• Past football stars to line up in Atlanta

Past football stars to line up in Atlanta

Left: Walter 'Blacka Pearl' Boyd Right: Theodore 'Tappa' Whitmore - File photos

A star cast of past Jamaican footballers, including many from the golden generation that qualified for the World Cup Finals in France '98, will link up for a grand Entertainers versus Celebrity football extravaganza in Atlanta, Georgia, on Sunday.

The team includes midfield maestro Theodore 'Tappa' Whitmore, strikers Walter 'Blacka Pearl' Boyd and Paul Young, along with defenders Durrent 'Tatty' Brown and Dean Sewell from the France '98 roster.

They will team up with generals of earlier Jamaica teams such as Lenworth 'Teacher' Hyde, Anthony 'Badas' Corbett, Paul 'Tegat' Davis, Hector Wright, Adonis Maxwell and hard-tackling defenders, Desmond 'Gaddafi' Smith and Mark 'Hagler' Wilson, along with coach Carl Brown, to tackle an Entertainers team in the feature match of a triple header at the James Holford Stadium, Stone Mountain, Georgia.

The match is set for an 8:00 p.m. kick-off against an Entertainers' line-up with very capable stage musician 'ballers' such as Mad Cobra, Lukie D, Mega Banton, Daddy Al, Tony Curtis, former All-Manning goalie Michigan from the famous duo of Smiley, along with Assassin, Merciless, Joseph Quote, Plucky Ranks, Super Dave, Beetle Bailey, Bugsy, Whiskey Bajio, Gary Sweetness, Shower Man, Textra and Ranksta.

A contest between an Ethiopian All-Star and an Atlanta Caribbean Soccer League All-Star will open the showcase at 3:30 p.m., to be followed at 5:30 p.m. by a game pitting Atlanta Boys' Town vs Atlanta Reno.

Many of the stars who featured in the big-time clashes between both teams during the late 80s and early 90s will renew rivalry with the likes of long-throwing pioneer Thomas McLean, roughshod midfielder Donovan 'Joe' Downer and the little defender with the biting tackles, Leon 'Juvenile' Minott among Boys' Town's lot and the likes of midfield gem, Donald 'Gemi' Hewitt and Mark 'Hagler' Wilson leading the Atlanta Reno charge.

Hmmm Karl. thanks for that.

I live quite close to stone mountain--so i may just check this out.

Past football stars to line up in Atlanta

Left: Walter 'Blacka Pearl' Boyd Right: Theodore 'Tappa' Whitmore - File photos

A star cast of past Jamaican footballers, including many from the golden generation that qualified for the World Cup Finals in France '98, will link up for a grand Entertainers versus Celebrity football extravaganza in Atlanta, Georgia, on Sunday.

The team includes midfield maestro Theodore 'Tappa' Whitmore, strikers Walter 'Blacka Pearl' Boyd and Paul Young, along with defenders Durrent 'Tatty' Brown and Dean Sewell from the France '98 roster.

They will team up with generals of earlier Jamaica teams such as Lenworth 'Teacher' Hyde, Anthony 'Badas' Corbett, Paul 'Tegat' Davis, Hector Wright, Adonis Maxwell and hard-tackling defenders, Desmond 'Gaddafi' Smith and Mark 'Hagler' Wilson, along with coach Carl Brown, to tackle an Entertainers team in the feature match of a triple header at the James Holford Stadium, Stone Mountain, Georgia.

The match is set for an 8:00 p.m. kick-off against an Entertainers' line-up with very capable stage musician 'ballers' such as Mad Cobra, Lukie D, Mega Banton, Daddy Al, Tony Curtis, former All-Manning goalie Michigan from the famous duo of Smiley, along with Assassin, Merciless, Joseph Quote, Plucky Ranks, Super Dave, Beetle Bailey, Bugsy, Whiskey Bajio, Gary Sweetness, Shower Man, Textra and Ranksta.

A contest between an Ethiopian All-Star and an Atlanta Caribbean Soccer League All-Star will open the showcase at 3:30 p.m., to be followed at 5:30 p.m. by a game pitting Atlanta Boys' Town vs Atlanta Reno.

Many of the stars who featured in the big-time clashes between both teams during the late 80s and early 90s will renew rivalry with the likes of long-throwing pioneer Thomas McLean, roughshod midfielder Donovan 'Joe' Downer and the little defender with the biting tackles, Leon 'Juvenile' Minott among Boys' Town's lot and the likes of midfield gem, Donald 'Gemi' Hewitt and Mark 'Hagler' Wilson leading the Atlanta Reno charge.
      Damn disgrace that a 34 year old Midfield Maestro is relegated to this kind of game.

Jamaica.. the land of wasted resource...

Tyiad leg is tyiad leg Maudib.

I am sure that if he were of any good, your bwoy Bora would be using him.

Hmmm Karl. thanks for that.

I live quite close to stone mountain--so i may just check this out.
          Welcome!
          ...and, if you do go, i am sure you shall have fun.

I know quite a few of those ballas.

Tyiad leg is tyiad leg Maudib.

I am sure that if he were of any good, your bwoy Bora would be using him.
            Read the post again.. if it above yuh head let me know and I will dumb it down likkle bit.