Vardy!!

Young Caspar Schmiechel has been impressions me for the last year and a half. Wonder if there was ever a father/son goalkeeper that sat atop any league for any period of time

Agree, I was just trying to be nice!!

Seriously. When you see the effort of our best local team at home versus a second string Mls aggregation and see how they struggle in the second half, it tells a lot. That was Mbu versus Dcu. Also last year Waterhouse versus Tauro? I think, they won but struggled to finish the second half in both games.

Really, fitness and discipline should be the gimme stuff, we relying too much on perceived talent and it is clear we have little advantage there.

Yeah Stoni I watched the JC/Georges Super cup final. As teams they are the two top teams in JA high school ball. You are going to like JC, they play your kind of ball (fast , physical and aggressive) I like JC in the game too. They were quick to close Georges on the passes. I could also see why they beat the rest of teams. They play faster than the rest. I tried watching the traditional powers from Dcup. They were too slow and hoofing the ball all over just got bored and switch. I saw my school Cornwall but couldn't judge them as they were killing Irwin (Irwin needs to concentrate on academics; same for Petersfield) Cornwall played the ball on the ground but that's against a weak opponent.

Back to JC and Georges these guys need an academy. they still had some weaknesses that needs correction. One; too many touches on the ball. I will stop, if you want more let me know

Talk you talk, hey I started watching a Dinthill game this weekend but just couldn't concentrate enough to really penetrate the action and players at the micro level,but this is what needs to be done some real good analysis of all the players strengths and weaknesses and try to keep them playing with instruction on what they need to do to keep developing. Isn't it interesting that England goes four divisions deep on pro ball then it seems there is another four or five divisions after that, how a youth like Jamie Vardy could keep playing real competitive ball even though he was rejected at sixteen, sixteen, most sixteen yo with a hard reject never recover to play at the top level. So I was looking back at teams like glenmuir that won eight titles between 2004 and 2012 did even one guy from those teams ever get to play pro or get a shot to play for the Boyz, same for steths, won eight titles from 2009 through 2015 where are the soldiers from that team at the higher levels, I can't remember any outside of Deshorn Brown, maybe you know. Thus if the champion teams not making any super contribution to the ranks of pro potential ballers how many more amazing individual talents are left on the ground, not even as crumbs on the table, my take is that the selection process and development process is way too narrow to develop the best players across that 16-24 bridge of time and keep them playing and developing through that crucial time.
          Last edited by Stonigut; November 30, 2015, 01:51 AM.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
            So I was looking back at teams like glenmuir that won eight titles between 2004 and 2012 did even one guy from those teams ever get to play pro or get a shot to play for the Boyz, same for steths, won eight titles from 2009 through 2015 where are the soldiers from that team at the higher levels, I can't remember any outside of Deshorn Brown, maybe you know.
            There is a clinical name for such an abnormality. Why are you so surprised when you...why bother!

Ok, glad I'm not the only one. It only
              shows that after being on a steady diet of
              high standard of football it's hard to
              watch sub standard games.I just could not follow through
              on those games (dcup and dcup teams in super cup).

There were positives to take away though; such as that player from Steths
              who turned like a ballerina and fired a beautiful shot on goal.
              Mute your volume because you will hear these commentators talking about
              it's a toe-p (as if toe-p has any direction). These players should be
              in an academy under big time coaches. With the right coaching to
              kill the bad habits, Ja could hurt some big teams at the youth level.

