Paul and Peter, X and Mosiah, quick question...

Stonigut;548976]Yes, but the impetus for that came from benchmarking with DJ and the San Jose program and funnily enough the legendary track coach names Snowy Winters, how ironic!!!
    Track is 100% about measurement. For footballers apart from goals scored & wins.... it's more art than science. Plus individual and team sports are not directly analogous. Team play is orders of magnitude more complicated than individual activity. Dats reflecting human nature

A football team's play is a symphony of movement held together by playing philosophy, style, technical accomplishment, tactical nous, inter-personal chemistry, group dynamics, confidence, grit & determination

Try measuring dat
    You must benchmark otherwise yuh get left in the dust, that is especially the case in a field like robotics, stem related environment. Football and track are becoming increasingly so
    Track is NOT "becoming" so. It's ALWAYS been about measurement.

You again bring up robotics...but it doesn't serve your cause

Robotics is the ultimate science discipline where applications are paramount. One has to build something that accomplishes a defined task... i.e. it is 100% demonstrable

The statistical profile of the roboticist is not particularly important...It's about what he can do
    Last edited by Don1; February 6, 2016, 12:04 AM.

I tried to make that point to Stoni before, (about T&F, and Cricket, though to a lesser extent) that these two sports have their foundation built on statistics, but ...