That was no penalty, atrocious decision, these guys would fall if a mosquito got near them, was an exciting game but to end like that reeks of injustice!!!!
Time for video review of penalty decisions!!
I think that's the issue, nowadays, slight contact is not an obstruction, he saw the ball beyond his grasp got a slight touch, giod excuse to flop and went down, football turning into basketball now, I just cannot watch this type of foolishness coming into the game!! You know I am more pool than palace so no sentiment biz here.
Originally posted by Stonigut View PostReally!!!! just like the handball issue there must be either clear intent to obstruct or the action actually obstructed a goal.Peter R
Peter is right,running full speed chasing a man with the intent to obstruct,be prepared for the consequences when the obstruction occurs and you fail to touch the ball or obstruct the ball,or you clip the man while obstructing the ball from its destination.
He obstructed the man,Penalty.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
So a touch is now equal to a foul, I see plenty of rough housing in the penalty box that are not called, that was the merest of touches, I still don't even really see it even in slowmo, maybe the refs have a boot microphone detector!!!!
Yuh good,yuh try running at full speed and I am chasing you with the intent to obstruct the ball ,but instead I get your heel,a hope yuh stand up.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Stoni - stick to the laws of the game, Law 12.1:
Direct free kick group of 4
- tackles an opponent to gain possession of the ball, making contact with the opponent before touching the ball
-etc.
For this group of 4 direct free kick fouls, the referee is concerned only with whether the action occured not with how it was done." Intent isn't a factor."H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365
Stoni, with all due respect, if you didn't see the touch in the slo mo, you should get your eyes tested. And you're correct about the rough housing etc. which you see plenty of on corner kicks and with players lining up in a wall for example. However, when a player is ahead of a defender and running at the goal, all that is needed is a mere touch to impede his progress.Peter R
Originally posted by Peter R View PostStoni, with all due respect, if you didn't see the touch in the slo mo, you should get your eyes tested. And you're correct about the rough housing etc. which you see plenty of on corner kicks and with players lining up in a wall for example. However, when a player is ahead of a defender and running at the goal, all that is needed is a mere touch to impede his progress."H.L & Brick .....mi deh pan di wagon (Man City)" - X_____ http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/showthread.php?p=378365&highlight=City+Liverpool#p ost378365
I don't know which game you were watching, so I can't agree or disagree.
But what I do know is that the foul against Benteke was certainly a foul and a penalty. Moreover, despite the nonsense spoken by the American panelist, Benteke did not try to make the most of it. Clearly, he is not a former player because any former player would realise that such a clip can send a player sprawling.
Indeed, it was a similar clip during a little scrimmage game in Long Island several years ago that resulted in me tearing my meniscus and having to have artho surgery. I guess this guy would accuse me of faking my injury from such a slight nick.
PENALTY!!!
So Stoni, were you referring to the Arsenal game? Because Coquelin, imo, did not foul Harry Kane. Kane, dragged his feet into the sliding player. Indeed, it was Kane who made contact with Coquelin and not the other way around. Kane could have kept on running and the natural running motion would have sent him clear of the Arsenal's player's legs.
So, yes, Stoni, I agree with you that that was not a foul. But you are wrong that a penalty was given as it was not in the area.