I think people get turned off by that term ( Academy) They immediately envision a European or south American model both are not economically viable in Jamaica.
We need an academy using or combing the resources we already have,we have sports colleges in Jamaica and institutions of learning,are we going to build a building and name it academy to say we have one ? We have football fields all over the island from clubs,schools and colleges are we going to purchase acres of land to say we can play on a academy field ?
Implement a national program at the youth level where coaches are mandated to learn and teach a certain standard to certain youth ages,gather the best under 16,18 and 20 players house them at GC foster or any sports college for more intense academic and football learning ,let them compete in colts,manning,dacosta cup or any youth competition across the island ( mek up a schedule).The u 20 can compete in the RPSL or any corna league along with Manning or Dacosta.
What I am arguing for is to basically use what we have,i don't see a need to build a school or buy land to have an academy!
We need an academy using or combing the resources we already have,we have sports colleges in Jamaica and institutions of learning,are we going to build a building and name it academy to say we have one ? We have football fields all over the island from clubs,schools and colleges are we going to purchase acres of land to say we can play on a academy field ?
Implement a national program at the youth level where coaches are mandated to learn and teach a certain standard to certain youth ages,gather the best under 16,18 and 20 players house them at GC foster or any sports college for more intense academic and football learning ,let them compete in colts,manning,dacosta cup or any youth competition across the island ( mek up a schedule).The u 20 can compete in the RPSL or any corna league along with Manning or Dacosta.
What I am arguing for is to basically use what we have,i don't see a need to build a school or buy land to have an academy!