Schäfer: Jamaica needs to import more,frigg development.

• Schäfer: Jamaica needs to import more,frigg development.

German coach Winfried Schäfer is ignoring suggestions that he should resign in the aftermath of the Reggae Boyz's uninspiring performance and early exit from the ongoing Copa America Centenario competition.

Schäfer also gave the local-based players in the squad a failing grade, saying that he believed that they were not ready for international-level competition and had not done enough to warrant a place in the team, even for the Uruguay encounter, which game after elimination, was already guaranteed.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/s...nt-good-enough

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Well there you have it,the willful disenfranchisement of our locals is institutionalized.
    At this stage,player A is ready even though he needs more time on the training ground and player B is incorrigibly insomuch that time on the training ground will likely be to no avail.
    He is here for player B,

Well there you have it,the willful disenfranchisement of our locals is institutionalized.
      At this stage,player A is ready even though he needs more time on the training ground and player B is incorrigibly insomuch that time on the training ground will likely be to no avail.
      He is here for player B,
      .....das right Mass Rocky. ..........

The problem is Jeezas' remit from the JFF and priority from Day 1 was: Qualify for the "next World Cup" by any means necessary. ...using any short cut possible.

So Jeezas cannot be blamed for that JFF myopia or that locals do not have the exposure necessary to compete in our relatively low level Confed. The JFF and its affiliates are at fault.

Until the JFF says to a Coach/TD: Yes we do want WCQ.....BUT we are patient people interested in investing in sustainable long term success. So we will grant you 2 WCQ cycles to be successful ......IF by the end of the 1st cycle review you show good results in key performance indices:

* Progress in identifying and improving our best yutes via training and intl game exposure

* Progress in mentoring and improving a cadre of coaches

* Develop an appropriate national playing philosophy which can be adopted at all levels

* Acceptable results in intl games....including a balanced use (only) of committed Snowballas

Until we get some version of that long term strategy. ..as opposed to JFF short term fcukery.....JA will continue to be a long term failure in the game

Memba mi tole unnu dat rasss

On board with your assessment Don

Full time now. It has been too long since 1998 I flew down for the Mexico vs Jamaica Hex game. What is 2016-1998 = to in years past. Different approach needed. By the way I thought by now our National Academy would be functioning.
          "Everyone who knows me understands that I hold no prejudices in this regard....In the family atmosphere of the {RBSC}telethon, I forget that not everyone knows me that well." ....attributed to Jerry Lewis....

By any means necessary? How long does it take to get someone Jamaican citizenship?! Forget Jamaican-affiliated snowaz! Go for any good player regardless of his country.

That can't work. He would need to live in Jamaica for at least 5 years after the age of 18.

So now that Schafer says it, perhaps another look

can be taken at the specifics at what I put forward as the reasons for such failure? Right?

- The teachers are ignorant of the subject matter 'football';

- The 'tek im hoon' philosophy is, nonsense philosophy;

- Our players need to be taught
                i) the importance of swift continuous...even when there is no pressure on ball or man...sharing of the ball;

ii) how to pass and move, move and pass inclusive of passing on goal;

iii) you have to continually think "get to the ball first";

iv) dribbling and 'popping' is secondary to passing; must be infrequently used as surprise element/tactic;

v) TEAM (football is a TEAM game...not that Sass told us years ago, "Merely running out together means you are TEAM/have a TEAM!" [Sorry Sass, just cannot forget that comment!]

vi) Understand that the game is played with the brain/head...the foot...rest of the body merely reflects what the brain commands. Smartest has greatest of chance to succeed!

Originally posted by PeeJay View Post
                  Full time now. It has been too long since 1998 I flew down for the Mexico vs Jamaica Hex game. What is 2016-1998 = to in years past. Different approach needed. By the way I thought by now our National Academy would be functioning.
                  seeit deh

Change the law! simple! St Kitts, Dominica , Grenada(?) selling citizenship!

QUestion for Winnie: if the local based players need more playing time vs international opponents (your words) why yuh kip dem pon de bench gains' Uruguay?

lol!

Time and place.. when yuh learn fi swim.. dem fling yuh in deep end fuss ?

Man seh di wan dat nevah tek di field gainst Uruguru couldnt even manage gainst di local Miami team !

QUestion for Winnie: if the local based players need more playing time vs international opponents (your words) why yuh kip dem pon de bench gains' Uruguay?
                            Jeezas out fi secure im current salary an' im future prospects. Dat nuh inna nuh experiment inna dem Last Days yah puppa

Jeezas time fi try tun coconut wata into wine dun
                            Last edited by Don1; June 16, 2016, 08:28 PM.

Ok, I can buy that (his assessment)... but where and when do the swimming lessons start? (rhetorical)