Dissection of Arsenal's Premier League TEAM...

• Dissection of Arsenal's Premier League TEAM...

Dissection of Arsenal's Premier League TEAM and the current squad's potential

In the interest of disclosure, I am an Arsenal fan(atic) and admirer with faith in Manager/Teacher-Coach Arsene Wenger.

Arguably, Arsenal has been playing the most attractive brand of football in the EPL for more than a decade. That has been down to Wenger’s guidance and teaching. However, here is my pet peeve; how is it, for example, that after more than one year tutedge
    - Walcott still cannot add a defensive presence to his game,

Giroud does not consistently take shots on goal in each game (Five shots per game is my accepted goal),

Ramsey and Wilshere play around with the ball and consistently lose it too
    often within a context of wonderful touch and less than impressive assist record commensurate with each player’s technical skills,

Alexis Sanchez takes too many touches and on a match over match basis loses the ball too often,

Danny Welbeck often takes too few shots on goal even as he too often attempts shots when the TEAM would be better served if he had passed to better placed TEAMmate?

The above tells me that for all the attractive movement, and the movement of the players is, save for Walcott’s woeful jogs or walk-abouts when he should be doing defensive work, superb, is too often for naught. The losses against teams with inferior technical skills are just too frequent. My Gunners are being beaten by other teams' ‘smarts’.

Let me explain what I mean by ‘smarts’. Smarts is simply, thinking on and doing what logic suggests is needed to play ‘good football’. ‘Good football’ equates to playing sensibly.
    Here are some examples as it relates to the players who I have singled out above -
    Walcott: Putting in the work on defense makes sense! There are too many examples of Walcott allowing opponents unchallenged access to the ball. Additionally, I have to assume that Walcott has seen many, many of those his acts that end result is goal or attempt on Gunners’ goal. Somewhere in Walcott’s brain there must be impulses that suggest, ‘illogical not to do my defensive work’...correct?

Giroud: Makes no sense when in great position in on goal not passing on or into goal.

Ramsey and Wilshere on minutes to assist ratio should be rivaling the assist machine, Mesul Ozil, in assist numbers. It makes good sense for these gentlemen to “set-up” teammates on goal, often.

Alexis Sanchez? Alexis Sanchez? His workrate both on attack and defense, his technical skills, the number of touches per game logically demand that he uses his brain to improve team...his team’s performances above that it currently enjoys. Alexis just throws away the ball too often.

Danny Welbeck we knew had ‘speed to burn’. Where there were questions, they revolved around two areas: as Arsenal quality goes, does he have the technical ability and does he have the ‘smarts’?

The first question has been answered in emphatic manner; yes, his technical ability is top drawer. On the second, he breaks up his Gunners’ advances too often. In a nutshell he provides too many passes and give-a-ways of the ball to his and his Gunner’s opponents and not enough team enhancing acts. His decision-making is too often faulty.

To some of my fellow Gunners’ fans it may appear that I have been too harsh on the named players, to them I would say “to whom much is given much is expected”. These players have the ability to exploit their talent to produce more successful outcomes. Their technical skill-level is such that if they each applied logic more often during matches, positive outcomes for self and our Gunners would increase greatly.

Let us face the facts that these our players as unit...as collective has under-performed for a number of seasons. Yes, winning two recent FA Cups is great but if winning additional trophies was possible, is not that failure?

So the players are being “called out” but what of ‘the teacher’?

I will merely say a teacher’s responsibility is to find methods and solutions to enable the students to achieve maximum potential. Our present teacher, I am sure will agree that his students have underperformed. Teachers motivate, encourage development of ‘critical thinking’, move students towards fulfilling potential. Teachers expose students to possible results of applying necessary physical and mental effort...possible failures and successes…to choose success over failure.

If each of our Gunners has been presented excellent teaching geared to eliminating faults and increasing positive outcomes that reasonable persons would all agree on and the current win, loss, draw statistic is the outcome then the only logical conclusion is, NOT GOOD ENOUGH!
    If ‘not good enough’ then only recourse from those responsible for stewardship of our Gunners must be, CLEAN HOUSE!

Danny Welbeck often takes too few shots on goal even as he too often attempts shots when the TEAM would be better served if he had passed to better placed TEAMmate?

That is a conundrum indeed. He takes too few shots but should take less?!!!

How many games has Welbeck played this season as a starter? As a sub? How many goals/assists?

I take it that our defenders have been perfect so far or if not perfect been adequately doing their job?

