• Give Bora more time

Give Bora more time

Bora Milutinovic - file

I am not surprised by the bashing Jamaica's Reggae Boyz received during their recent tour of Asia.

The tour, which ended with an 8-1 defeat to Iran on Monday, was nothing short of a disaster but one can sympathise with the local Boyz. They played against teams which are getting ready for a major competition - the Asian Cup. The Reggae Boyz, on the other hand, have just completed a long domestic season. Most players would have lost their competitive edge and are now jaded.

Coach Velibor 'Bora' Milutinovic should be given some more time to get a squad for next year's World Cup qualifiers together. Jamaica's non-qualification for the recent Gold Cup in the United States was a big blow.
    Coach Bora had to seek matches in which he could see all the players in action and it seems an Asian tour was the only available avenue.

Despite all that has been said, 'Bora' is a very shrewd man. The tour would have given him a good chance to look at those who can seriously be considered for the campaign ahead. On his return home, he can start to weed out those who are unlikely to make the grade.

Like Rene Simoes in the 1998 campaign, the coach will now be moving quickly to find out who is available overseas to bolster the squad.

Been unimpressive

Not many good new players are out there. A number of the Boyz who have done yeoman service for the country are now all nearing 30 and will find the going tough in the qualifiers, but the coach, at least in the near term, will have to stick with some of them. Two who come readily to mind are defender Claude Davis and long-time captain Ricardo Gardner. I am not a fan of Ricardo Fuller, who I think has been unimpressive in recent outings for his country.

Young gun Luton Shelton will be the key to many of the coach's plans as far as getting goals is concerned. The team, as the tour showed, has been having problems scoring goals and the bustling Shelton could provide some of the answers to the goalscoring woes.

Midfield is also overall very weak and some new blood is needed in this area. The only local player who looks likely to make the grade is Demar Phillips of Waterhouse. He is one of the few players who looked up to the task on the just-concluded Asian tour. He has been playing a defensive role in some recent matches but he has a good eye for goal and his best position could be just behind the two forwards.

Careful attention should also be paid to the form of the young players who will travel to the Pan American Games next week. It is good that the experienced Wendell Downswell will be going with this squad as three or four from the group should be good enough to be promoted to the senior team.

Only players below 30 will be able to withstand the rigours of a World Cup campaign. In the successful 1998 campaign, the average age of the squad was somewhere near 25. Players such as Theodore Whitmore, Onandi Lowe, Walter Boyd, Ian Goodison and Linval Dixon were all in their mid-20s. The goalkeepers then, Warren Barrett and Aaron Lawrence, were both still short of their 28th birthday when the World Cup was played.

Send your comments to elton.tucker@gleanerjm.com.

Give Bora more time

Bora Milutinovic - file

I am not surprised by the bashing Jamaica's Reggae Boyz received during their recent tour of Asia.
    Why surprised? Your assessment was the team was better than the scores indicated?

Perhaps, you do not know as much about the technical and tactical aspects of the game as you think you do?

The tour, which ended with an 8-1 defeat to Iran on Monday, was nothing short of a disaster
    On that you are right!

...but one can sympathise with the local Boyz. They played against teams which are getting ready for a major competition - the Asian Cup. The Reggae Boyz, on the other hand, have just completed a long domestic season. Most players would have lost their competitive edge and are now jaded.
    You are joking...right?

Questions: Do you think the players involved in the just concluded Gold Cup were jaded?

...and, what of the players in the Copa America competition...jaded? ...lost their competitive edge?

...and, those in the coming Asian competitions, those in the European competitions, those African teams...all jaded?

Coach Velibor 'Bora' Milutinovic should be given some more time to get a squad for next year's World Cup qualifiers together.

I wonder if the thought has crossed your mind that when Bora was appointed the time to make TEAM was already not adequate to create very best TEAM to represent us in World Cup Qualifiers and have us qualify?

...and, what about having the VERY BEST AVAILABLE players being made into the VERY BEST TEAM they possible could? No thought about trying our best to qualify passed your mind, did it?

