Of local coaches and plastic Jamaicans

I think people get turned off by that term ( Academy) They immediately envision a European or south American model both are not economically viable in Jamaica.

We need an academy using or combing the resources we already have,we have sports colleges in Jamaica and institutions of learning,are we going to build a building and name it academy to say we have one ? We have football fields all over the island from clubs,schools and colleges are we going to purchase acres of land to say we can play on a academy field ?

Implement a national program at the youth level where coaches are mandated to learn and teach a certain standard to certain youth ages,gather the best under 16,18 and 20 players house them at GC foster or any sports college for more intense academic and football learning ,let them compete in colts,manning,dacosta cup or any youth competition across the island ( mek up a schedule).The u 20 can compete in the RPSL or any corna league along with Manning or Dacosta.

What I am arguing for is to basically use what we have,i don't see a need to build a school or buy land to have an academy!

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I always thought I did ....

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I am not following you Brick,please spell it out for me as per what you call development? Where ? And who?

You could be referring to the Paul Hall,imported and developed in England.

what about an academy like this? sell one player a year & you could finance 10 more like it...

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-africa-30820196

my point is that you can't properly develop players in a schoolboy system...the template is already there...isolate the best & give them quality teachers from a young age...after one cycle you sell those players & pump the money back into the academy...the instruction has to be consistent from 6 years old through to 20 years old...why are we trying to reinvent the wheel?

That is where you are wrong , where are you going to get that pool of players from (6- 20 ) if not the school boy system ? and if that is the source are you going to let them rot away learning bad habits ?

As you stated the age group targeted is youth ! It would be prudent on us to start the learning process in the institutions they pick up the bad habits to curb the damage , do you agree?

As i pointed below waiting for the JFF or anyone to build an academy or purchase land ,is more depressing when we have institutions of learning (academically or sports ) there , not to mention football fields all over the place.

Our Academy must be JA-style...Not Babylon

* We don't need any academic facilities...many schools would be nearby

* We don't need perfectly manicured fields to start with...although that would be great

* The biggest need is the knowledge transfer from coaches. That's expensive but D1 show how fi deal wid dat

* I don't believe school ball should be the focus at all...dats recreational. But perhaps say the U-16 nationals can play Manning and U20s can have a RSPL spot.. Dats up to expert management to decide

* We don't need to start with a full blown system...start with a 12-15 y.o. cohort for some relatively quick results...then scale down to U-10 yutes over say 5 years or so

Of course an Academy is necessary

...and mi dun show unnu areddy how it can be established affordably..A simple plan to improve U-17 & U-20 football

..and mi dun show unnu areddy how it can get technical staffing affordably... The Grand Brazil Bargain

So what's all the yappin about?????

Oh... unnu waan know how fi recover CAPEX & cover Recurrent exp??

Yes Tilla.... the usual suspects sponsorship, naming rights etc... but another income income stream is:

The national (i.e. JFF) Academy would only accept and retain yutes starting at 8-10 y.o. capable of being developed into pro ballas
                If yutes join clubs and are released by their clubs into the national Academy and are subsequently developed to professional status...clubs will be required to pay the Academy a % of the transfer fees paid by 3rd party foreign (and local clubs) to acquire the player. For unattached players the Academy gets 100%

The national Academy therefore would have a financial interest in producing the best players it can..

That completes the virtuous circle of youth development... TALENT-ADMINISTRATION-TECHNICAL TRAINING-FUNDING... all covered

Case closed
                Last edited by Don1; June 21, 2016, 12:12 PM.

Plastic' Jamaicans

Football in Jamaica cannot be developed if the players who live and play their football here are systematically denied a chance of international experience by so called "plastic" Jamaicans, who have never played locally, have a tenuous connection to the island, and who, once the competition or the match is completed return to their place of abode with no plans to return to assist in developing the game locally with their expertise.

At the senior level, coaches are hired to perform specific tasks. It may be to develop the local game or it may be to qualify a team or to win a particular competition. Failure to perform up to pre-arranged aims; result in instant parting of the ways. This is the norm for the coaches of teams, who were supposed to advance in the Copa America, but who on elimination understood perfectly that they no longer had a job. It must be so in Jamaica as well. The reported US$50,000 a month that it costs us to have an international coach is a substantial amount of cash to pay for failure.

http://jamaicagleaner.com/article/sp...deserve-chance
                  Garbage in! Garbage out!

