• Claude Davis moves to Derby

Taken from www.soccernet.com

Derby sign defender Davis from Blades

Derby have agreed a £3million deal with Sheffield United to sign centre-back Claude Davis, subject to the player passing a medical and receiving a work permit.
    The Jamaican defender, 28, had only been at Bramall Lane for one season after joining the Blades from Preston.
    Davis is now poised to join the Rams, and would become their third summer signing after Robert Earnshaw and Tyrone Mears.
    A statement on Derby's official website: 'A £3million deal has been agreed with the strapping centre-half's club Sheffield United to make him the third signing of the closed season following on from Tyrone Mears and record capture Robert Earnshaw earlier this week.
    'Subject to a medical and successful work permit application, the Jamaica international will sign a four-year contract with the Rams.'
    Davis joined Preston on loan in 2003 from Jamaican side Portmore United before making the move permanent a year later.
    He established himself in the Lilywhites' team and was their player of the year in the 2005-06 season before joining newly-promoted Sheffield United.
    He started only 18 league games for the Blades in a season which was affected by injury and though he returned to the side for the run-in, he was unable to prevent them being relegated back to the Coca-Cola Championship.

Great. Let's hope Luton can get a break as well assuming he hasn't yet.

Guidance

Thank yuh sah! Mi wi get fi si Big Claude pon TV dis season again.
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

So it turns out that he stays in the Premiership after all.

Good move for Claude.

I think it is too. He will line up with another Jamaican Darren Moore in the center of defense.

I know Karl did not like Darren Moore. He said Moore was slow and like a ship. Whenever he drops anchor, he would continue in his direction of travel for too long before coming to a halt. Moore is now 33 years old and returning to the EPL. I remember Reggar-Fan liked this player, but his indescretions (a member of the gang of 5 who broke curfew) got him kicked out of camp by Clovis and he just could not get another look.
          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Excellent news! great for him and the national team
            Wadadah (peace & love)

Michael Johnson

Michael Johnson is also at Derby.

Michael Johnson was born 1973 and Moore born 1974. So MJ is even older. I am wondering if these old feet can handle the rigors of a long EPL season?
                Last edited by Tilla; July 6, 2007, 03:41 PM.