<DIV>Wi just cyaan seem to get the breaks, can we? And we not asking for any pity. Teofore was clearly onside when the shot was taken and the goal should have stood.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>That said, we didn't look good. The support on the ball was lacking. The movement was not there. Too much dribbling...hrmph. I could go on.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>And when you see our farin-contract ballers doing the same nonsense as the local ones, yuh really have to wonder.</DIV>
Teofore's goal was legit!
RE: Teofore's goal was legit!
Hortikal (9/5/2006)The answer is coaching, and until we get a competent coach, we will continue to wonder.
What weight do you give to the coach considering the following:
Nevertheless, Brown had his first training session yesterday - (August 29) - at Boys' Town's Collie Smith Drive home ground, with 15 squad members present.
http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/articles.aspx?id=1014
Source: www.reggaeboyzsc.com
&
http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/articles...amp;category=1
&
The Boyz had their first and only training session yesterday afternoon in chilly temperatures of approximately 10 degrees Celsius - and similar conditions are expected for today.
During Brown's one-hour work-out...
http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/articles...amp;category=1
---> Perhaps you have never coached but what do you think can be achieved in 3 hours of coaching and 90 minutes of playing together for the first time? How much of the performance of this largerly NPL "grabbed group" should be put at the foot of Boxhill's JFF and the club coaches?
My take is regardless of TEAM preformance being 'good' or 'bad' or somewhereon the scale of rating, CB's only input would be how well he motivated the players to 'try'.
It would be interesting to know from those who saw the match - I was notfortunate to be numbered among those who have seen the match. -how they would rate the effort of individual members of the team and the effot of the TEAM unit?
Aside: As usual CB finds himself being given 'basket fi carri watah'!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
<DIV>Coach or no coach, good coach or bad, what I'm wondering about is why the basics of football just don't seem to be a part of our players' repertoire. Hell, our RBSC picnic side (at least the one I played on ) showed better off the ball movement than these players. You look at Canada - they pass they move, they SUPPORT. Sometimes I think we take this formation thing too seriously. Our players never seem to want to "lose their shape", not understanding that the shape can be maintained if they develop an understanding of covering and filling gaps. Matters not where someone might run to, the shape does not have to be breached. That there seems to be a crime worse dan badmind, to rahtid! (Can I say "rahtid"?)</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>So, because of this, our passes are forced, giving our players and the opponents a 50-50 chance at the ball. HRMPH! Frustrating!</DIV>
Aight, mek me see wha mi can fi u in regards to player ratings. Now these are just my opinions(obviously).
Shawn Sawyers-6/10: Made a silly mistake by running off his line that late. Didn't have to because two defenders were on the attacker so he should've stayed in to protect the goal. He made up for that blunder by making somegreat saves. Better than Ricketts IMO.
Jermaine Taylor-4/10: He wasn't very awful defending but the reason I give him that score is because he was constantly blasting the ball up the field, giving away possession when easy passes were available.
Damion Stewart-5-10: Had an average game. It's still evident that he does not know how to lead a defensive unit as he lacks communication. Made some great tackles, but he needs to be guided by sum1 like a Goodisonon the field(not saying we should bring him back, just a comparison i'm making).
Garfield Reid-4/10: If he wantsa contract abroad, he's got to play better than he did yesterday. Wasn't impressive IMO. He saw a lot of the ball but did nothing with it.
Fabian Davis-5/10: Played well in spurtsbut wasn'tconsistent. Combined failry well with other players but as captain, he didn't really look in command.
Khari Stephenson-3/10: Honestly, if he didn't take that horrible shot that flew way up into the skies, I wouldn't have realised he was on the field. Was absent. Can't recall anything he did other than take that shot.
Oniel Thompson-7/10: For all the ppl that don't believe NPL has quality, he shut them up. He played a very good game. Was all over the field, breaking up tackles and also creating play. He was the one that took the shot that led to Teofore Bennett's "offside" goal. That shot was so hard, it almost knocked out the Canadian keeper's teeth. Very hardworker, seems as if he was playing for himself and Khari Stephenson since Khari was absent.
Demar Phillips-3/10: He was another absentee, did nothing at all really, nothing to report on regarding his performance.
Jamal Campbell Ryce-7/10: Played very well. He had the Canadians looking like little kids trying to take the ball from their older brothers. Only complaint I have about his performance is the fact that he is not such a great passer of the ball. That was lacking on the field of play for us and neither Lamey nor Bennett saw much of the ball to the lack of midfield (where's Hue when u need him).
Kevin Lamey-3/10: Honestly, his name really describes how he played yesterday. I was disappointed but I can't judge him on that performance because he wasn't getting support from the midfield. Perhaps if Daley was on the field while he was, things would've been different.
Teofore Bennett-6/10: He was also absent during the first half, due to our invisible midfield. He got intothe game when Daley was injected into the midfield.
Subs:
Omar Daley-8/10: Outstanding performance by him. Yesterday, he showed that he is not only a good right back, but he still has his midfield touch. First thing he did upon entering the game was to literally walk through the Canadian defence setting up a chance for Bennett(or Campbell-Ryce, cant remember). Took a decent shot that gave the keeper problems.
Fabian Dawkins-5/10: Average game by him,however, he proved to be much more effective than Lamey by running back deep to collect the ball.
