J.F.F.!!! Do Your Job

• J.F.F.!!! Do Your Job

For too long the JFF has been dysfunctional, myopic & inept, and that has resulted in the stagnation of Jamaica’s soccer program. The elation, pride & optimism that followed Jamaica’s qualification for the U17, U20 & 1998 World Cup, all in five years, has been replaced by frustration, despair & confusion.
    The JFF, like any other national soccer federation, is responsible for the OVERALL development & growth of the sport, and they’ve failed to do this. There’s no excuse.

COACHING DEVELOPMENT
    Any national federation that is serious about the development & growth of soccer must first invest in the development of their coaches/teachers. Quality coaches/teachers produce quality players/students. There are no shortcuts. I’ve already posted a list of qualified, knowledgeable, experienced & respected coaches & technical directors (I’m sure there are more) who can provide the necessary training & development of the Jamaican coaches, as well as developing a Jamaican Coaching Curriculum, for the JFF Pro, A, B & C licenses. They can also help to establish internships, for the local coaches, with professional teams in North America & Europe. The different grades of license will be REQUIRED to coach/teach at different age groups.

PLAYER DEVELOPMENT
    U.S. Soccer has removed high school soccer from their national development program, as they feel that the academy system is the best way to develop our players, where the best youth players will be concentrated in one league, playing with & against each other.
    From what I’ve been reading & hearing, this would not be feasible in Jamaica, because 1. High school soccer is an integral part of the Jamaican soccer culture, and 2. Insufficient resources to support a national private academy system & league.
    The solution I see is dividing the Jamaican high school soccer system into TWO divisions – Div. 1 would have the top schools & the top prep/primary school players would be funneled into these schools. That way the best youth players would be concentrated in one league, playing with & competing against each other. Div. 2 would have your second tier youth players, as well as your late-bloomers, and will receive comparable coaching/teaching.
    The high school soccer season/schedule would have to be extended & upgraded. I suggest a 10 month MIXED season/schedule - you could play (1st Half) September – December, then play Futsal January – February, and play (2nd Half) March – July.
    Last edited by USAF; June 27, 2016, 04:10 PM.

For too long the JFF has been dysfunctional, myopic & inept, and that has resulted in the stagnation of Jamaica’s soccer program. The elation, pride & optimism that followed Jamaica’s qualification for the U17, U20 & 1998 World Cup, all in five years, has been replaced by frustration, despair & confusion.
    The JFF, like any other national soccer federation, is responsible for the OVERALL development & growth of the sport, and they’ve failed to do this. There’s no excuse.
    2 problems here:

Your analysis makes too much sense

The JFF & Jamaican fans are too backward and immature to understand and/or support sensible policy

COACHING DEVELOPMENT
    Any national federation that is serious about the development & growth of soccer must first invest in the development of their coaches/teachers. Quality coaches/teachers produce quality players/students. There are no shortcuts. I’ve already posted a list of qualified, knowledgeable, experienced & respected coaches & technical directors (I’m sure there are more) who can provide the necessary training & development of the Jamaican coaches, as well as developing a Jamaican Coaching Curriculum, for the JFF Pro, A, B & C licenses. They can also help to establish internships, for the local coaches, with professional teams in North America & Europe. The different grades of license will be REQUIRED to coach/teach at different age groups.
    Jamaicans are not interested in improving coaching...that's too complicated for small-minded folks.

Jamaicans are only interested in instant gratification AKA The shortest route to qualifying for "the next World Cup". They see Snowball as the shortest route...for 20 years now.

That myopia has led to the WORST of all outcomes...ZERO DEVELOPMENT OF OUR FOOTBALL & ZERO WCQ

Woooiiieee people fi fool but nuh suh

PLAYER DEVELOPMENT
    U.S. Soccer has removed high school soccer from their national development program, as they feel that the academy system is the best way to develop our players, where the best youth players will be concentrated in one league, playing with & against each other.
    From what I’ve been reading & hearing, this would not be feasible in Jamaica, because 1. High school soccer is an integral part of the Jamaican soccer culture, and 2. Insufficient resources to support a national private academy system & league.
    The solution I see is dividing the Jamaican high school soccer system into TWO divisions – Div. 1 would have the top schools & the top prep/primary school players would be funneled into these schools. That way the best youth players would be concentrated in one league, playing with & competing against each other. Div. 2 would have your second tier youth players, as well as your late-bloomers, and will receive comparable coaching/teaching.
    The high school soccer season/schedule would have to be extended & upgraded. I suggest a 10 month MIXED season/schedule - you could play (1st Half) September – December, then play Futsal January – February, and play (2nd Half) March – July.
    1. The idea that Jamaicans have that we cannot afford a national academy is...to put it mildly...absolute rubbish. The problem is not money....it's our preponderance of small-minded folks

2. Interesting idea re school football reform. Fortunately D1 has outlined how such a reform should work:

How to revolutionize Schoolboy Football for Century 21
    A. ISSA to create two regions for school ball.... Western Region & Eastern Region..... containing comparable numbers of schools... ~50-60 per region

B. Eastern Region to consist of schools from Kingston, St Andrew, St Catherine, Portland & St Thomas....
    Western Region - Clarendon, Manchester, St Ann, St Elizabeth, Westmoreland, Hanover, St James & Trelawny

(ISSA can work out any parish adjustments suh mi nuh bizniz wid nuh quibbling ova placement minutiae)

C. Eastern Region competes for Manning Cup.... Western Region - DaCosta Cup

D. Each region further subdivided into 2 groups Manning Cup Premier League & Challenge League.... same for D'Cup

E. Premier League teams (~16 each region) will be seeded according to the schools with the best results over the preceding 5 years in their competitions. Challenge League teams will consist of those outside that top 16.

