• Bora must shape up or ship out

Bora must shape up or ship out

Western Bureau
    It would appear that some of our so-called local football experts, including some respected coaches, would do well with a proper psychiatric evaluation from Dr. Aggrey Irons as they appear to be losing their minds.

I was pleasantly surprised to hear some of the so-called experts not only batting for coach Velibor 'Bora' Milutinovic but shamelessly comparing his tenure, including the just concluded disastrous four-game tour of Asia, with the early days of René Simoes in the build-up to France '98.

In another clear case of obviously skewed judgement, one expert even had the gall of intimating that with his dubious nine defeats against one win record, Bora has some magical blueprint, which he intends to use to replicate the success that Simoes had in 1998.

While I am still in the process of trying to compile Simoes' 1998 qualification record for a comparison with Bora's, based on the information I have garnered to date, it is nothing compared to the current domino-like excursions, which are driving all ambitious local football fans crazy.

On-the-field results aside, if one should try to compare the atmosphere that existed under Simoes in 1998 with what now exists under Bora, it would probably be like comparing the excitement of a 'Dancehall Night' at Reggae Sumfest with a little house party for a few friends.

While he was clearly challenged by the English language, no one could question that Simoes, with his unique style, including his 'Jesus Saves' T-shirts, was a visionary, who was able to get sponsors, fans and players to buy into his vision for Jamaica's World Cup aspirations.

By comparison, the current programme under Bora is lacking energy and vitality and outside of the few pundits, who are seemingly caught up in their blind loyalty to the current JFF administration, the general feeling is that the programme is boring, lacking imagination and not going anywhere.

For me, the embarrassment we suffered in Asia, including the 8-1 thrashing from Iran, vindicates CONCACAF boss 'Jack' Warner, who has gone on record as saying we are wasting good money on coach Bora. Surely, with the players we took to Asia, the results should not be surprising.

As I have said in previous columns, trying to make stars out of our current crop of local players must be an exercise in futility because unlike 1998, the quality of the likes of Durrant Brown, Walter Boyd, Theodore Whitmore, Warren Barrett, Peter Cargill, Ian Goodison and Ricardo Gardener is missing from our current crop of local players.

I believe that if our 'Back to Africa' campaign is to gain any traction and coach Bora is to deliver any value for his J$364 million four-year salary, we would be better served by having regular training camps in England and the United States, where the players who are likely to serve in a sensible World Cup campaign are based.
    It is my understanding that Bora has confessed that the recent 8-1 loss to Iran was the worst defeat of his coaching career. However, I would like to suggest to him that if he continues to undermine the Reggae Boyz brand with substandard players, the 8-1 beating might look like a good score when he runs into Mexico, Costa Rica, El Salvador and the United States.

I believe that if our 'Back to Africa' campaign is to gain any traction and coach Bora is to deliver any value for his J$364 million four-year salary, we would be better served by having regular training camps in England and the United States, where the players who are likely to serve in a sensible World Cup campaign are based.
    Sass?

Yuh sure a nuh yuh write da paat deh?

Western Bureau
      It would appear that some of our so-called local football experts, including some respected coaches, would do well with a proper psychiatric evaluation from Dr. Aggrey Irons as they appear to be losing their minds.

I was pleasantly surprised to hear some of the so-called experts not only batting for coach Velibor 'Bora' Milutinovic but shamelessly comparing his tenure, including the just concluded disastrous four-game tour of Asia, with the early days of René Simoes in the build-up to France '98.

In another clear case of obviously skewed judgement, one expert even had the gall of intimating that with his dubious nine defeats against one win record, Bora has some magical blueprint, which he intends to use to replicate the success that Simoes had in 1998.

While I am still in the process of trying to compile Simoes' 1998 qualification record for a comparison with Bora's, based on the information I have garnered to date, it is nothing compared to the current domino-like excursions, which are driving all ambitious local football fans crazy.

On-the-field results aside, if one should try to compare the atmosphere that existed under Simoes in 1998 with what now exists under Bora, it would probably be like comparing the excitement of a 'Dancehall Night' at Reggae Sumfest with a little house party for a few friends.

While he was clearly challenged by the English language, no one could question that Simoes, with his unique style, including his 'Jesus Saves' T-shirts, was a visionary, who was able to get sponsors, fans and players to buy into his vision for Jamaica's World Cup aspirations.

By comparison, the current programme under Bora is lacking energy and vitality and outside of the few pundits, who are seemingly caught up in their blind loyalty to the current JFF administration, the general feeling is that the programme is boring, lacking imagination and not going anywhere.

For me, the embarrassment we suffered in Asia, including the 8-1 thrashing from Iran, vindicates CONCACAF boss 'Jack' Warner, who has gone on record as saying we are wasting good money on coach Bora. Surely, with the players we took to Asia, the results should not be surprising.