Jamaica's non-qualification for the recent Gold Cup in the United States was a big blow.

Noooo? You never said that?

Coach Bora had to seek matches in which he could see all the players in action and it seems an Asian tour was the only available avenue.
    ...matches to see all the players in action? Which players? Our 2nd and 3rd tier players? Why at the cost of narrowing the time available in which to make TEAM with our very best players?

You mean to say...friend Bora could not see the BEST OF THE 2nd and 3rd tier players without delaying preparation of the SENIOR MEN TEAM? Why not? ...would the players...VERY BEST PLAYERS be with him 24/7? ...and, if by chance those VERY BEST of OUR PLAYERS would not be with friend Bora 24/7, why then he could not look at the VERY BEST of the 2nd and 3rd tier players during his "down time"?

...and, why having identified those from that 2nd and 3rd tier group deserving of promotion to the REGGAE BOYZ squad they could not be rotated through the SENIOR TEAM i.e. with VERY BEST AVAILABLE players where they could be properly assessed?

Let me tell a little secret potential shines through best on the football team when surrounded with quality players. SURPRISE! ...and, it would be easier for friend Bora to know if the 'young talent' could swim in the waters of quality International matches. As we would say - nedda surprise!

Despite all that has been said, 'Bora' is a very shrewd man.
    I have been hearing a lot of that! ...and, I am wondering if so many persons can be wrong? That worries me a lot...because if his new way does not follow his tried and tested methods as he had earlier said, 50+ international matches, 60+ international matches or 90+ international matches for his TEAMs to be properly prepared for the World Cup...

...and, previously he wanted to make sure we understood so he emphasised, "...playing is the best way to improve".

Aren't you not also a bit alarmed that he is going against everything he previously said to us? Do you wonder why he is doing this to us? ...and, as you said, "Bora is a very shrewd man"! ...????

So I am thinking why is this " shrewd man" deliberately taking us down the path of 'planned few matches' with our VERY BEST AVAILABLE players?

Shelton, Fuller, Ralph and others with that type technical ability are nowhere near the quality of a Ricardo Gardner. Yes, the same Gardner you are not impressed with. Those fellows need to learn to play TEAM. ...as they currently perform Bora has a lot of work to do to bring them up to snuff...needs nuff-nuff matches to get those fellows to think TEAM first and personal glory after.

You would be surprised to know that playing quality TEAM ball creates greater opportunities for players. In TEAM play...good team play -

i) possession of the ball by the TEAM is greater and lends itself to more touches of the ball by individual players;

ii) more opportunities to take part in meaningful good actions;

iii) more opportunities to contribute to TEAM;

iv) all the above and more contribute to more opportunities for 'personal glory'.

Guess what the fanz want? Good TEAM play! Hey, even you can guess at why good TEAM play would make us all feel good...right?

Sorry to say this again, but Bora was right, we need to have our REGGAE BOYZ...the real TEAM REGGAE BOYZ playing 50+, 60+ or, better yet 100+ matches together against quality teams to improve to the point where matches against TOP OF THE WORLD teams would have OUR REGGAE BOYZ proving equals and turning in TOP OF THE WORLD performances.

Yes man, why would a shewd man like Bora suddenly want us to play 12 or so matches before the start of qualifiers? Mi nuh kno...but, mi worried! Mi a fret!
    Last edited by Karl; July 5, 2007, 12:35 PM.

Load of crap.."only players below 30 will be able to withstand...." blah blah...an apologist's view.

Originally posted by Exile View Post
        Load of crap.."only players below 30 will be able to withstand...." blah blah...an apologist's view.
        Yuh seit tuh!

Originally posted by Exile View Post
          Wow.. never know you could use the word 'apologist' in a sentence..

Karl why you don't apply for the job? You seem to have all the answers. Leave this ting to people who know what they are doing please. Thanks.

He seems to be willing to follow this advise when it comes to the Government... unfortunately..

No time! or I would