Is Messi now coming into his own?

• Is Messi now coming into his own?

Will what we are currently seeing continue into WC?

He is now the highest scorer of goals for Argentina... I don't know why that surprised me; I suppose it's because he has this reputation of under-performing for his country.

He's been performing for this COPA. Actually I would say he's been the MVP of the tournament so far.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

When he wins a major trophy that will start the process of establishing a real base to compare him to the real greats!!

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
        When he wins a major trophy that will start the process of establishing a real base to compare him to the real greats!!
        There is only one major trophy really for him do do that... you don't include Copa America? do you?

What we are seeing is, maybe, the wakening of the sleeping giant?! and that "major trophy might be possible"?! ¿quién sabe?

Awakening ?

Ah nuh dem guh last WC Final.. shoulda win tuh... if Di Maria did play ah certain Arg victory..

Dem is #1 in FIFA and it is theirs to lose..

Added incentive as the last one for Messi et al..

Perfect Storm.

So you think he performed well (to his potential) in the last WCs? compared to how we see him dominating the opposition by a wide margin, in this tournament?

I put it to you that if he played relatively as well in the last WC, Di Maria or not they could have won. Speculation on my part of course.

Well dem seh yuh peak at 29 suh mebbe is dat...

Not sure I would classify as an awakening though.. maybe a natural evolution to a peak ?