On JC vs Georges (which I watched on muted volume). I watched for around 80 odd mins.
              I see potential. I would give the game to JC though (wait, wait) based on how JC
              played as a unit. To me the game was a practice game. I'm not about to be caught
              in any hype (dressing up amateur sport to look as if it's pro). I judge high school
              players against teams such as Mexico , Brasil ,Arg. et al (youth level that is). The penalty was justly
              rewarded there was no need for that poor tackle in the 18 number 11 could not hurt
              JC from that angle. Second goal I would take away from Marshall. Why? He would not
              have scored that goal against Mexico, Brasil and other big teams. Marshall got the
              goal because of poor positioning by JC. If JC had leadership at the back and was marking
              space it wouldn't be a goal. Could he score against Ja's back line? No! Big Wes with his speed would
              throw his body in the way.Look at the GC final with the first goal from Mexico. Did the
              Mexican control then shoot? No, because big Wes would be over there in a flash to deflect the shot.
              The Mexican fired on the cross eliminating our defensive efforts. All because Ja allowed him in
              that "sweet spot". Marshall has to learn that at the highest level, you will only get a
              half chance at goal. The third one yes legit Marshall can take that (running onto and firing off the
              left). JC two down spent too many touches on the ball. Three passes and they should up past the half line
              going down the flanks. Speaking of Flanks; there is this mentality in Ja that you need this general; who will
              hold up the ball then spray to the flanks (this is coming from the 70s with Gerson and Revelinho in
              the middle) The game was played differently then. Georges clogged the middle plus they have a midfielder in defence.
              JC with their speed and athleticism should be rotating the ball from side to side to race down the flanks with
              their pace then firing those crosses (Georges rarely cross BTW). This would bypass Georges in the middle and
              pressure on Georges to defend crosses. Oh and tackling from behind.This is awful; can't both teams see that
              a foul will be called every time you do this? JC has pace anticipate and run infront of the opponent;
              do not take the screen. When they screen you, you cannot see the ball and you won't know the next move
              (ask big Wes in the Arg. game) Not killing Marshall but have to say this. Saw him dismiss a JC player near to the
              goal (I jumped and said yes)know what he did? Waited for the player to come back to try and cut him again. Yo the
              objective is to destroy the opponent's defensive system and score. I expected either a cross or a lob at goal. He
              waited, this means he gave JC the time gather themselves in defence. Decisions boss, has to work on decisions.

Well for my academy
              I would take 10 and 14 from JC (whoever hit the long shot to hit the upright) no 3 from Georges and Marshall (to
              get out those poor habits along with decisions). That ballerina from steths, I know Cornwall has Vassel and I'm sure more
              is scattered in other schools. I choose players on what I see plus what can be added. Okay why #3 from Georges?
              He executed a play and I said this guy is a midfielder! Only to find out that he was but converted.See
              when I give more tools, he would destroy teams but with swiftness and silence. He's what you would call cool
              and deadly. You are not gonna know when he will explode on you. All In all these guys I mentioned needs
              to be drilled by day in making defense splitting 15 to 17 yard passes on the ground. Yes the Brazilians do it but
              they were drilled into doing it. Be more technical with the ball (hence quicker short passes in and around the 18)
              Moving the ball quickly with one time passing (no control looking around then passing or deciding to move with the ball)

Shooting technique, with the science of of the ball added. The science of the game and how it's played in seconds,
              therefore once out on the field speed of thought counts. Check youtube and see Messi, Neymar (and others) against
              other teams before you watch check the time or duration never pass four mins. if that much Shows you that within a game
              each players time with the ball is around 2 to three mins.Hence each sec. is important (at the INT'L).

See, this whole crop of players are going to waste. Why? They play high school football with people cheering them on with
              habits that cannot compete at the INT'L level.Worst: they are near 18! They should be getting ready to play pro
              I believe Ja can produce a player; that say Barcelona can buy but not under the present system of football.

Wow ah whole heap mi write to ray Stoni hope yuh read all whey mi say.

Serious writing biz Mr. J.

Well mek mi start and try go in order.
                  Yeah the standard of the Dinthill match was not the best but I will try to take some time and at least pene the second half. I will have to look our for the Steths player you mention, we really need fi get some name so we can start track them.

Yeah, now is when then youths need a massive jump to another level, what actually is happening is that this is the Zenith of them ball career for 95% of them, when what need fi happen is a seriously push the training discipline envelope real hard which would expose the real diamonds and quickly bury the prima donnas and pretenders.

I want to watch the Georges/Jc match, hearing everybody going crazy over this Marshall youth, see if there is any potential there or is this anedda unfit slowpoke with a little ball skill?

