it must be in football with same emphasis on all the kids being exposed to basic concepts. The situation where all our kids leave the game thinking 'crap' is 'good football' perpetuates and reinforces our poor way of playing football as outcome. It is simple: the institutions are teaching 'crap' and inculcating same...embedding in the consciousness as 'good football'. We have to stop that crap!

Look how long it has taken Colour to recognise that sensible football - 'one touch'...dismiss the idea of brukin as first option and instill same as last option...understanding that the easiest way to 'get by an opponent' is, 'come wid yuh fren' = one-two/pass around (and move, move and pass around) the opponent...inculcate/doing on the field of play 'the sensible thing'...something being preached here from '19 ow lang'! ...and he turns to the style of Germany, Spain...the poster children of playing sensible football to the 'nth degree'.

The stats support playing sensible getting most wins! Not that loses cannot occur but possibility of/probability of wins 'go through the roof'!

My question was tongue in cheek, but I confess I didn't know her background so there was some sincerity in it (the question). You are correct (not that I doubted you) that she did come from MVP...

That's really my argument against the notion that a national academy is the solution. It is part of it but many disperse academies across the island tied to elite club is the way to go. And it is not as expensive or elaborate as one may think. I see a local academy here who has had players within the top 15 of the mls draft and in all over Europe and they don't even own s table. They simply align themselves with good playing and development philosophy, good coaches and rent a field 5 days a week. Four sessions to one game and the occasional showcase

It is amazing that it cannot be seen that even if there are preferences on where main emphasis should be placed...national academies, club academies or both club and national academies or schools or all of the foregoing of national academies + club academies + schools that inclusion of the schools would not distract or detract or divert or deter but could only add pluses to target of moving Jamaica's football to first world status = TOP OF THE WORLD!

Aside: There is no secret that I believe the schools should be the foundation on which all other plans must be built.

Let me repeat - The schools present billions of dollars in already developed infrastructure + a captive students population (of potential fans, administrators and players) + teachers grounded in 'how to teach'. Missing is football subject knowledge!

From a marketing viewpoint; Indoctrinate from an early age and the participants...fans, administrators, investors, players...form captive markets!

In my world by-passing the schools is folly!
                            That's really my argument against the notion that a national academy is the solution. It is part of it but many disperse academies across the island tied to elite club is the way to go. And it is not as expensive or elaborate as one may think. I see a local academy here who has had players within the top 15 of the mls draft and in all over Europe and they don't even own s table. They simply align themselves with good playing and development philosophy, good coaches and rent a field 5 days a week. Four sessions to one game and the occasional showcase
                            Agreed!

well if you can do it in canada which is geographically the second biggest land mast in the world , under populated and 4 warm months why cant you do in Jamaica......

I could be wrong but it seems to me that Canada has few if any lessons for Jamaica to follow. The environment is totally different from Yard ....and their football is mediocre

That doesn't portend a model we should pay much attention to .....esp since its success factor is low to barely significant