BEN: My eyes have seen the glory

This is different though, mi come find this one in his current state.😄😄😄

Jawge as much as I LIKE 82 BRAZIL best team to

lose a WORLD CUP. see Italy defense rendered Brazil total Football to a Footnote. Why then would you continue to use that team to carry your opinion of best team fwd. Didn't A Dude from the Italian team took them apart with his movement in the last third.

footnote I watched in Mandeville square where our Mayor Cecil Charlton had a huge TV set up then. I remembered I was crushed as was many Jamaicans that evening coming from school. Serghino fluffed his line, The OX fluffed against Barca...Paolo Rossi clinical so was Messi.
      "Everyone who knows me understands that I hold no prejudices in this regard....In the family atmosphere of the {RBSC}telethon, I forget that not everyone knows me that well." ....attributed to Jerry Lewis....

Brazil did not play total football in 1982.

I repeat Cryuff did not bring Total football to Barca. Why don't you find out who was the true architect of total football?

Jawge,does your reluctance to name the person have anything to do with it being helpful to gamma's point?

Hold on seh rockman .... Nuh wil' him. Cryuff's stint barcA as a player was not coincidental to the adaptation of total football there.

I suspect I know where might be going ... Not sure if he knows though

Listen stop guessing. There are resources out there for you to gather facts then present arguments. This way you can stand in the fire with Gamma.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZCnR...FD45191877C7F0

So when Socrates went Fiorentina in Italy; the club started to play Samba ball?

Get your facts together and present them. This way I can engage in a credible argument.

Base pon whey ah gwaan still yuh about 90 miles fram shore inna deep deep wata wid some 40 ft wave about fi come.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZCnR...FD45191877C7F0

Top,shelved music link!!!
                    It is YOUR footnote that I take issues with.
                    As you know,we are not exactly having tropical weather here on the east coast,the heat is welcomed.
                    You basically credit someone else with bringing total football to Barca but refuse to name the person,THAT results in guessing.
                    Why the obvious reluctance to name the person?

No mi like di fiyah when it ah blaze an burn.Okay yuh see because yuh recognize. Shadrack I release you from the flames

http://www.espnfc.us/ajax-amsterdam/...-rinus-michels

Jawge,why 82 and not 70's?
                        And what is so distinct about this Barca team,what separates them from previous Baca teams,and how is that integral to defining total football?

Careful cause it nuh hard fi fling yuh back inna di fiyah.

Okay Let's define Total Football. Total football is a system where the total players on the field are complete/total in level of skill. Therefore if a defender sees space in the middle he can move in there to exploit it rather than passing, the defender can even move to a forward position whilst the forward rotates and take the defender's spot.

I don't see Barca playing this way from late 80s to present. Barca depends on specialist (especially at forward position to execute their game. This why Romario, Rivaldo, R9 et al were employed there.

The present Barca squad employs a system of division of labor where specialists are used at Defense , Mid and forward (a trio with conversion rate in the 90 percentile). They are most deadly when there is a turn over in transition (counter attack) There is nothing about Total Football here because
                          Pique doesn't play Messi's position nor Messi Pque's.

Why 82? Well the 82 selecao would dominate teams based on their superior technique (see Scotland New Zealand and Soviet Union game). This technique and confidence allows for them to make rapid counter strikes (see Junior's goal against Arg.) Hence the 82 passing at the back with flair to middle.

This Barca squad displayed the same attributes as the 82 team in passing and confidence against Arsenal (due to superior technique).

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I6DyCyqKTJ0

Sigh ~ rinus michelis introduced the concept of total football which was played by the Dutch in the early. 70's.

My point was and is when cryuff went to Barca this style of play went with him

"Considered to be one of the most influential figures in football history,[11][12] Cruyff's style of play and his football philosophy has significantly influenced many notable managers and players such as Frank Rijkaard, Pep Guardiola, Michael Laudrup, Arsène Wenger, Eric Cantona and Xavi.[13] Ajax and Barcelona are among the clubs that have developed youth academies based on Cruyff's coaching methods.[14] His coaching philosophy helped lay the foundations for the revival of Ajax's international successes in the 1990s.[15] Spanish football's successes at both club and international level during the years 2008 to 2012 have been cited by many as evidence of Cruyff's impact on contemporary football.[16]"

You do realize that Rinus coached at Barca. Rinus also coached Rijkaard to win the Euro cup in 1988. Yes?

Rinus got there 71 cryuff 73. Cryuff was the linchpin or final piece of the puzzle as a player. As a coach he refined it hence the credit that is given to him for its evolution even while acknowledging Michels as the conceptualizer hence the quote I posted above.