Gus Poyet: Suarez sale cost Rodgers his job

My stance on Rodgers is the same with every manager. They are deserving of our support.

Your stand cuts against the ambition of the club,you cant hire a manager that doesnt reflect the ambition of the club,thats one reason why he failed.I questioned from whence he came when he initially got hired ,that in itself is a red flag which didnt endear him to a majority of the fans,it was imperative for him to win something to swing support in his way,coming 2nd only delayed the inevitable sacking.

They have a very difficult job and are expected to be miracle workers. In Rodgers case specifically, he was hired after a very tumultuous start to the FSG ownership reign.

And he was supported by FSG,so I fail to see why he should be given a bly when you state his pressure points of expectations arent different from any manager

They took over the club from a bunch of renegades who had no understanding of what they had acquired and were wrestling (in my opinion) also with a very steep learning curve not only in learning LFC, but also understanding how football works. For example, John Henry was unaware that player contracts were routinely broken.

Opinion noted but to say that these business men who specialise in sporting teams are ignorant of player contracts,is a stretch,FSG learning curve was not hiring a manager who fits the supporters expectations.I dont believe they will make that dumb mistake again.

Despite the environment, Rodgers made many mistakes of his own doing. He routinely (towards the end of last season and into this one) tried to put lipstick on the pig and it insulted the fans who (xceptions of course) know more than a thing or two about football.

FSG insulted the fans by hiring Rodgers,everyone except you expected him to be a success,everyone else expected a failure that only a miracle would save him.

One thing that I continue to be ignorant about is the real level of control that he had over player transfers. I hear two stories - but it seems that he didn't have full control, and if that is true, then you can't put 100% of the blame for player selection on him. If it is not true, then he royally screwed up with the Suarez and Sterling money.

If you mean he over paid for certain players,I agree with you a 100% he screwed up LFC ,if it is in terms of getting quality to build on I think he and the committee did a decent job .The problem is how you use the talent brought in.Can at left back,Sahko on the bench,Allen as a defensive midfielder,Sterling at left back,shuffling formations,erratic subs will lead to a perception of screw ups e.g Sahko starting,Can in midfield ,players in their natural position,now we hear the term vigor..lol, and potential,fresh air,pressing,playing for supporters, etc.

However, based on the Suarez debacle, I suspect he had little control. Which manager in their right mind would want to let Suarez go without having an equally proven and effective alternative lined up? Still, it was his cross to bear and he did a poor job of it. I think he made many mistakes, but, as his second season showed, he also proved that with the right personnel, he could take LFC to title challenging heights...even with a very thin squad.

For Rodgers to purchase another Saurez he would have to have the eye to purchase one,he didnt ! He was given money to purchase alternatives,which he bought and didnt have a clue on how to use any of the strikers he bought.You are right though he was never in his right mind at pool,the job was just too big for him.

If Rodgers is 100% to "blame" for the current squad, then he paid for it with his job. However, I am not too sure about that, so I give him the benefit of the doubt. Should he have been sacked? I think those of us who believe in fairness will say - "Not based on 8 games in"

In all fairness it was 3 seasons and 300 million plus 8 games in

- but at the same time, you can't fault the owners. They have to think of the club first, and managers like Klopp don't come along every day. So I think they did the right thing, not necessarily fair, but they had to do it.

It was more than fair

Based on his overall performance, I would give him a solid B-, a ways behind Rafa's A, Houllier's A, and Paisley's A++.

He gets a C - from the 90 %

Last, the Liverpool manager's job is probably the hardest in football. We are a club that is living on our history, and our real fans are anxious to get back to where we once where. We also have to contend with the empty barrels that clog up the works with their ignorance and myopic understanding of a manager's priorities...e.g. there is one frequent poster on here who suggested that Martinez (who simultaneously won the FA Cup AND got Wigan relegated) would have been a better manager than Rodgers. That maybe the case, but getting a team relegated is not the manager you want as the LEAGUE (not cups) is the priority.

The priority is what you have the chance to win in that season,every managers ambition is to win as many Prem games as possible to be as high up in the table ,so you saying that is nothing more than a given,trying to make it as some kind of new objective is ridiculous and a redherring to distract everyone of Rodgers short comings .The secound is to compete on all fronts to win trophys,make the supporters happy so you can build on something in the future, you increase your squad value ,increase merchandise thus increase revenue .Rodgers failed on all fronts literally costing LFC money,you think that wasnt a factor in sacking the RUCKS.Thats why given the outlay of money spent,throwing (8 games in) as being unfair is deceptive,like your character.He desrved to be sacked

My hope is that Klopp will be able to do it, but as recent results show, it won't happen easily...and despite the great theater of it all (Bayern's bazooka vs. Dortmund's bow and arrow), it won't happen without significant funds. So whether it is Klopp, Rafa, Jesus, or Rodgers, consistently challenging for the title , will require a deeper squad, and more quality players. That's what City, Chelsea, Arsenal, Spurs and Manu** all have on us.

Recent results only show Klopp is adapting to the prem and players are adapting to Klopp.Anyone thats going to suggest that Klopp is going to need significant funds to compete is being deceptive and ignorant

* Significant funds comparable to what ? what BR had or the Top 4 Big Boys ?

If Klopp spent BR budget ,Liverpool would probably have won the prem and CL already

As for Rodgers future. In keeping with the Liverpool Way, we extend to him and all former LFC managers the same dignity and courtesy. We will thank him for his service and wish him well...except when he comes to Anfield or otherwise plays against LFC...on that front, he walks alone...like X.

