Tony Becca: Give Jamaicans A Chance!

Yes, I have seen his views before.

Brandon Nash...btw, who's Brandon Nash!!??..................................

Some folks get it...some won't.

So Tony is saying developing local players cannot be done at the same time that a Jamaica National Senior team has so many foreign players?

That is an argument made by others before and it is pure bulls!

What is to prevent the development of players such that the foreigners...on merit...are eventually not worthy of a place in our Senior TEAM?
      Karl, I have to re-read the article... BUT is he saying "cannot be done" or "isn't being done". Every GC campaign wi running to "foreign" to populate the team rather than to supplement the team. I think that is what is being lamented.

There is NOTHING to prevent their development... the question is why aren't we seeing them? Trinidad doesn't seem to have this problem, and they're drawing from a talent pool, arguably a third of the size of JA.

Well after re-reading the article I realised I wasted my time because Mosiah already quoted the pertinent paragraph in the lead post. I will however for completeness paste the paragraph here again:

Instead of flying all over the place to tell the foreign-based players about Jamaica, to encourage the foreign-based players to visit Jamaica for a while, a few days at a time, and to represent Jamaica, instead of bringing in these players, paying for their flight "home" and their hotel bills, Burrell could spend a little money, some of Jamaica's money, on local football, on grounds, etcetera, etcetera.

So the "complaint" is the JFF, embodied by the good Captain isn't doing enough for local ball. The argument about who is Jamaican and who is not Jamaican, i.e. born and bred ah yaad vs. diaspora born and bred IMO is another issue. Introducing that into the football IMO takes away from the galling problem of NOT having good enough local born and bred footballers. Many countries go to the diaspora to supplement their national teams and I think most people are ok with that, but when the majority of your starting squad is made up of such, it points to a problem "on the ground".

I think that is the point of Tony Becca's article. And yes, he's calling on the Captain to do something about it.
        Last edited by Peter R; January 9, 2016, 07:24 PM.

A cricketer .... Remember ...... Jamaicans love cricket......?

Nash parents are Jamaican and I think he was born and grew up in Australia...

HL, Don't mean to be picky but the yute's name is BRENDAN Nash, just like a name that has been bandied about on the forum, Brendan Rodgers.

Anyway, the cricket world is much less replete with examples of "UB40ery"; though there are examples... would you believe a Trini (Robin Singh) represented India? and I believe the English have a Bajan in their test squad... his name escapes me. Anyway, I don't think anyone, I don't, has real objections to the inclusion of a diaspora son or daughter in any team to represent their country.

The issue is that for JA, it seems that that is the go to formula for assembling a team to make WC...

PR don't fall for it. Right now the local league isn't structured towards development of the youth. Without these present crop of players Ja would stand a snowball chance in hell of qualifying (not to mention coming out of the Copa with dignity).

HL, Don't mean to be picky but the yute's name is BRENDAN Nash, just like a name that has been bandied about on the forum, Brendan Rodgers.

Anyway, the cricket world is much less replete with examples of "UB40ery"; though there are examples... would you believe a Trini (Robin Singh) represented India? and I believe the English have a Bajan in their test squad... his name escapes me. Anyway, I don't think anyone, I don't, has real objections to the inclusion of a diaspora son or daughter in any team to represent their country.

The issue is that for JA, it seems that that is the go to formula for assembling a team to make WC
                Thank you, PR! Try explain dat to yuh bredda fi mi!

Well I hope he is reading... haven't seen him for a couple days!

Yeah...change from di foolfool SnowBall that has failed in every respect for ~20 years

Seems yuh an' nuff foolfool Jamaicans would rather continue dying
                    You know better than that you said. On every and any level you 'cut and dice it' the senior national team performed at a level high than any composition of team with locals only could. The truth is the performance of the senior national team's 'failures' could have turned into 'successes' only if that of the lower national teams and the various development channels produced players more competent that those who were available to the selectors.

Let us be brutally honest if our most recent successful football institutions St. GC and JC were producing 17 years olds and older kids on par with acceptable world standards our junior national teams would be performing much better and a few top quality players of medium professional grade would have transitioned while in school - 17 through 19 year olds - to our national senior team and made that our national senior team better.

The question surrounding local development of players at those levels require a revamping of attitudes and competent subject knowledge of *'the game' of football by those who lead schools, colleges, clubs and our local football associations. It needs all the leaders and all the coaches at all levels to "stop lying to selves". They all need to admit they are poor at leading improved standard of play = developing players = developing our football industry.

All those who call for excluding our foreign born Jamaicans from our national senior team are ignorance of *'the game'.

*The actually playing of the game and the business of football.

Aside: Incidentally, it is in the nations interest to build ties that strengthen and deepen cultural and other associated ties with our nationals resident outside of the island. That building of strengthened ties is vital to our nation building. Those who cannot see that are blind.

Finally - A place on our national teams must be merit based. Such an approach removes the 'silly'..."yuh affi born a yaard fi mek di TEAM' approach" and replaces it with "yuh affi bi di bes fi mek di TEAM".

Amazing that those who call for banning our foreign born cannot see the failures of those who 'teach' (They are currently imparting 'nonsense') the game becoming improved teachers.

Incredible those who call for banning our foreign born cannot see that improved results of local teaching shall produce improved players such that competition for places on the national teams including that for the national senior team is among higher caliber players.

Funny thing is, production of higher caliber footballers most often lead to more competent TEAMs! That production of top quality footballers start with quality of teachers!!!

Huh?!

What does having foreign players in the BPL have to do with anything?!

I wonder what we'd say if Qatar bought Usain and others for next...this year's Olympics? Different argument for another thread.
                      Why would that change need to produce 'other Usians"?
                      What nonsense yuh talkin, Mosiah?

I raised the point with Usian's first publicist, Ms. Carole Beckford, years ago. The question was what happens if Bolt has 'game-ending injury' or when he retires? Where is the next Bolt? ...what plans are afoot to unearth others? After Usian, what?

Talent abounds!

...and on the question of 'export of athletes'. I am on record here about our need to 'export our graduates'. Look if we assess any area, our country can provide employment for a very limited number of our 'graduates'.

I also think that at least once since that earlier expression of his position and before this last he basically reprised his position.

You disagree. Good!

Backwardness Abounds!!

Karl...unfortunately yours is a most specious argument attempting (but failing) to justify JFF fcukery

* The play of a senior team (i.e. WCQ) is NOT the most important mission of football... when Jamaicans are in an environment of ignorance of how to play the game

* In that ignorant environment...developing players in a systematic way is JOB #1...ALL else is secondary. Your typical comeback that we should do EVERYTHING simultaneously...is rubbish. In our privation ...we must PRIORITIZE. The JFF has prioritized WCQ for ~20 years snce '98...the result is UTTER FAILURE = NO DEVELOPMENT + NO WCQ = A MASSIVE DISASTER

* Trying for 20 years to manufacture national teams dependent on transient Jamaicans-by-convenience is a backward and unsustainable GIMMICK...which RETARDS our football

* Only fools support gimmickry as a long term POLICY

If yuh choose to join the camp of fools...enjoy yuhself dehsuh. Mi nuh join foolfool company...mi juss bun it out

Case closed
                            Last edited by Don1; January 10, 2016, 05:16 PM.

Is like mi leff di Bar fi couple day....an pure ignorance start bruk out 'round yah
                              Last edited by Don1; January 10, 2016, 05:33 PM.