Why are foreign born players in the various TEAMs?

Has it anything to do with the quality of the local born players?

If it does, who are they responsible to develop local born players?

Could it be those who teach, nurture the local born players? Who are these teachers and nurturers? What is it lacking in their teaching methods? How do we develop good quality local teachers of the game?

btw - If our local players when as group represent us at international tournaments cannot advance deep into the competitions then the teacher-coaches are failing to impart meaningful knowledge on how the game is played at acceptable level to progress deep into those competitions. Ignoring that fact of our local teacher-coaches failures and putting forward excuses by blaming others is a waste. Excuses may prop up fragile psyche but it condemns us to repeated failures...as Courtney alluded to more that 15 years past, those teacher-coaches are...we are failing the youth!

Teach the children well...teach the youth and they shall learn and produce!

Hiding from the undeniable fact of poor teaching begetting poor results is a fool's game.

The consequences and logical outcomes of good teacher-coaches are higher quality local players and local teams.
                  - Higher quality players lower demand for foreign born players!

- These higher quality players and teams would advance deep into the age appropriate CFU, CONCACAF, World and FIFA tournaments...and be on display in the World's Marketplace.

It all starts with excellent teaching!
                  The exposure of Bolt started with good teacher-caoches! ...and so it has been with all our youth!

Manning's, Campion and other excellent schools' students got their exposure from first being taught by good teachers who produced good graduates! Our football needs good local teachers!
                  Last edited by Karl; June 21, 2016, 12:36 PM.

2nd dat full 100 and not even dat,we can get from the JFF,all attainable and do-able!

We have no excuse as much as Burrell wants to blame all but himself or his entity.

* We don't need any academic facilities...many schools would be nearby

* We don't need perfectly manicured fields to start with...although that would be great

* The biggest need is the knowledge transfer from coaches. That's expensive but D1 show how fi deal wid dat

* I don't believe school ball should be the focus at all...dats recreational. But perhaps say the U-16 nationals can play Manning and U20s can have a RSPL spot.. Dats up to expert management to decide

* We don't need to start with a full blown system...start with a 12-15 y.o. cohort for some relatively quick results...then scale down to U-10 yutes over say 5 years or so
                      You were going "good" when you zoned in on incorporating the right knowledge...you went off the rails when you decided it was not to be introduced across the entire island at every youth level and in all the clubs.

That was stated previously in his post,please read entire thread before posting,i make those errors too.

where did they find bony & scores of other players in underdeveloped nations? they went out into the communities...set up camps...watched players in the streets...then isolate them from those who are recreational players...they don't need to have had formal instruction...that's the point...you grab them early & develop them...not after bertis et al have instilled bad technique etc at 16 years old...

So you want us to implement an Ivory coast model,not a Jamaican model,granted it works for them.

It couldn't work in Ja for one reason,education is as cultural as sports,as poor as we are,no entity be it private or business would support that model.

BRETHREN YUH NUH RIGHTED!

you are all missing the point...this is just another stop gap measure...badly developed players being lead by badly trained (if any training at all) coaches...
                              I agree with you here on THIS point. The article was making sense until he mentioned schoolboy coaches. We need outside help to train our coaches or else we will be forever caught up in this cycle.
                              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

That was stated previously in his post,please read entire thread before posting,i make those errors too.
                                'That' what?
                                There was certainly no mention of improving knowledge of teaching at all institutions across the entire island. In fact, I took from what Don1 wrote that yes we needed excellent teachers but the numbers would be limited to certain institutions.

The aim has to be, excellent teachers in every institution that teaches the game - schools & clubs...and of course, the JFF i.e. national teams. It is counter-productive to work at having excellent teacher-coaches mixed with 'fool-fool' teacher-coaches. You would not aim to have excellent math teachers mixed with 'fool-fool' math teachers. Of course some will be better at imparting the knowledge than others but the aim must all be to 'make'/have excellent teachers and teacher-coaches of each discipline in charge wherever the discipline is being taught. In education, teachers of a discipline, as less that fully qualified must never be, and is never, the aim.