• Need some info on JFF & ISSA, and how/if they

work together.
    1. Is the JFF responsible for formulating, implementing & managing Jamaica's football program???
    2.Who is ISSA, do they have a role in the national program & what is their role ???

1 JFF has ultimate responsibility for all football competitions

2. ISSA has no official role in Development other than organizing all high school football competitions from which the national youth teams are usually selected. It is possible that some youth footballers do not play in the high school competition for eligibility reasons but play for a club team

I looked at the ISSA website. the link at the "About ISSA" tab doesn't work, so nothing there about their mandate.
      http://www.issasports.com/

The JFF (website's) mission statement refers to development.http://www.jamaicafootballfederation.../?page_id=5991
      Last edited by Peter R; February 6, 2016, 11:56 AM.

Ok!!! Thank you for the clarification.......From some posts, I thought ISSA was the youth development "arm" of the JFF.

Thank you.

Issa is a formidable institutional force in jamaica what they do has long term and lasting effect through the length and breadth of Jamaica, so fundamental changes in the way the game is developed, measured, talent identified, training programmes on and off the field behavior, will have a foundational effect on Jamaican football, Jff is the finishing touch, the icing on the cake of a plethora of local institutions that should be able to add the finishing touch and drive the development in a certain direction with good vision and management skills.

A good way to look at it is the role of Issa in Track and field in Jamaica it is the root clump of all Jamaican track and field, has strong influence but the root is well established over 100 years and is now complimented by other institutions like the colleges and now the track clubs and finally by the JAaa, but if we look at Jff like JAaa we will see that development and growth cannot come from one body that changes path with every new wind that blows, that has weak to moderate roots in the parish fa's, whose strength is a weak and loose aggregation of poorly financed, not very professional parish clubs, the strength of Jamaican sports must first come from the learning institutions which also have influenced over discipline and punishment and can quickly and easily drive real change throughout Jamaican football from the root level with the youth, that strength will spill out into parish fa's and drive change upward and outward.

The culture of Jamaican football us that it is an art and that will get us nowhere, this is a science thing and will only get more so as we move forward, Issacan push the pace though the football culture root clump quickly and effectively and transform the culture inside of ten years.
            Last edited by Stonigut; February 6, 2016, 12:23 PM.

If Jamaica has the JFF as the "finishing touch/icing on the cake", then I think that's a recipe for failure.......The national federation should be the organization that formulates, implements & manages a national program that's BEST for the country, to effectively & efficiently develop players, coaches, trainers, etc.

Don't think it's wise that a high school organization, or even a league, to have more power over soccer than the national federation. Those organizations can play a part in the development program, BUT the federation should have ultimate responsibility for the national development of the game.
              Last edited by USAF; February 6, 2016, 12:51 PM.

The national program is the icing, the primary to high school is the foundation up into the body of the thing, one is top down the other is bottom up.

JFF needs to do a lot more in terms of development without a doubt but ISSA have such an influence that we can't take them out of the mix.

A very good example is while kids are playing DCUP, I don't think they are even allow to take part in any other club activity except national duties until competition is completed. If you have that control then it comes with some responsibility.

I think you're confusing national program with national teams. The national teams are a part of the national program, BUT the national program goes beyond the teams & is also responsible for developing the primary, high school & club players and coaches that will contribute to the success of the national teams.

Definitely massive overreach for the national program, yuh must be able to breathe before you can start to crawl, 1st job of the day is to run national teams efficiently, that has been done in a haphazard way thus far, the national teams are the propaganda machines to kick start and make psychological inroads in the wider population at every level, the national program does not have the resources not have they the base to build from grassroots up, so you must make use of what is already there.

That means coming up with the philosophical infrastructure and partnering with Issa, with schools, with clubs to drive that intellectual infrastructure throughout the Jamaican football infrastructure and game. leadership and partnership to define what is important and what must be pushed, they can hardly pay the national coach and we want them to do everything, there is no organization in Jamaica that does everything from development of grassroots to icing on the cake initiatives. Use what is there, we not asking Issa to start any academies or new programs just start developing foundation on behavior, training fundamentals, performance tracking, working with Jff on a coaches training program, a youth development manual etc etc stressing the foundations of behavior, performance, physical endurance, strength and speed necessary at every level and age group.

Benchmark, benchmark, benchmark relentlessly stealing every idea that seems good and trying it out, keep what sticks, this cannot be just a top down narrow organization approach.
                      Last edited by Stonigut; February 6, 2016, 01:41 PM.

A very good example of what we are talking is JFF state a few years ago that high school coaches have to have certification. This must have been approved by ISSA. That simple tell you they want more than PE teachers.

To make this more widespread, make the coaches training be a function of the Ministry of Education, HEART or Institute of sports so it will not be just a few class yearly I noted how it was done by a Jamaican TD in St.Kitts and Nevis.

I see it differently. I see the 1st job of the national federation is formulating, implementing & managing a national development program that will produce QUALITY players & coaches for those national teams you're talking about......If you can't produce QUALITY players, what type of national team will you have???

Yeah partnership and joint goal setting of infrastructure anything more you cannot support, schools already have significant hard and soft investment just need to modify and improve.

Yeah, theoretically I agree, they have neither resource or infrastructure to do that, that is why there is a need for shortcuts like diaspora ballers to kick start things but we have not been able to keep the fire going once it us lut so we keep trying to relight the fire. If our challenge is to keep the pilot going so we can keep the stove warm then if we can't do that how can we talk about grassroots and massive infrastructure and program investment, just dreaming biz dat.