• Mourinho warns United

Mourinho warns United that big deals bring pressure

Wednesday, July 11, 2007
    By Sam Wallace
    The Premiership season may be 31 days away from starting, but last night Jose Mourinho fired the first shots at the champions Manchester United.

As Sir Alex Ferguson's summer spending creeps towards £70m, the Chelsea manager reminded him that with big financial backing came more pressure.

Having suffered three seasons of criticism for the Chelsea transfer fees bankrolled by the club's owner, Roman Abramovich, Mourinho's main message for this season appears to be that United are now the big spenders. "We know that in the previous three seasons, when we spent some millions, everybody pointed at us as the team with more responsibility because we were the spenders in the market," he said.

United have currently paid out £34m for Anderson and Nani, £18m for Owen Hargreaves and are in negotiations for a deal for Carlos Tevez that could cost more than £20m. With the free signing Steven Sidwell by his side at the Beverly Hills Hotel yesterday, and Claudio Pizarro and Tal Ben Haim also costing nothing, Mourinho was keen to make his point as quickly as possible.

Having spent only around £16.5m ­ considerably less than Liverpool this summer ­ on Florent Malouda, Mourinho wanted to make clear that he did not need vast financial resources to succeed in the transfer market. "The only player we've bought was Malouda, we are very happy with that," Mourinho said. "Sidwell has a value, Ben Haim has a value, Pizarro has a value. It shows that we did our homework well during the season and we knew where the targets were. I want to make it very clear that the reason why they're here is because they're good players, not because they are free transfers.

"Our squad is almost the same. Why? Because it's good. We trust the success we've had in the last three seasons with this group. Last season was not the perfect season in terms of the results we had but you know the problems we had. The squad worked well and we believe in them. We are not interested in what the other teams spend. We know what we want and we trust the squad that we have."

The Chelsea manager took charge of the first day of pre-season yesterday in the sunshine at the University of Los Angeles California campus and there were a few faces who may not have expected to be back for another campaign.

Arjen Robben admitted that his negotiations for a new contract had broken down and Real Madrid are confident that they can lure the player away. However, Mourinho said later that he was determined to keep the Dutch winger. Having announced that Khalid Boulahrouz would follow Geremi out the club, Mourinho said that he wanted to keep his current squad intact.

Since when Jose can advice Fergie? Fergie win 9 EPL titles .... when Chelsea win 5 Jose can talk.

Fergie is a smart man, thats why he is at the biggest club for 20 years. Paul Scholes, Ryan Giggs and Ole will be retiring or leaving over the next few seasons starting the end of the 07-08 season. Nani, Anderson and Hargreves were brought in for that purpose.

Jose need fi shut it and watch how genius work.

Well fergie buying the title the same way as jose dem .

Originally posted by OJ View Post
        Well fergie buying the title the same way as jose dem .
        Is he? How yuh ago buy wha belong to you? Laughable. 9 out a 15. As mii point out before 3 of his players are close to retirement and replacements are brought in ... how is that buying title? He admitted he wanted Nani to spend one more year in Portugal, but feared he would have been spanned up had he waited.

Manu operates on a budget bossman. 25 million per season plus another 25 for special players. Even though Carrick and the reserve keeper were brought in, the payments came out of Ruud and Licky Licky money. Now being the smart man Fergie is, him simply use last year transfer money plus some of this season's money. Futhermore the payments for Nani and Anderson are in installments ... suh based on what you come to the conclusion that MAnu buying the title?