New wave of arrests in FIFA corruption scandal
Originally posted by Zeppo View Post
Current concacaf president...lol...the poison chalice-Concacaf.
3 -Presidents charged,Warner,Webb sand now whats his name (Hawitt).THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
I wonder if 'Merika can get the World Cup. I need to start making plans.Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Originally posted by Jangle View PostI wonder if 'Merika can get the World Cup. I need to start making plans.
Originally posted by Reggaedoc View PostActually US getting the WC is not as bad as some people are trying to make it out to be. One has to give it to the Americans, they do know how to plan and ececute big events. WC 1994 was extremely well done and quite frankly they may have earned the right for a repeat. A world cup indoors with water breaks and fans on the sidelines is not what I think about when it comes to the WC and if that's not bad enough, the time of year for the tournament. It's just my opinion, I am one for tradition when it comes to this stuff.
WC 1994 sucked for having no atmosphere whatsoever. It was fitting that the final was decided by penalty kicks, at the end of a boring game.
Having said all a dat, I believe the next WC would be wildly successful, financially and emotively!
Some regional FIFA federation chiefs were so hungry for a taste that they are said to have taken bribes after the original indictment was issued. Others posed as reformers, the better to get inside the executive suite and take receipt of envelopes filled with cash.
“Rather than repair the harm done to the sport and its institutions,” the indictment stated, “these defendants and their co-conspirators quickly engaged in the same unlawful practices that enriched their predecessors.”
http://www.nytimes.com/2015/12/05/sp...miliarity.htmlTHERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
"The charges unsealed today send a clear message to those who corrupted a sport beloved by millions to satisfy their own greed: We are determined to put a stop to bribery and corruption in international soccer and to make room for a new era of integrity and reform," Robert L. Capers, the U.S. attorney for the Eastern District of New York said. "This indictment is the latest step in that effort but our work is not done."
By indicting the last three CONCACAF and CONMEBOL presidents, as well as the heads of federations in Brazil, Bolivia, Ecuador and the current or former soccer federation presidents in every Central American country except Belize, the Justice Department's investigation has dealt a crippling blow to soccer in the region just seven months before June's 16-nation Copa America.
http://www.latimes.com/sports/soccer...204-story.htmlTHERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
I love good writers!
An aside: Marco Polo del Nero — the current president of the Brazilian soccer federation and a former FIFA executive board member — offers the greatest name in the history of indictments. His given name connotes curiosity about the many riches to be found in the world and his surname speaks to extreme decadence.
Burrell a keep a low profile, you think him nuh have nuh sense???
IF I was a FIFA rep and got a ticket to visit head office, I would ....... LOL!!!- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.