As I have said in previous columns, trying to make stars out of our current crop of local players must be an exercise in futility because unlike 1998, the quality of the likes of Durrant Brown, Walter Boyd, Theodore Whitmore, Warren Barrett, Peter Cargill, Ian Goodison and Ricardo Gardener is missing from our current crop of local players.

It is my understanding that Bora has confessed that the recent 8-1 loss to Iran was the worst defeat of his coaching career. However, I would like to suggest to him that if he continues to undermine the Reggae Boyz brand with substandard players, the 8-1 beating might look like a good score when he runs into Mexico, Costa Rica, El Salvador and the United States.
      There is far too easy access to media channels.

What 9 defeats is this fellow referring to ?

How do you take someone like this seriously ?

What 9 defeats is this fellow referring to?
        I am not sure we have played 9 games under Bora. Let me see:
        Switzerland - 2-0
        Panama - 1-1
        Chile - 1-0
        Indonesia- 2-1
        Vietnam- 3-0
        Malaysia - 0-2 (Jamaica won)
        Iran - 8-1

Now, if you count the Lunar Cup games, there could be about 9 games yes. Albeit, the majority are really meaningless.
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I am not sure we have played 9 games under Bora. Let me see:
          Switzerland - 2-0
          Panama - 1-1
          Chile - 1-0
          Indonesia- 2-1
          Vietnam- 3-0
          Malaysia - 0-2 (Jamaica won)
          Iran - 8-1

Now, if you count the Lunar Cup games, there could be about 9 games yes. Albeit, the majority are really meaningless.
          How many Lunar games did we lose ?

2010 World Cup qualifiers start already?

di mind is a powerful thing so I won't deny

I remember after the 98 WC, they had a panel of the so called top sports writers on the Monday night sports show (I think it was TVJ)

Not a very talented crop.

Originally posted by Me View Post
                  I remember after the 98 WC, they had a panel of the so called top sports writers on the Monday night sports show (I think it was TVJ)

Not a very talented crop.
                  It is good we hold the sports journalists feet to the fiyah! I would say where reporting on football is concerned the standard has gone up since '98...but, the reportings and commentaries are still too sloppy.

Hey! It is the same thing with the managing of our football. The voices pointing out the 'foolishness' and sloppy management practises get their "go jump in the sea" but, the managers take notice and it is sad to say...but, the current management is a far cry from pre-'98 practises.

We can only hope that if Burrell returns he has learnt something and will give us far superior leadership. Truth is it is not unrealistic to think that if Boxhill or another person...or any other person for that matter, takes over there will be a realisation by that person that much greater attention to managing well and greater effort at managing efficiently will be the result.

Yes Iyah, hold dem foot tuh di fiyah!

The problem is not the coach, the man's record speaks for itself. The problem is the structure of football in Jamaica, and when you couple that with an inept JFF, even a very accomplished coach like Bora will look ordinary. That Simoes was able to galvanize the support of Jamaicans form all walks of life during the initial stages of his tenure is testament to the strong support mechanisms that were in place when he came to Jamaica. Yes, the JFF back then was doing a good job supporting Simoes. All the neccesary support staff were in place, from team chef, to team nutritionist, Team psychologist, specialist trainers, physiothrepists, goal-keeping coaches etc. I believe we even had a full time pastor on tour when we travelled.

And we still have people among us who thinks to this very day that Simoes didnt do anything for Jamaica's football.
                    President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

Originally posted by Reggae-Fan View Post
                      The problem is not the coach, the man's record speaks for itself. The problem is the structure of football in Jamaica, and when you couple that with an inept JFF, even a very accomplished coach like Bora will look ordinary. That Simoes was able to galvanize the support of Jamaicans form all walks of life during the initial stages of his tenure is testament to the strong support mechanisms that were in place when he came to Jamaica. Yes, the JFF back then was doing a good job supporting Simoes. All the neccesary support staff were in place, from team chef, to team nutritionist, Team psychologist, specialist trainers, physiothrepists, goal-keeping coaches etc. I believe we even had a full time pastor on tour when we travelled.

And we still have people among us who thinks to this very day that Simoes didnt do anything for Jamaica's football.
                      Be fair, it is not that people don't believe Simoes did anything.. it is that what he did 'we' could do.. no explanation is given why we did not do it before however and no explanation is given why we cannot do it SINCE...

Too many Jamaicans suffer from a serious case of self-delusion.. put succinctly:

"He that KNOWS NOT and KNOWS NOT he KNOWS not is a fool, shun them"

Until we can admit that we KNOW NOT we will never progress...

Lee Kwan Yew admitted that they knew not and quickly fixed that problem..Lee Kwan Yew asked the man from Mercedez.. when will we be able to produce these cars at your level ? The Mercedez Man said.. never and demonstrated why.. Lee never got profound or defensive, he removed the subsidies, shut down the Car manufacturing operations and invested in areas his country would have a chance to be number 1..

We want to 'give a chance' to di local boy.. sound nice.. but highly irresponsible...