Jamaica's chances...

• Jamaica's chances...

Well - big disappointment. However, all is not lost. With no disrespect to Haiti (all but technically eliminated), it is between us and Panama for the second spot. Simply put, we have to win our two remaining games against Panama (away) and against Haiti (home). Panama also have to play Costa Rica (away). So, it's simple: win our next two games and that secures it. A win and a loss (with a Panama loss and draw) also does the trick. It goes without saying that the team has 6 months to get its act together - the game in Panama in September is without question, vital. Lose, and we are out. We have to keep the faith. There is no reason we should have lost to the Ticos at the Office and the game against Panama was equally disappointing. We are better than recent results suggest.

I am hoping they can take the next points .... when I saw that all the home teams won last night .... yet we only got 1 point out of 4?

well - our next game is at Panama - so you better believe everyone knows that is a "cup final". Win that and we are in great shape. Hopefully, the team will take the time to prepare in the summer. Not sure if that will be easy - but it is necessary.

Paul, Panama is frothing at the bits.

I am sure you can recall the incident (in time added) ...in the last WC qualification game, Pamana v. USA in the Hex.

Panama is carrying lots and lots of hurt and passion... to qualify this time around.

I hope though--with all this pressure, they choke at home.

BTW: T&T sittin' pretty!

We gave away the first game, you cannot lose at home, especially to Panama, we dropped two points at home versus cr, for us to win at Panama is well beyond the track record they have laid down.

Jamaica must be better prepared for these games, especially the first versus Panama they were not ready. Another crop lost and this may well be the last round of decent ub40's. We have again proved categorically what the English and Latins think of our football, we are not deserving as our organization and preparation, psychological and physical is subpar at best.

Only way we get out is if Panama gives it to us which will not happen and we demonstrated we don't have the goods or organization to fight for a win on the road.
          Last edited by Stonigut; March 30, 2016, 10:03 AM.

We don't deserve better than what were getting.

Captain Burrell and the JFF are to be blamed.
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

We are potentially waaay better!
                ...but if not used/maximized/fulfilled...?????

Paul, Panama is frothing at the bits.

I am sure you can recall the incident (in time added) ...in the last WC qualification game, Pamana v. USA in the Hex.

Panama is carrying lots and lots of hurt and passion... to qualify this time around.

I hope though--with all this pressure, they choke at home.

BTW: T&T sittin' pretty!
                  No question we are in deep trouble. But fortune favours the brave. TNT? Happy for them.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                    We gave away the first game, you cannot lose at home, especially to Panama, we dropped two points at home versus cr, for us to win at Panama is well beyond the track record they have laid down.

Jamaica must be better prepared for these games, especially the first versus Panama they were not ready. Another crop lost and this may well be the last round of decent ub40's. We have again proved categorically what the English and Latins think of our football, we are not deserving as our organization and preparation, psychological and physical is subpar at best.

Only way we get out is if Panama gives it to us which will not happen and we demonstrated we don't have the goods or organization to fight for a win on the road.
                    LOL! How insightful Stoni. But keep hope for more football "progress" alive via SnowBall

There's an inexhaustible supply of mediocre Jamaican-English ballas around (i.e. those who don't feel they can qualify for that Babylon side)

Remember..... Lowering themselves to play for Jamaica is their only hope of a World Cup appearance. Suh wi noice into infinity
                    Last edited by Don1; March 30, 2016, 01:47 PM.

Most of our players not used to the nuances of stadium field like the 98 Boyz were. They played so many friendlies at home that the office became impregnable

Yep...The Office is foreign to dem

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post

Could not have said it any better. This cycle is done! Panama will NOT lay down for JA. They know what's at stake. No one has yet to address the fact that this team has been mediocre and has only scored 2 goals in 4 WCQ games. That's not getting it done!!!

This team overachieved at the GC in 2015. What you're witnessing right now is a direct result of that.

Not really.. current results indicate a lack of depth..

Our best 11 has demonstrated the ability to play competitively with some big side.. the Copa 11 would Waltz through this round..

Problem is our 2nd 11 is a significant step down from our 1st 11 with developed Chemistry..

For example.. if Mcanuff is not in game shape.. who is his replacement ?

The team adjustments to handle Barnes, McCleary, Rudi, Taylor on the sidelines weakens the side.. you end up having 70% McAnuff playing right wing, Watson behind the striker ??? Young Yute Powell starting at Right back..

Still also need clinical striker and another midfield general to take this batch to next level.. (Russia)

Very good insight Ben (earning your stripes for the Maudib name You really made a good summary. Last but not least ; the goalie (miller) who was part of Ja's defensive system in the Copa is not there. The present goalie is in a way distant to Miller. With Miller and the D; Ja could sit out all day on a one nil margin. Now Ja gives up too many goals (for this level). The same could be said of the finals; too many goals (at least one should have been stopped). Austin the one to disrupt defend beside big Wes was missed badly.
                              Respect your insight on this thread still.