Tony Becca: Give Jamaicans A Chance!

• Tony Becca: Give Jamaicans A Chance!

Instead of flying all over the place to tell the foreign-based players about Jamaica, to encourage the foreign-based players to visit Jamaica for a while, a few days at a time, and to represent Jamaica, instead of bringing in these players, paying for their flight "home" and their hotel bills, Burrell could spend a little money, some of Jamaica's money, on local football, on grounds, etcetera, etcetera.

Rome was not built in a day, and neither will the quality of Jamaica's football, if it is ever to be built at all.

Jamaica made it to the World Cup in 1998, however, and Jamaica can make it back again.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/s...7iRbk.facebook

Instead of flying all over the place to tell the foreign-based players about Jamaica, to encourage the foreign-based players to visit Jamaica for a while, a few days at a time, and to represent Jamaica, instead of bringing in these players, paying for their flight "home" and their hotel bills, Burrell could spend a little money, some of Jamaica's money, on local football, on grounds, etcetera, etcetera.

Rome was not built in a day, and neither will the quality of Jamaica's football, if it is ever to be built at all.

Jamaica made it to the World Cup in 1998, however, and Jamaica can make it back again.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/s...7iRbk.facebook
    Hope the good Cap'n Burrell is vigorously shopping for more snow ballaz.

Beca has no idea that football is ALL about business. That there are millions of dollars on the table. That sentimental views are just that.

I wonder why THE BPL has so many foreign players....to the detriment of the English development of football players at the highest level.

Maybe the NPL should only use players from their respective parish. ................same for local high schools.......

Money run the cut. If this cannot be understood, then those who share this view can continue yappin...

Change or die!

Yeah...change from di foolfool SnowBall that has failed in every respect for ~20 years

Seems yuh an' nuff foolfool Jamaicans would rather continue dying

Woooiiieeee....What a ting

Jamaica is a small country, and we should give opportunities to those who travel while seeking a better life. But their presence on the national team should be limited in numbers, and it should be limited to those who want to play, those who seek to play, and those who are good enough to play.

If we follow Tracey's plea, Jamaica may not make it in 2018, and Jamaica may not even make it 2022 or in 2026. The only hope for Jamaica, however, to make it after that is to offer opportunities to our young, talented local footballers, get them together regularly, play them in the Premier League, * and let them express themselves on the way to fulfilling their dreams.

On top of it all, Jamaica cannot afford to bring "home" strangers to play "home" matches at the National Stadium, to be in the bargaining room arguing over money when the players should be preparing to play, especially when they are average players treated with kid gloves and are lucky that there is a place like Jamaica, with a body like the JFF, and a president like Burrell.
        * You forgot "instituting a comprehensive & efficient player development program anchored by a national football academy"

So Tony is saying developing local players cannot be done at the same time that a Jamaica National Senior team has so many foreign players?

That is an argument made by others before and it is pure bulls!

What is to prevent the development of players such that the foreigners...on merit...are eventually not worthy of a place in our Senior TEAM?

Hope the good Cap'n Burrell is vigorously shopping for more snow ballaz.

Beca has no idea that football is ALL about business. That there are millions of dollars on the table. That sentimental views are just that.

I wonder why THE BPL has so many foreign players....to the detriment of the English development of football players at the highest level.

Maybe the NPL should only use players from their respective parish. ................same for local high schools.......

Money run the cut. If this cannot be understood, then those who share this view can continue yappin...

Change or die!
            Huh?!

What does having foreign players in the BPL have to do with anything?!

I wonder what we'd say if Qatar bought Usain and others for next...this year's Olympics? Different argument for another thread.

The problem Karl is that IT IS NOT BEING DONE! or "whatever" is being done is not systematic or bearing fruitThat's what he's talking about...

Tony Becca expressed this view immediately before we qualified for 98 by writing a not dissimilar article in which he drew a cricket comparison. Interestingly since then Brandon Nash has played for Jamaica and the West Indies.

Even more interestingly at a private Christmas Party in 1997 AFTER we qualified he had to acknowledge that the UB40 experiment worked where before he decried that it ever could. I am surprised to see us here again

When you say foreign what do you mean? Eg are you a foreigner in America? If not were you ever? If yes, after all these years STILL a foreigner

According to dem, likkle Gamma is a foreigner and will only be considered a yardman if him play for Arnett, Tivoli or one a dem RSPL team before him go play for Arsenal. Memba dat when Hodgson want him play for England.

Skippy!

The "yardman" tikle a nuh someting yuh can just walk and pick up suh offa any pavement. No, mi bass. I sinting yuh earn!

Go suh!

Skippy!

The "yardman" tikle a nuh someting yuh can just walk and pick up suh offa any pavement. No, mi bass. I sinting yuh earn!

Go suh!
                        LOL! We will see if you tink seh likkle Gamma is a yardman after him pick up the Ballon D'Or.

Dat is anedda ting yuh can't walk and pick up offa pavement!

With all due respect to Likkle Gamma, of course!

Think he goes a little further than that, Peter R.
                            He is setting up the *Capt. successor to do half of the job! That is, scrap concentrated work on attempts to form immediately a strong representative team and while putting in concentrated work on building from the bottom up!

...that is not how sensible good management 'runs the ship'. In business...and our football is a business...the managers and workers must 'walk and whistle' at the same time! Tony does a disservice to his past great work as sports journalist and to 'our football'.

*btw - I have reservations on the Capt surviving the current USA Federal Government FIFA probes!

Amazing that many cannot see this simple logic you outline here Karl, one has nothing to do with the other, they are simply two separate streams in which to get the best fish and the real truth is we are actually jumping over the fence and stealing fish from someone else to compete now, as our local development program, whether club based, Jff based or schools and other organizations based are not producing sufficient numbers of professional level players to dominate the Caribbean sides much less to compete consistently at Concacaf level. Thus the need to go abroad.

This sole source, or one or the other argument is so strange especially when used by many Jamaican men who typically like to have diversity of choice in everything else!!!