England - Early days yet...but...???

• England - Early days yet...but...???

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=629 border=0><TBODY><TR><TD colSpan=3><DIV class=mxb><DIV class=sh>New Gerrard role excites McClaren </DIV></DIV></TD></TR><TR><TD vAlign=top width=416><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=203 align=right border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><DIV> <DIV class=cap>Gerrard has been in fine form on the right for England</DIV></DIV></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>England coach Steve McClaren says the best is yet to come from Liverpool midfielder Steven Gerrard.

The 26-year-old - set for his 50th cap in Wednesday's Euro 2008 qualifier in Macedonia - has been outstanding since McClaren moved him to the right wing.

McClaren said: "He can get better. He has been a fantastic influence in some of the games he has won for Liverpool.

"We want to transfer that to England and he has started to do that over the last couple of games."

Under previous boss Sven-Goran Eriksson, Gerrard struggled to reproduce his club form for England in a central midfield partnership with Chelsea's Frank Lampard.

But since taking over as coach McClaren has opted to use Gerrard on the right - and was a huge influence in the friendly against Greece and in Saturday's Euro 2008 qualifier with Andorra.

He scored the 10th goal of his England career against Andorra and made another for Jermain Defoe as England won 5-0.

McClaren added: "I've always looked at him on that right-hand side and he scored goals from there, so it's got to be a decent position for him.

"You should want the ball all the time and express yourself. When you do that, you enjoy it.

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=208 align=right border=0><TBODY><TR><TD width=5></TD><TD class=sibStdQuote><DIV><DIV class=mva><DIV id=q1></DIV>I think the attacking midfielders in the England side appreciate having Owen in there as well <DIV id=q2></DIV><BR clear=all></DIV></DIV><DIV class=mva><DIV class=mva>John Terry on Owen Hargreaves</DIV></DIV></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

"When it comes off, you enjoy it more and Steven Gerrard has given us that on the right-hand side.

"He has been influential for Liverpool over the years and has changed games and won European Cups by himself.

"Now he's doing that for England so it's great for us. The best is still to come from him and all the players."

Much of the credit for England's new fluency in midfield has gone to Owen Hargreaves, with the Bayern Munich player now seemingly settled in the holding role.

England skipper John Terry compared Hargreaves' performances with those of Claude Makelele for Chelsea.

Terry said: "I think Owen Hargreaves has slotted in perfectly. You can compare Owen to 'Maka' at Chelsea. Like Maka he breaks the play up brilliantly.

"If anyone gets past him, then they still have us to beat in the defence but he is certainly not easy to get past

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=208 align=right border=0><TBODY><TR><TD width=5></TD><TD class=sibStdQuote><DIV><DIV class=mva><DIV id=q1></DIV>For a striker it's a phenomenal amount of work he is getting through <DIV id=q2></DIV><BR clear=all></DIV></DIV><DIV class=mva><DIV class=mva>Steve McClaren on Peter Crouch</DIV></DIV></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>"I think the attacking midfielders in the England side appreciate having Owen in there as well, knowing he will sit back if we are on the attack."

Despite their emphatic win over European minnows Andorra, McClaren has warned his side not to get too comfortable.

With Gary Neville, Rio Ferdinand, Joe Cole, Wayne Rooney and Michael Owen all missing through injury or s

RE: England - Early days yet...but...???

suh karl..yuh still think seh crouch is a freak show? a LOOOOOOOOOONG time mi and assasin were lone (?) voices of reason on here 'bout this man!

He is good at the club level. Scoring against Boxhill's team and indeed against weak teams...and, during losing efforts against strong teams have been done by poorer players than Peter Crouch.

Peter Crouch is not a TOP Of The World player. At the top international level 'im nuh good'!At that level he is - too slow! ...makes too many mistakes! ...scores many of his goals by climbing on the backs of opponents!

...imnuh good!

Did you see the brasil vs Argentina game? Your thoughts

on the game please.

no i didn't. i know you recorded it...send mi a copy nuh?!:doze:

argentina is not france....'nuff said.

soooooo....exactly what are you trying to say?!!

Andorra? Pleeeeeease?

Even our Z team currently in Canada would beat them! Cho! Munro College has a midfielder who would have gotten Peter Crouch like praise if he played against Andorra! Cho!

France is the team with the most luck to come across brasil.

It's a pity Zidane won't be around when Robinho and co get a hold of them (no freindly a FIFA competition). Their day is coming and soon too. It could have happened in WC 06 but the issue of team selection got in the way. Send your address (again yes I know) to geody1@hotmail.com I would not deny a friend seeing the beautiful game at its near peak.

he is better than most of what England has to offer so

what does that tell you? Yes you do have some points; he could not score against neither of the two teams that played yesterday (their defenders and Dmidfielders are too quick). I see him more as a midfielder than a forward.

Karl unnu just hate the man.

He scored against Manu, and Chelsea and most top teams. So far this year he has scored in all games he has started. He lay the ball off well and run into space better than most of the players even in the EPL. Yes he has some weak points but for one imagine if him coulda head the ball ball better? Unnu use to say him can't score with his feet, unnu still a say so? You notice he alway bring the midfield or his fellow striker in the game. I hope Defoe learn a few things especially passing from him, as if he was a great passer he would be a starter at Spurs everytime.

Crouch is the kind of player that if the coach ask him to stay up top he will, the coach ask him to drop back he will, the coach ask him to stay in the middle he will, the coach ask him to win airball he will. He get's himself out of trouble and play team game in and out of the locker room.

~sigh~ ...jawge why yuh want mi to thru this again? no thanks....france lucky? how about norway?

i don't doubt it was a good match but it's time you face facts ...france and norway have brasil's ticket!

Aaah Assasin: ..but,I was one of the 'unnuh' who claimed peter crouch could not score with his feet. Fact is the ball can hit anyone anywhere and go in!

Crouch is a club balla...and has been very lucky at Liverpool...as he is not up to Liverpool's usual high standard footballers.

coincidentally...he's "lucky" with england too...look at his scoring record! the likes of gary lineker played against more or less the same international sides...the man can only score against teams he plays against......whey yuh want him fi duh?

unnuh bawl seh him cya'an score ...him score ... unnuh a bawl seh him cya'an score against quality opponents him score gainst...now unnuh a ball seh him is a club balla but look at him international scoring record? and him hardly play the entire game ...... what next?!! him nuh have wings?!!

how many club baller have 11 international goals from about the same amount of games?

I wouldn't want them to officate any thing I am in. If a hurdles them woulda put up one more hurdle everytime you go over one.

The whole a dem expected him to be booted from Liverpool long time ago. The whole a dem can't wait fi a slump to say see it deh but Crouch is just doing his thing and has beaten all challengers. If Pool get rid of him there would be many other teams will go get him and not for 7 million pound.

Last year them say him never worth 7 million pound, and him did a crap and all kind a names. Now him only a club balla.