F. Premier & Challenge Leagues will be entirely separate competitions. Each year the top 4 teams in the Challenge League will be promoted to Premier...and the bottom 4 Premier teams demoted

G. After 16 home or away games ... the top 4 Premier league teams go into semi-final & final round... with winner taking the Manning & D'Cup trophies respectively.
    Challenge League to have 2 zones with an eventual playoff format leading to a championship game

H. Manning & D'Cup winners meet for Olivier Shield trophy as usual

I. If there's no time for additional games... the Walker/Ben Francis knockout competitions can be scrapped... if there is time ...the top 4 teams/League (8 teams total representing Challenge & Premier Leagues) in each Region compete for knockout titles

So we'll have

1. The best teams competing head to head more often for improved player development

2. Logistics/Cost Control via a more rational regional structure

3. Incentive based system for promotion/demotion

4. Preservation of an irreplaceable 100 year legacy of high school ball
    Last edited by Don1; June 27, 2016, 04:51 PM.

They can't continue like this. It makes no sense.
      I remember the young talent I saw in the mid 1970's to early 1980's (Lenworth Hyde, Douglas Bell, Noel Smith, Michael Clarke, Noel Blake, etc., etc.) that went to waste, and in 2016 it continues.

Seeit deh

The JFF is a joke.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

The JFF is a joke.
            Seeit deh...But they only survive wid dem fcukery via the active & passive support they get from the backward fans

We get the JFF we deserve as it reflects the majority of us...BACKWARD

I have called for a boycott a long time ago.I won't watch another game until I see or hear of changes.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

"Changes" that chart a definitive course forward... and not just change for change's sake.

While Iceland may have had more financial resources available to them than a country like JA, it doesn't mean that a small state cannot make an impact, right HL?

One of the FIRST things the KSI focused on, for Iceland's national soccer program, was COACHING DEVELOPMENT, which resulted in hundreds of youth getting GOOD, QUALITY instruction = PLAYER DEVELOPMENT starting at the grassroots level.

Originally posted by USAF View Post
                    One of the FIRST things the KSI focused on, for Iceland's national soccer program, was COACHING DEVELOPMENT, which resulted in hundreds of youth getting GOOD, QUALITY instruction = PLAYER DEVELOPMENT starting at the grassroots level.
                    Too complicated. Too much thinking involved. Too much work involved.
                    Plus the deal killer: Results will not be immediate...and the public must see results NOW!!!

Heavens alive! it might even take 20 years to bear real fruit.

Much easier and "cost effective" to run to England every few years to recruit third string players Babylon nuh want....for 20 years now.
                    That'll staff a respectable national team and our highly evolved football fans will be satisfied.

Isn't a respectable national team what football is ALL about?? Who cares about clubs & proper ball play @ club level?? Good football at junior levels is also irrelevant. WCQ wi seh...NOW!!

See....Jamaicans are logical and highly evolved in our thought process
                    Last edited by Don1; June 27, 2016, 07:40 PM.

"Changes" that chart a definitive course forward... and not just change for change's sake.

While Iceland may have had more financial resources available to them than a country like JA, it doesn't mean that a small state cannot make an impact, right HL?
                      ....no......oh I mean .........yes......no?.........yes?

Originally posted by USAF View Post

COACHING DEVELOPMENT

PLAYER DEVELOPMENT
                        Good chat on the steps to be taken on developing the teacher-coaches who would then develop top players.

btw -
                        What is the USA's current FIFA Ranking?

Who are the USA players developed by the USA academy system?

Where do the ply their trade?

How has the USA performed in the last 5 tournaments?
                        How many players on the teams were developed in the USA academy system?

I really have no idea what the U.S. FIFA ranking is.......I don't pay attention to the FIFA ranking system.......I didn't even know Argentina was ranked #1, until it was announced before the Copa final.

The U.S. academy system was pretty much a crapshoot before 2011. Shouldn't even be called a SYSTEM before '11.......In 2010 Reyna was appointed U.S. Youth TD & the 1st thing he did was to focus on coaching development, because he saw that youth coaches were more focused on WINNING games & tournaments rather than on the proper development of the players. He & Perez wrote the U.S. Soccer Coaching Curriculum in 2011, after spending time in France, Italy, Germany, Holland, Spain, Brazil & Argentina to see what was being done in their development system........The clubs have shown improvement & continue to implement changes & upgrades to their development system. Leading this movement, U.S. Soccer, with the help of Klinsmann, & MLS has made investments to improve the quality of youth development coaches at the clubs.......Some of the teams that have signed youth players, since then, are - Ajax, PSG, Borussia Dortmund, Atletico Madrid, Manchester United, Fiorentina, Schalke, Liverpool, Chelsea, Sevilla, teams in Mexico, and teams like Juventus have made offers.......While this YOUNG academy system is improving (coaches & TDs), the coaches selected for the U.S. U17, U20 & U23 teams are a disgrace and it doesn't seem U.S. Soccer is interested in changing this.

I would love to see that manuel as I am currently preparing curriculum for a Secondary High School in JA. The school's principal has given his blessings. The aim is, additional outlet for upward mobility for students. All can guess at natural by-products and outcome of 'good' curriculum, syllabus and implementation...right?