To each his own but as far as I am concerned,the primary objective of the JFF is to identify worthy talents from our local pool and showcase those players so that foreign clubs may offer them lucrative contracts,in that regard Holland has done well.
Haiti can be proud with their
So what are you saying? We shouldn't have a programme? Did you see what the Belgians have done? if you want to cite programmes. It's not by chance that a small (relatively) nation is producing such good footballers with a competitive team. If you put any faith or credence in FIFA ranking, they're 2nd right now!
http://www.fifa.com/fifa-world-ranki...men/index.html
Yes, it has been pointed out that all countries are not equally gifted with the same financial resources, but our "programme" is really non-existent. Belgium's rise is coincidental with a planned approach to developing their home-grown talent. While we may not replicate what they have done, why can't we at least try? with what little we have?Peter R
Originally posted by Peter R View PostSo what are you saying? We shouldn't have a programme? Did you see what the Belgians have done? if you want to cite programmes. It's not by chance that a small (relatively) nation is producing such good footballers with a competitive team. If you put any faith or credence in FIFA ranking, they're 2nd right now!
Yes, it has been pointed out that all countries are not equally gifted with the same financial resources, but our "programme" is really non-existent. Belgium's rise is coincidental with a planned approach to developing their home-grown talent. While we may not replicate what they have done, why can't we at least try? with what little we have?TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Another point. Haiti exposed Ecuador, the same way the US exposed Colombia.
Haiti's weakness is fitness and too much touches on the ball. What I see as more games are being played; is that it's the same top two from S. America the rest are pretenders. Ask Winnie or Klinsman (they wouldn't say it publicly though
Originally posted by Reggaedoc View PostDoes the reliance on youth development really take a country as far as it wants to go?. Think about it, Turkey and Holland have the best youth football development programs in the world, but have they won any senior, or for that matter, age group competitions?. I am not sure that a youth program will get us any further. Just a thought.
Originally posted by Peter R View PostSo what are you saying? We shouldn't have a programme? Did you see what the Belgians have done? if you want to cite programmes. It's not by chance that a small (relatively) nation is producing such good footballers with a competitive team. If you put any faith or credence in FIFA ranking, they're 2nd right now!
Yes, it has been pointed out that all countries are not equally gifted with the same financial resources, but our "programme" is really non-existent. Belgium's rise is coincidental with a planned approach to developing their home-grown talent. While we may not replicate what they have done, why can't we at least try? with what little we have?
The prospective pool of possible players is greater than a country with what 3.5 million?
Jamaica needs all the help it can get.
Snowaz are here to stay....get use to it.The only time TRUTH will hurt you...is if you ignore it long enough
These population stats have no bearing on what a country can do! Jamaica's same 3.5M (your number, google says 2.7) has more per capita olympic t&f medals than almost every country in the world!
The English speaking (cricket playing countries) dominated world cricket for 20 years with a population of less than 10million, against countries like India with almost 600-800M (at the time).
T&T qualified for WC in 2006 with 1.3 (or less) and with a good 30% being more interested in cricket than football (at the highest level)... and with ONE snow balla in their squad.
You know the population of Uruguay? Same as the JA figure you quoted!
So where does that leave your population argument?
If I follow it, China and India should wenna mash it up in world football!
Better yuh stick wid Reggaedoc argument about a football culture!
Once you have a population of 11, you can compete!!!Peter R
Yow me no like how talk yuh a talk so sensically all eveling. A must CBAR yuh used to go.Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
The guy is a self-confessed football dunce...suh yuh affi si wid imTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Peter R View PostThese population stats have no bearing on what a country can do! Jamaica's same 3.5M (your number, google says 2.7) has more per capita olympic t&f medals than almost every country in the world!
The English speaking (cricket playing countries) dominated world cricket for 20 years with a population of less than 10million, against countries like India with almost 600-800M (at the time).
T&T qualified for WC in 2006 with 1.3 (or less) and with a good 30% being more interested in cricket than football (at the highest level)... and with ONE snow balla in their squad.
You know the population of Uruguay? Same as the JA figure you quoted!
So where does that leave your population argument?
If I follow it, China and India should wenna mash it up in world football!
Better yuh stick wid Reggaedoc argument about a football culture!
Once you have a population of 11, you can compete!!!
But if you are going to suggest that jamaica should copy Belgium's approach. ..ONE reason for their success in football is they have nearly 4x the number prospective players in their pool.
Pool depth may not be a factor for success but it plays a significant part.
Yes, there are instances where pool size is not a factor, but it counts as a ONE OF THE factor in the majority of cases.
As far as football culture, Jamaica is more a cricket and t&f culture.................The only time TRUTH will hurt you...is if you ignore it long enough