Overall: 5/10: I wasn't really impressed by the boyz. They went back to their usual Defence-Forward game, blasting the ball upfield, bypassing the midfield. Maybe because the defenders knew that none of our creative midfielders(Hue,Priestly)were on the pitch. Maybe they should've called up Kieth Kelly. We should try and bring him back into the National setup.
[b]Karl (9/5/2006)This 'coaching' has to be viewed in the light of available timegiven to prepare the "grabbed" by the JFF bosses.
Hiring Carl Brown to coach the team for the 5th time reminiscent of comedy from Saturday Night Live.Winning means you're willing to go longer, work harder, and give more than anyone else - Vince Lombardi
Lionpaw (9/5/2006)Aight, mek me see wha mi can fi u in regards to player ratings. Now these are just my opinions(obviously).
Shawn Sawyers-6/10: Made a silly mistake by running off his line that late. Didn't have to because two defenders were on the attacker so he should've stayed in to protect the goal. He made up for that blunder by making somegreat saves. Better than Ricketts IMO.
Jermaine Taylor-4/10: He wasn't very awful defending but the reason I give him that score is because he was constantly blasting the ball up the field, giving away possession when easy passes were available.
Damion Stewart-5-10: Had an average game. It's still evident that he does not know how to lead a defensive unit as he lacks communication. Made some great tackles, but he needs to be guided by sum1 like a Goodisonon the field(not saying we should bring him back, just a comparison i'm making).
Garfield Reid-4/10: If he wantsa contract abroad, he's got to play better than he did yesterday. Wasn't impressive IMO. He saw a lot of the ball but did nothing with it.
Fabian Davis-5/10: Played well in spurtsbut wasn'tconsistent. Combined failry well with other players but as captain, he didn't really look in command.
Khari Stephenson-3/10: Honestly, if he didn't take that horrible shot that flew way up into the skies, I wouldn't have realised he was on the field. Was absent. Can't recall anything he did other than take that shot.
Oniel Thompson-7/10: For all the ppl that don't believe NPL has quality, he shut them up. He played a very good game. Was all over the field, breaking up tackles and also creating play. He was the one that took the shot that led to Teofore Bennett's "offside" goal. That shot was so hard, it almost knocked out the Canadian keeper's teeth. Very hardworker, seems as if he was playing for himself and Khari Stephenson since Khari was absent.
Demar Phillips-3/10: He was another absentee, did nothing at all really, nothing to report on regarding his performance.
Jamal Campbell Ryce-7/10: Played very well. He had the Canadians looking like little kids trying to take the ball from their older brothers. Only complaint I have about his performance is the fact that he is not such a great passer of the ball. That was lacking on the field of play for us and neither Lamey nor Bennett saw much of the ball to the lack of midfield (where's Hue when u need him).
Kevin Lamey-3/10: Honestly, his name really describes how he played yesterday. I was disappointed but I can't judge him on that performance because he wasn't getting support from the midfield. Perhaps if Daley was on the field while he was, things would've been different.
Teofore Bennett-6/10: He was also absent during the first half, due to our invisible midfield. He got intothe game when Daley was injected into the midfield.
Subs:
Omar Daley-8/10: Outstanding performance by him. Yesterday, he showed that he is not only a good right back, but he still has his midfield touch. First thing he did upon entering the game was to literally walk through the Canadian defence setting up a chance for Bennett(or Campbell-Ryce, cant remember). Took a decent shot that gave the keeper problems.
Fabian Dawkins-5/10: Average game by him,however, he proved to be much more effective than Lamey by running back deep to collect the ball.
Overall: 5/10: I wasn't really impressed by the boyz. They went back to their usual Defence-Forward game, blasting the ball upfield, bypassing the midfield. Maybe because the defenders knew that none of our creative midfielders(Hue,Priestly)were on the pitch. Maybe they should've called up Kieth Kelly. We should try and bring him back into the National setup.
Hortikal (9/5/2006)[b]Karl (9/5/2006)This 'coaching' has to be viewed in the light of available timegiven to prepare the "grabbed" by the JFF bosses.
Hiring Carl Brown to coach the team for the 5th time reminiscent of comedy from Saturday Night Live.
Coaches of WCup teams usually for the poor teams that have good leaders,have as did Simoes, much time to prepare TEAM.
The poor teams with lousy leadership...forget about them.
The TOP OF THE WORLD teams are always filled with players coming out of first class training/coaching situations.When those top players are assembled thy arrive with their TOP OF THE WORLD attitudes and excellent understanding of 'this game called football'. The coaches of those TEAMs fine tune to fit the philosophy decided on. Our too vast numbers of players with theirmediocre and poor technical quality,ignorant to what makes a good TEAM have to be taught the game. It follows thatTEAMs such as our REGGAE BOYZ need more time at creating UNITY than the TOP OF THE WORLD teams. Is it then not ironic that the Boxhill led JFF works at giving coachesCB -> Laza-> WD -> CB absolutely no time for coaching? Is it not extremely silly to 'work at being a failure'?
The Boxhill administrationcould not do any worse if on coming into office they had all sat around swilling rum."Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
I recall David 'Freepe' Faulknor scoring a goal like that for Violet Kickers against some Kingston team, could have been Waterhouse at Jarrett Park and Peter Prendergast dissallowing it without even consulting his linesman.
When we protested, at half time he went for his FIFA rules book to try and prove his pointSolidarity is not a matter of well wishing, but is sharing the very same fate whether in victory or in death.