He got more than Hodgson- im lucky ! Given where we are as a club and where we need to go, your assesment on POOL is soundly lacking,embarrasing to be honest.Pool will never have the money like the top 4 in a long while,it doesnt mean we cant compete with them within our budget.Klopp has stated more than once you can get more with less,even if it takes a bazzoka,It can be done !
    Last edited by Sir X; December 17, 2015, 08:35 PM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Hey, you make some real good points (I know them by heart now and that's not even trying to memorise them)... Now I'm sure you have something better to do, like do some research to write another essay? Don't forget to get the ghost writer though, even though he/she abandoned you half way through the last project!

Ghost writer....lol....now that I gave you a little history on the Trinity, you get a true sense of where we came from and where we should go.

Essay,treatise etc not needed unless,I have to expose another false gospel...hehe.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Typical. You insist on proving yourself to be the real filth columnist. LOL!!! Where you make semi-sensible (a stretch, but I will give it to you) comments, you negate them with mind-blowingly stupid assessments. Anyway, we already know that about you. As I said, you know nothing of the Liverpool Way...if Souness - probably the most toxic manager in LFC history - deserves LFC fans' respect and support (which he does by mere virtue of being a former LFC manager), then so does Rodgers. Calling him names shows your ignorance, and complete lack of worthiness to be amongst the faithful. Now...run along. You're not welcomed amongst the mighty.

I'm still waiting on the third of the "holEy" Trinity... Gerrard is an "a$$hole", I'm a "pompous @$$". X has yet to reveal no 3...

Let me ask you this. If you were a owner and had to deal with the Torres transfer and how the money was spent, would you then give another manager who you may or may not have trust in full control over transfer?
              If you're saying that FSG (after watching KD blow £80m on 4 lightweights) were not about to repeat that mistake again, then okay. But I don't think that was it. I think that they completely misunderstood how football works and tried to reduce it to a moneyball equation. Henderson, Adam, and Downing had some of the highest assist rates in the Prem the season before. Tie that in with Suarez and you have a formula. When the formula didn't work they got gun shy and Rodgers paid that price.

Liverpool have a template and that is to buy Young talented players with the exception of a James Milner and few others. Liverpool wanted to rid the team of the huge salaries that were past their time, that is not necessarily a manager's wish but more of a management wish
              That's true, but that template was questioned by Gerrard and others at the end of Rodgers first season. The fact that FSG continued with that strategy after losing Suarez turned out to be (as Poyet points out) a big problem for Rodgers. This is why I say I don't think he had much say. I do think Klopp will be trusted far more than Rodgers was, making the comparison biased. I think we will see Rodgers do very well at a club that will give him the time to create a team over the long term. He didn't have that time at LFC.

Very serious business I see Sir Paul. You give him a lot more credit than I do, from my standpoint it seemed he was arrogant and got increasingly so with his unusual assignments within the formation and the constantly revolving door in terms of starting eleven.

Keeping Toure made no sense to me as he was primarily at fault for two lapses in concentration that led to key goals that lost two key matches for Pool prior to the Gerrard slip. Guys like Lucas, Allen were nothing more to me than journey men with little real value added contribution to the team and he could never figure out his best players, to have Llanana riding the bench so long was just frustrating to watch.

I don't know or understand the behind the scenes in who acquired whom etc but I judged him on the field and on his relationship with his charges and he definitely lost Sterling in my book, so I had to step away as my main reason for supporting Liverpool was Sterling and Sturridge and I somehow became a huge fan of Suarez, wonders never cease!!!

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                  Very serious business I see Sir Paul. You give him a lot more credit than I do, from my standpoint it seemed he was arrogant and got increasingly so with his unusual assignments within the formation and the constantly revolving door in terms of starting eleven.

Keeping Toure made no sense to me as he was primarily at fault for two lapses in concentration that led to key goals that lost two key matches for Pool prior to the Gerrard slip. Guys like Lucas, Allen were nothing more to me than journey men with little real value added contribution to the team and he could never figure out his best players, to have Llanana riding the bench so long was just frustrating to watch.

I don't know or understand the behind the scenes in who acquired whom etc but I judged him on the field and on his relationship with his charges and he definitely lost Sterling in my book, so I had to step away as my main reason for supporting Liverpool was Sterling and Sturridge and I somehow became a huge fan of Suarez, wonders never cease!!!
                  We are in agreement about Toure for sure. His screw up at West Brom was a major blow. Sterling I don't agree with. I think that was going to happen as long as we dropped out of the top 4, so if you blame him for the drop from top 4, then okay, but despite everything, I think the top 4 was Sterling's baseline.

As far as his best starting 11, you may recall that was one of the biggest criticisms of Rafa Benitez. Manager's don't necessarily have the same playing style or objective that us fans think they should have - for example, Mourinho at Inter was happy to give the other team the ball. Could you see that working for fans in England? The criticism on the field for me is still there under Klopp, and I am not blaming either manager. Klopp and Rodgers have players that simply do not know how to score. The games against City and Chelsea gave me great cause for excitement, but now, I am back to just being hopeful that the manager can unlock the puzzle. I can't imagine the club not spending in January.

As for you stepping away from my side, I don't have a problem with it because you are not really a fan of the club, but a supporter of Jamaican ballers. Now, there are others (who profess to love my club) who are simply smoking crack if dem tink seh dem know pool. Walk good!