• Of local coaches and plastic Jamaicans

Plastic' Jamaicans

Football in Jamaica cannot be developed if the players who live and play their football here are systematically denied a chance of international experience by so called "plastic" Jamaicans, who have never played locally, have a tenuous connection to the island, and who, once the competition or the match is completed return to their place of abode with no plans to return to assist in developing the game locally with their expertise.

At the senior level, coaches are hired to perform specific tasks. It may be to develop the local game or it may be to qualify a team or to win a particular competition. Failure to perform up to pre-arranged aims; result in instant parting of the ways. This is the norm for the coaches of teams, who were supposed to advance in the Copa America, but who on elimination understood perfectly that they no longer had a job. It must be so in Jamaica as well. The reported US$50,000 a month that it costs us to have an international coach is a substantial amount of cash to pay for failure.

http://jamaicagleaner.com/article/sp...deserve-chance

Mek it battam out.Cant wait for the captain speech of where the buck stops .....hehe.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

what a rubbish article

We have, in Jamaica, tried-and-proven schoolboy coaches who know how to win

When the Under-20 team left our shores for the World Cup elimination tournament, our hopes were high mainly because of the known quality of the footballers that were on show during the recently concluded schoolboy competition.

That's the only thing you can sing about,can you argue with the results or lack there of?

Look man post 98 ,approaching almost 20years and our only success has been Caribbean cups and 1 GC final Panama has been there 3 times post 98.

Talk to mi!

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

The article is interesting but the perspectives are backward.

Jamaica's key problem is...to be frank...we don't know how to play the game.

The JFF's insane "solution" to this problem is to import (mediocre) players en masse to staff a national team for ~20 years now. Of course this obviously disables our football further.

We need an injection of KNOWLEDGE...not products

Instead of merely switching to local coaches who are as disabled as local players...we need to import coaches who can teach us how to play the game...and teach our coaches how to coach until that becomes self-sustaining. This must be done within a development system from U10 to seniors.

That's what we should have spent the (now completely lost ) 20 years since 1997 WCQ doing...instead of the asinine Snow madness

Anything else is a waste of time and indulgence of fools who cannot think logically with our long term interest at heart
              Last edited by Don1; June 21, 2016, 11:05 AM.

It baffles me,why the JFF or some entity can't implement a coaching system to cover the youth level on a national scale,this is where o agree with Pops,the school system is the best way to implement that knowledge,so when they arrive on the national teams,all you need to do is fine tune them.

A simple cost effective,quick route,that would bear results in at least 10 years or less.

Bricky, at very least, or local coaches at the schoolboy level should have been able get some good results from this recent qualifying tournament. Jamaican high school teams always do very well at the season-ending tournament in Miami, where even T&T teams get their regular dusting.

Maybe bringing in Bibi, totally unproven at any level, and Altimont Butler was not such a great idea.

It baffles me,why the JFF or some entity can't implement a coaching system to cover the youth level on a national scale,this is where o agree with Pops,the school system is the best way to implement that knowledge,so when they arrive on the national teams,all you need to do is fine tune them.

A simple cost effective,quick route,that would bear results in at least 10 years or less.
                    We need a national academy...and some big incentives for private money to establish their own

Guvvament can assist by leasing them land @ peppercorn rates and tax/custom duty waivers etc for a period. Virtual free zone tings mi seh
                    Last edited by Don1; June 21, 2016, 11:25 AM.

you are all missing the point...this is just another stop gap measure...badly developed players being lead by badly trained (if any training at all) coaches...

I'm glad you started showing some respect to your father and stop addressing him like you and him is size.

I have also agreed with Po...Mr Wallace on this. Our schools are our academies right now, until something better comes along.

The JFF had been running quite a few coaching courses since Paul Banta started to make them look bad. I'd like to think there is some emphasis on youth training in there.

where have the players been developed pre & post 1998? sounds like you are agreeing with me

The whole program is that way! But not qualifying from a group of countries such as the ones we faced is totally unacceptable!

what difference would qualifying have made?