Suh yuh ah seh Marshall nasty up di man, send him on him way and wait fi di man come back again, yeah that gets real personal and won't cut it in real ball where the objective is to humiliate the other team by beating them rather than an individual opponent.

Right now most of these guys think they are the best ever and there is little room to improve and nobody is telling them any different, look on all a youth like traore at aston villa and Campbell at arsenal both are phenomenal players the like of which we have not seen come out of Ja in a while and even them who are way ahead of our youths cannot do much more than get occasional game in the EPL. We don't have the right taskmasters in jball, we need fi convert Mills and Franno fi establish real serious discipline and work ethic, develop processes for each position and how to excel at that position, too bad we don't have the ball equivalents to those guys.
                  Good post sah, mi going to haf fi watch some games to keep up wid yuh.
                  Last edited by Stonigut; December 2, 2015, 10:34 PM.

Right now most of these guys think they are the best ever and there is little room to improve and nobody is telling them any different, look on all a youth like traore at aston villa and Campbell at arsenal both are phenomenal players the like of which we have not seen come out of Ja in a while and even them who are way ahead of our youths cannot do much more than get occasional game in the EPL.

The above sums it up. See one may look at Ney mar or Robinho and say the walk into Barcelona and Real (respectively) but these are elite players (creme de creme) We see Binho doing things at 8 years old that 18 years are still learning to do. Can Ja produce a neymar? Yes but he would have to be spotted from six to eight years of age. From hence forth be under the guidance of a professional coach (more than one too; one for futsal, one for games on grass, one for techniques such as shooting, passing, heading
                    and so forth) No high school ball though. Those hous should be spent in an academy (where the science of the ball and game is taught) setting.

If our school boy players were that good why no scouts from Europe. Scouts flock Boys and girls champs. People should pay attention to this. Well maybe I'm wrong and Ja is doing the right at present

Oh the steths guy is in the super cup game against Hydel. Think is name is genus not sure.

Sound like the emperor without clothes syndrome to me, no scouts no fanfare and we still think we doing something.
                      That's why I love track and field real immediate, bottom line feedback you cyan run 11 flat no matter how yuh pretty looking in form while doing it and aspire to make the national team.

That's what we have in football, sone players that cannot run 13 flat in a 100 or run a five k in at at least twenty two minutes, if you cyan do them tings yuh nuh have no biz trying to play pro ball. That is just the tip of the iceberg, ball shocks even be measuring nerve reflex time and brain response time to random stimuli, that is where you get to really id the players that can receive, process and pass at the 99 percentile level, we still doing this thing like say we back in the dark ages when scientific method and statistics abound to create a superior selection process like with track and field.

talk the tings sah. I have seen Neymar with my own two eyes and I swear if he was in Ja he would me on the track team. The thing is that Neymar is very technical with the ball (he's from Brazil) combined with his speed, God help you playing against him. I'm sorry that I've never seen Robinho played live though.

In Ja we we seem to disregard thought process in football. If you look back at what Pele had to say about Robinho when he first saw him. Pele spoke of Robinho's ability to think very quickly. This would be easy for Binho since he was doing what adult athletes can't do at eight (akin to a chess prodigy) the same can be said of Neymar. Look at that pass against Peru (Copa15). The Peruvians thought he was about to shoot and froze but Neymar quickly saw this and passed right through them to Acosta.

In Ja coaches should be looking at player' speed of thought from goalie right up to forward (how they solve problems and the time taken to do it).

One thing though Georges is the only team I've seen spring the ball from the back so quickly. In about three passes the ball is the middle of the field. It just dies after that though. I guess that''s enough to shock and kill most teams in Ja. If they had the middle to continue that passing speed, unbeatable. It's what Spain does btw. Brasil can do it but doesn't rely on it. Brazil has the individual brilliance. Spain on the other hand uses that speed passing right up to in and around the 18.

I agree, a lot needs to be done in Ja's youth ball; especially looking at the game through the lens of science.
                        Last edited by Jawge; December 6, 2015, 01:09 AM.