Interesting you Arsenal fans don't dissect the defence,I.e the defensive midfield,and back four,you think football is all about attack,cc : BR.The only difference is di Arse is tactically more astute in attacking.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

A team is a reflection of its coach. Murinho's teams are built to last and win trophies, just like Sir Alex's. Wenger's teams are built to entertain with pretty ball. He consistently seeks out midfield players who are small, fast and good dribblers but not very intelligent with the ball. Danny Welbeck is excellent coming off the bench, just like Chicharito. They are effective for short periods of a game but cannot be depended on throughout the entire game nor to be the main strikers for a big club. Wenger packs his teams with the same players. You can shut your eyes and get the same type of plays regardless of who the personnel is - Rosicky, Ox, Wilshire, Ramsay, Walcott, Campbell, The former fashion designer player from Russia. The exceptional talents in the team is Sanchez, Carzola and Ozil, but they have mediocre starlets around them. Then the biggest problem of all is Wengers refusal to buy a proper defensive midfielder. The team needs a no-frills, non-technical brute of a player to stand in the middle of the field and breaks up the plays and just pass the ball to the artist, whomever that is. A player like Gareth Barry, Nigel DeJong, Alex Song (but wait, Wenger let him go), Drinkwater. The team needs players with strong characters who don't care about proper grooming and their social media images. Also, defensively, Arsenal is weak. England produces very few world class strikers and midfielders, but I think they do pretty well on defenders. The English game calls for stout defending especially inside the 18 yard box. Leave the technically gifted defenders to Europe. The EPL calls for defenders that throw their weight around in the box and put their bodies on the line. Robert Huth was discarded by Chelsea, while Wes Morgan came up through the more bruising Championship, and neither of them would be considered for Player of the Year, but they have one of the best defensive partnership in Europe. I saw Winston Reid flinging his injured self, blocking shots and giving his all when West Ham played us over the weekend. This is what Arsenal needs to win trophies.
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

That is a conundrum indeed. He takes too few shots but should take less?!!!
            I think when you were in school - high school & college/university - your teachers never encouraged logical thinking? ...or did you fall on your head at anytime?

Is there any other 'thinker' in Gamma's class?

Well they need to get their act together real fast or face certain humiliation in a few hours.
              Just seems Arsenal has the firepower to score twice today but can it subdue Messi etc for a whole game plus extra time?
              My guess is Arsenal quite likely has to score four goals today..,and Cech has to be at his very best.I would start Chamberlain on the right flank ..

How many games has Welbeck played this season as a starter? As a sub? How many goals/assists?

I take it that our defenders have been perfect so far or if not perfect been adequately doing their job?
                Just think on this: How would defending from the front impact number of times the back four and the goalkeeper need to repel attacks by opponents?

When for example, Alexis loses the ball or Walcott allows access to same by failure to do defensive duties or...

...or does possession support defense...make for less strenuous or greater minutes defending?

btw - Why would you think in any one match defensive players (=and thus defense) have ever really been perfect? No goals against mean just that not that players have been perfect.

Remember playing the 'perfect' game is an ideal...something to aim at, even as we know it can never be accomplished? ...'near perfect' now that we can debate as 'degree of accomplishment' can be measured.

Score 4 and let in 6, the crux of Arsenals problem

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Both Chamberlain and Cech out injured

Arsenal players and team are exactly as Jungle (a quiet Gunners Fan as I am with Manu) epitomizes..Gwan Jangle
                    "Everyone who knows me understands that I hold no prejudices in this regard....In the family atmosphere of the {RBSC}telethon, I forget that not everyone knows me that well." ....attributed to Jerry Lewis....

A closeted Liverpool fan too...hehe.

I knew I should have focused on the Juve/Bayern game,it is a cracker.

Your problem is analysis. As much as you write it lacks cogent analyses and jumps to conclusions NOT supported by your argument. Perhaps it takes place in your head.

Anyway he takes too few shots but when he does he should have passed

And your ANSWER to my question is 64,000 questions??!!!

GP teacher must use another 'set of words' to get across the

concept!

--------------

Your problem is analysis. As much as you write it lacks cogent analyses and jumps to conclusions NOT supported by your argument. Perhaps it takes place in your head.

Anyway he takes too few shots but when he does he should have passed
                              Let us repeat exactly what I said:
                              I spoke on these facts:
                              - Welbeck takes too few shots!

I am saying he should take more shots!

- Welbeck shoots too often when it is inadvisable! ...a la he should on the occasions of taking of inadvisable shoots be better served passing to TEAMmate better positioned to reap success on shooting!

If the taking of the shot is, inadvisable! ...do not do the inadvisable shooting!

- The concept targets, Welbeck taking more shots per game! Those must each be from a position that has greater probability of being goals.

Ergo the logic: Reduce or totally eliminate the taking of shots from 'terrible' = inadvisable positions!

However, increase number of shots taken during the course of a match.

Do you now understand the concept?
                              Last edited by Karl; March 17, 2016, 08:46 AM.