Mo come on do better than that. Why isn't big Wes a
yardman? Is it because he didn't play Ja's high school football
or play in the local league. Big Wes helped Ja big time. In the
Copa he with help of others held off the top teams in the tourney.
Look at the game Ja's back line did better than England against Uruguay.
England could have easily got those players. Do you think it's chance
or luck why Ja got to GC 2015 final? NO Mo it's Ja's strong system
of defense. It's not like Ja was a high scoring team there. In the
GC final Ja could have decided the game in the first 25 mins but we
lapsed into the small team game. As time progressed Mexico grew in
confidence and walked away with the cup. What would be the result if
ja's back line was a combo of RSPL/high school Ballas? I tell you one
thing Messi would be a very camper (considering the amt. of goals he
score.would
You have to realize that football is a specialized sport;hence it needs
specialized teaching. An academy is Ja's only hope right now. Look at
music Ja's music (reggae) has its foundation in Jazz. (see documentary
on you tube with Bunny Lee etal). Which academy was behind all this?
The Alpha boys' Academy. Here Jakans learned the theory and practical
of Music. Ja then took the world with her version of music.Can you imagine
Ja with music being played in just high schools; with some marching bands
here and there? Ja would not be what it is to day in music. The same need
to be done with football.I have strong feeling the Brazilian game will
be the foundation of Ja's version but who cares Stop the whining and hating; build the academy.
It's not "big Wes's fault. Wes just applied Ja's culture of hard work
in an environment of opportunity. You must know stories of Jakans here in NY. These Jakans work at times two jobs and go to school (in order to achieve).
Some turn out to be ranking officials in Corporate, academia, govt. et al.
Low di man and preach to the locals that part time/rec ball cannot compete with pro ball. Get the Academy going.
The rats flourished..
It must be the agility,a tail,and sharp,teeth.
The ultimate predator became overweight,and will be back in top shape after the starvation period has ended.
Damm Jawge ,agreed.To put it simply,once you Don the black,green and gold,you are a Jamaican.
Nuff said
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
We can learn a lot from Israel who have become stronger not by alienating children of the diaspora, but by encouraging them to retain and maintain their allegiance to their ancestral roots. How many of us know bright second generation Jamaican kids who have excelled in their professions who would never consider going "home" to Jamaica as an option. Who loses there? What sense does it make to turn them away in academia or in sports? I don't get it.
Mo has a bias against second generation Jamaicans playing for us. I am not sure why, but it is there. In my opinion, it is like blaming the soldier for the war. Rarely is the fellow who holds the gun, takes the shot, or lives with the injury, the one responsible for the fighting. But people will spit on him, stone him, defile him in every way instead of pointing the finger at the real cause or source of the problem. And the problem is not the foreign based Jamaican players, it is as Jawge suggests, lack of a local infrastructure. Fix that and the problem takes care of itself.
I have no problem recognising the fact that he is Jamaican. And I will carry my black, green and gold Wes Morgan banner into the stadium the next time he plays to prove it.
But just like I would have a hard time calling myself American even if I had an American passport, I was simply referring to the "yardman" moniker. Can one really refer to someone whose only knowledge of Jamaica might be the National Stadium on game day?
I wonder what he'd say if he Stoni called him "yardman" to him face? Stoni probably pick up some stiff box.
"Do I look like a bloke who sweeps people's yawds? Wanker!"
I have no problem recognising the fact that he is Jamaican. And I will carry my black, green and gold Wes Morgan banner into the stadium the next time he plays to prove it.
But just like I would have a hard time calling myself American even if I had an American passport, I was simply referring to the "yardman" moniker. Can one really refer to someone whose only knowledge of Jamaica might be the National Stadium on game day?
I wonder what he'd say if he Stoni called him "yardman" to him face? Stoni probably pick up some stiff box.
"Do I look like a bloke who sweeps people's yawds? Wanker!"
LOL!!! Okay - good to know. However, where I disagree with you is that I believe it is to our benefit if 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th generation Jamaican's are loyal to their heritage, so we should embrace it. It will make us stronger, not just in ball, but in all other areas as well. So I don't think it makes us better to alienate them even if they are not well versed in Jamaican culture, ways, or vernacular...as long as yard blood run through dem...dem come from yard. Said a nex' way - "out of many, one people"
P.S. Calling yourself "American" even though you have their passport may come down to having no cultural connection to them. If your mother or father were from Kansas, you may feel differently.
Sounds like is you need some bax, yuh ah celebrate a one generation Belgian over a man who plays for Jamaica whose last ten generation on mada and father side bawn and dead ah yard, man sometimes you will say anything to just make a point in the moment!!